• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

mathstub

Bro, for me, I tried to be as cooperative as possible. I gave the statements showing all my savings and the bank even called my office. But the bank got me the high loan margin and so I had no complaint.

Yah, if they play hard ball, I will use dark marker to blank off all other details, leaving just the salary portion. That should fulfill what they asked for. Am I playing with fire? Haha

mathstub

For Bros and Sis who bought HH landed properties from the developer, mind sharing when you got the transfer of title for the property from the developer to you (after collecting the key or before or when the construction was completed by a certain %)?

When did you pay the stamp duty for the transfer of title (a short time before the title will be transferred to you)?

Do you need to only start paying the property tax (quit rent and property tax) after the property title has been transferred from the developer to you?

Will they send a letter to SG address to remind you to pay the tax?

Thanks.

mathstub

Bro Wuqi, I am so sorry to hear about the accident. Glad to hear your wife, kid and you are both ok. But still very unpleasant and unfortunate experience. Wish you all well and please take care.

Having a pretty back week, from trying to rescue neighbours fishes in a false alarm scenario to more tasks at work with lesser resources (less is more anyone?)
For bros who have PMed me, my apologies, already worked 2 days without sleep this week so really tired. Just finished work actually now.

Please bear with me while i share my account of being in a traffic accident and the steps i took. Good for reference in case (touch wood) which is why i am putting this into the main page.

Got into an accident earlier today(well, yesterday now). I just went into HH, changed cars and went to my wifes place.

I was waiting in the middle lane behind other cars for the lights to turn in my favour, suddenly a blue container truck sped past on the left to filter left and part of his container/trailer hit the side mirror of my vehicle. My pregnant wife was sitting right where it roared past. I was so shocked and thankfully she was fine but shaken. I decided to chase the guy as he just drove on without even stopping. My wife told me he was trying to avoid potholes on the left of the road which was why he swerved and his trailer hit me.

When we chased and got to the industrial area, he was so yaya after i managed to find him and shouted at me not to take pictures. Asked me not to come down and some people were gathering. I said i just wanted to do a report and he kept shouting at me. Saying i swerved left but my car was stationary all the time as i was stuck in traffic. Refused to share particulars and just kept raving on and on.

I just ignored him, took some pictures and left. At first thought luckily damage minor, just fix though a bit heartpain as car only got in Jan so still new. Most importantly wife and kid ok. Then went to the dealership workshop and asked for cost, turns out to be 400 plus. So in the end, the dealership guy who kept telling me not to make report told me i should call the guys company and asked for settlement. I asked my staff to call as their company only speaks Malay but their guys told us to go ahead and lodge the report.

So we went to a policestation nearby to make report. Took another 2 hours before report was made. Then the gent dropped the bombshell, that i will need to still go to the Traffic Police near first link. Heart sinking, thought it would be next week before we could close this off. Then the good news, seems the TP is open 24 hours a day. Very kindly provided us drinks though the system did hang and he had to redo the report from all over.

The investigating sergeant at the TP was a bit sceptical at first but i drew out the map, etc of what happened and where my car was positioned. Luckily this gent understands English and with the help of my staff helping as well, we managed to start their investigation.

Lessons learnt and things observed:

Certain people drive like madmen, young men/women with the probation "P" on their windscreens. Even though most of them with this P sign are supposed to keep left on the highways, most still won't.

Quite a few lorry drivers are madmen, no offence to those good ones. According to the people at the station, none were surprised. I am not going to mention race. (Sidetrack - Even with business, we make it a point to hire all races, even when some senior people objected because of prejudices, we always gave other groups a chance. Even though quite a few of them disappear or interview and don't show up, we still continue to believe in the goodness of people.)

One thing we learnt, when you get hit or hit a motorcycle, you will very likely be summoned even if they are in the wrong. We should still
help but do park your car a distance away when trying to help any downed motorcyclists.

My blessed dad once stopped to help out a motorcyclist in Singapore who was hit by a taxi(which ran off) After a year, his kindness
was rewarded by a letter from the motorcyclist company. In it, he was claiming my dads insurance and claimed my dads vehicle
was the one which hit him and caused the accident.

When in doubt, just go and make a report direct at the TP instead of police station as you will save more time that way. In my case,
i don't care who gets summoned, its no longer about the money now.

The TP first floor is to start the reporting process, once done, you will go up to the 2nd floor (not mezzanine floor) where the in charge
will ask you questions, get camera guy to take pictures etc.

Useful tip - Sign up at myeg.com.my and do a search for your car license plate or passport to check if you get any summons.

mathstub

Bro, I paid the state consent to the lawyer a few months ago within a month after I signed my Sales and Purchase Agreement. Shouldn't your lawyer have given you a bill asking for payment of state consent when you signed the Sales and Purchase Agreement?

For other Bros and Sis, have you got any document to show the consent of the state for your purchase of property besides a receipt from the lawyer showing you have made the payment?

My understanding is that first disbursement can only commence after securing state consent. Since you just got yours, I suspect that you have to pay penalty for the progressive claims due yesterday. Better check with UEM and UOB.

I am still waiting for the state consent which I do not know when it will happen. Hope don't have to pay RM30K levy.

DREAMorACTION

Not from HH but I'll try to answer some of the questions

Stamp Duty of Land Title Transfer: First RM100k = 1%; Subsequent up to RM500k = 2%
Anything beyond RM500k= 3%

For mine, Land title transfer will be after I settled all the differential sum between purchase price and the loan amount.

Only when the title is registered and transfered, then only will the developer get loan disbursement from bank. That's what indicated on the step by step guide given by my developer.

For Bros and Sis who bought HH landed properties from the developer, mind sharing when you got the transfer of title for the property from the developer to you (after collecting the key or before or when the construction was completed by a certain %)?

When did you pay the stamp duty for the transfer of title (a short time before the title will be transferred to you)?

The formula for the stamp duty (assuming the property price is more than 500K):

Do you need to only start paying the property tax (quit rent and property tax) after the property title has been transferred from the developer to you?

Will they send a letter to SG address to remind you to pay the tax?

Thanks.

DREAMorACTION

A quick update. Taman laguna is selling quite well. 18 out of the 24 international lots are snapped. A whopping 75%! Another 4 units are bumi. Forgot to check if they are sold. Lots of S-plate there today.

DREAMorACTION

Thanks for your support :-) u should had bought one, then I could look for you as a neighbor

I do like the space, the void and the double volume living. I agree that it needs minimal reno. The separate shower screen/glass is provided for. There are a front and even a back patio. Not forgetting the courtyard. It just gives me different sentiments altogether. My creative juice was running wild thinking how much i could do with the space. Nusa idaman also have courtyard houses but the feel is totally different to me. I'm really glad I have finally found my home :smile:

Special thanks to bro wuqi whom have given me lots of back end support here. Please accept my sincerest gratitude :smile:

Taman laguna is a great buy. I was there about two yr ago and the terraces are rm 400k. Semis 800k...

What interest me is the size...about 2600 to 2800 sq feet for terrace. Mind u, terraces in hh that time is about 1800 sq feet. And the design is fantastic. Today they advertised no reno required. I strongly belive. If u r buying hh, be prepare to fork out rm 20k to rm50k for the pre reno works as the tiles r inferior and main gates and all doors look like they r shipped from the third world countries

jasonjst

One thing i seriously agree with the malaysians who posted this.

Malaysian chinese did not get all the benefits in their motherland. When they go to singapore, they aslso did not get all the benefits of the spore citizenship.

Sporeans buy hdb flats with heavy cpf grant and after 20 year and sell for rm 1 million to retire in malaysia. During the 20 years singaporeans work like dogs but after 20 years they retire like kings in malaysia and elsewhere. After 20 years of slogging in malaysia, the malaysian chinese find that their race are becoming endangered, kids with straight As cannot enter local universities and the lucky ones get to study in spore or aust universities and cant even return to work in malaysia.

=cathylmg;972046]This is an anti-singaporean cum Singaporean bashing forum. Most if not all of its post are contributed by Malaysian working or used to be in Singapore but secretly letting off their steam on grudges of their Singaporeans counter parts. Sort of like biting the hand that feeds them.

They would not give a damn if you contribute positive things about Singapore in this forum.
[/QUOTE]

Bro , since it is such a previlege and got so much benefits for being a Singaporean , why so many of those Malaysian PRs are not taking up Singapore Citizen leh ? How about I swap role with a Malaysian working in Singapore as a PR ? Any legal taker ?

jasonjst

Forbes have ranked qatar the richest country in the world. Its gas reserve is third largest in the world. Spore is #03 and brunei is 5th.

Of course, we will hear many comments about how poor sporeans are. Its either sporeans are the number one complaint king in the world or that they are extremely humble lot of people. Forbes reports are usually objective and fair

Bro , If I am not wrong , the colective wealth of top 20% in Singapore is more than the colective wealth of the remaining 80% of the citizen . Another thing is , say a small family earning $2K to $3K in Singapore , richer than a small family in Malaysia earning RM 3K ?

jasonjst

Thanks for your support :-) u should had bought one, then I could look for you as a neighbor

I do like the space, the void and the double volume living. I agree that it needs minimal reno. The separate shower screen/glass is provided for. There are a front and even a back patio. Not forgetting the courtyard. It just gives me different sentiments altogether. My creative juice was running wild thinking how much i could do with the space. Nusa idaman also have courtyard houses but the feel is totally different to me. I'm really glad I have finally found my home :smile:

Special thanks to bro wuqi whom have given me lots of back end support here. Please accept my sincerest gratitude :smile:

Bro , buy liao huh ? So went you are going to buy me a Mr Borak bikini for foam party ? Courtyard is inside the sitting room ?

Diaspora

Dunno whether they will really call or not. But it was explained to me that they will la, as part of procedure ... Let them do all they want. I just don't want to give them the bank statements, the rest are ok

Well, for mine, they did call my office.
So happenned that the call was directed to one of my colleagues who was seated next to my cubicle...he talked so loud that I overheard their conversation..."What?? which bank? who??....oohh...wrong extension...i direct you to the HR"....hahaha...
To me, this is okay la...we signed on the mortgage document, right? Did you read the fine prints that they may required further documents to process / justify our application?

jasonjst

Bros who are so inclined, a very learned bro of mine was inviting me to join in exploring to look into setting up a platform for investment to start based in Singapore. He has very good contacts and this sounds interesting. Bros keen on joining, not necessarily to invest but to have some kind of common interest groups will be great.

I looked at those early guys from Sri Lanka who came, saw and bought houses here with admiration. Really smart and brave in the beginning when they came out here and snapped out so many houses with the companies that they have set up. From what i heard, at one time 100 plus houses.

Probably not too many to join for this and again, this is not something to get anyone to fork out money nor some kind of get rich quick scheme.
If we really go into this though, may i humbly suggest that we do not ask who is using what nick? Just keep everyones identity a secret. I respect my own privacy and certainly that of others too.

We will start with inviting the old timers first regardless of place/race, language or religion. Please PM me if keen but again will start with people who we are more familiar please.

Bro Wuqi , do let me know , hope I can participate and learn a little here and there . Hope to see more bros from this forum too , cheer !

DREAMorACTION

Hello buddy, bought liao at last. Now waiting for 2 years seem like waiting forever ...

Yah the courtyard is next to the living room. In their showroom, they put up this aluminum louvre (quite a big piece) which is a good idea. But I think I will do without.

There is 6 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. Expect lots of cleaning to do so will need part time cleaner to help.

Had a review on my expenditure pattern and Gotta really spend thriftily and save more for the Reno (try to keep minimal structural Reno and more on interior).

Wa Lao, I sponsor party still have to provide your bikini? I think I can make one for u instead, i have 2 years to work on it hehehe. If not, I will lend you my mum's bikini, u won't mind right? hahahaha

Bro , buy liao huh ? So went you are going to buy me a Mr Borak bikini for foam party ? Courtyard is inside the sitting room ?

Diaspora

Bro, for me, I tried to be as cooperative as possible. I gave the statements showing all my savings and the bank even called my office. But the bank got me the high loan margin and so I had no complaint.

True, I agree. As this will help to speed up one's application.
No point making it hard for the mortgage officer who is processing our application. Provide them with all the necessary documentations and most of the time, if proven to be viable, then our application will be approved.
Make their life difficult then one's margin or package may be reduced...ie from BLR-2.45% to BLR-2.4%, if not rejected. This is all part of the bank's due diligence.

Diaspora

Wow!! Congrats Bro...!!! Hope this is for real this time!! :-)

DREAMorACTION

Wah, how come it went to your colleague? Did the bank reveal the purpose of the call? Did he/she broadcast to your colleague that u bought new house?

Fine print ar? Didn't really notice. But the officer did mention that for additional support, can submit the cpf statement to strenghten the case, instead of wait until being asked. So I will do just that. I have talked to a few banks up till now. Some don't really bother to ask for the bank statement. And surprisingly, they got more aggressive now. Many offer -2.45 and no lock in period. So I submitted many applications and see the outcome then :smile:

Well, for mine, they did called my office.
So happenned that the call was directed to one of my colleagues who was seated next to my cubicle...he talked so loud that I overheard their conversation..."What?? which bank? who??....oohh...wrong extension...i direct you to the HR"....hahaha...
To me, this is okay la...we signed on the mortgage document, right? Did you read the fine prints that they may required further documents to process / justify our application?

DREAMorACTION

Definitely real. Even submitted loan application Liao! Now thinking back, luckily I didn't buy at ST. Thanks to the kind advices given by all the fellow friends here. Thumbs up and 3 cheers to you all :smile:

Wow!! Congrats Bro...!!! Hope this is for real this time!! :-)

Diaspora

Wah, how come it went to your colleague? Did the bank reveal the purpose of the call? Did he/she broadcast to your colleague that u bought new house?

Fine print ar? Didn't really notice. But the officer did mention that for additional support, can submit the cpf statement to strenghten the case, instead of wait until being asked. So I will do just that. I have talked to a few banks up till now. Some don't really bother to ask for the bank statement. And surprisingly, they got more aggressive now. Many offer -2.45 and no lock in period. So I submitted many applications and see the outcome then :smile:

Well, my colleague knew it's from a bank...and he was rather curious..."what ?? you bankrupt ar?? credit card application ar??" But I told him what the call was about anyway...and right away, called the mortgage officer, informing her about the call...and the boo-boo...we had a good laugh...
Most of the time, the follow up call was usually made by another dept...and not by the mortgage sales team.
Lately, the banks have been rather aggresive with BLR-2.45% and no lock-in period...or with lock-in period start from first drawdown.
Try RHB or Citi, they are pretty good.

DREAMorACTION

I submitted to citi also. But max only 70%. Cannot stomach it ler, I would have no back up funds then ..... Nonetheless, i still submitted. Unfortunately RHB was not there. I have short listed alliance bank and rhb but I will need to walk into their office. I need to take time off for a day again next weeks. This year no holiday for me Liao. I have spent so many days off Liao. Jia lat

Which bank r u with?

Well, my colleague knew it's from a bank...and he was rather curious..."what ?? you bankrupt ar?? credit card application ar??" But I told him what the call was about anyway...and right away, called the mortgage officer, informing her about the call...and the boo-boo...we had a good laugh...
Most of the time, the follow up call was usually made by another dept...and not by the mortgage sales team.
Lately, the banks have been rather aggresive with BLR-2.45% and no lock-in period...or with lock-in period start from first drawdown.
Try RHB or Citi, they are pretty good.

Status
Not open for further replies.