• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foo Mee Har - How did she ever pass the tea party?

soikee

1. She 45 ?? Looks like mid fifties to me !!:eek:

2. Her face portrays scandals will happen in near future !!:eek:

She has got a bankrupt husband. She could easily be tempted to accept bribes while in office to help ease her husband's financial matters.

Leckmichamarsch

I have had the misfortune of working with this person in the bank. If you do not help her in climbing the corporate ladder, you only get to speak to the secretary.

She is decked out in Chanel suits, drives a big car, makes large bonuses by talking, what would she know about the poor and the helpless?

From 15, she has been in boarding school. A malaysian who can go overseas, clearly a priveleged life. What would she know about the heartlanders?

Did she get to be a "banker" by doing what she knows? Nope. It is about what you say, what you wear and who you talk to that makes you a big banker

Sounds like someone in one institute of learning who got promoted to director of books & multi media within a short time having nothing more than a diploma (from Australia!!!!!!!!!!!!!) leapfrogging many in the queue many of whom have masters' She is probably the only director with no university degree.

borom

Not only was this FT from a Convent in Ipoh elected by the voters in West Coast GRC, she was also appointed to the Parliamentary Committees of both Finance and Trade & Industry and Manpower.

Whilst most of the forumners question the judgement of the PAP, I would rather question the voters who voted for her.What do they think this FT can really do for them ?

NoNewsGood

Not only was this FT from a Convent in Ipoh elected by the voters in West Coast GRC, she was also appointed to the Parliamentary Committees of both Finance and Trade & Industry and Manpower.

Whilst most of the forumners question the judgement of the PAP, I would rather question the voters who voted for her.What do they think this FT can really do for them ?

The alternative is to vote for KJ and his RP.

davetan3

Is bankruptcy a bad thing? Many successful business men failed and were brankrupt many times before they succeeded.

It's an 'open market' now. If Tharman could be made minister despite conviction under OSA, Bernard's case falls short. It is FMH and not Bernard standing for GE. I suspect she is 'linked' to someone quite power in the PAP for them to bypass Bernard's past. Miracles do happen.

RaffaeleTan

Agree with davetan 3. As an entrepreneur, I find it difficult to understand why Singaporeans are so intolerant of those who take business risks, maybe even help out friends who are entrepreneurs, and face the challenge that maybe it does not work out. In FMH & husband's case, they obviously worked it out, which is to their credit, because I know how hard it is to take responsibility for business difficulties, and settle everything properly.

RaffaeleTan

Having previously worked in a bank, if truly it was possible to ''influence from the top", then the bankruptcy order would not have been served to start with. The fact that ''Chan Teck Hock Bernard'' name was on an official site shows full transparency and in accordance to banking procedures. Bankruptcy order was later withdrawn, this can happen only under 2 scenarios (1) the bank had no case to start with so bank has to withdraw or (2) there was settlement of the case. Whether someone was ever bankrupt is a public record and can be easily confirmed. She could not come out openly to defend the case cos under Banking Secrecy Act, disclosing customers' details will land you in jail and a huge fine. :eek:

bic_cherry

This lady began life as head of contact centre (customer service) for SCB. Her constant lunch and coffee break partner was her boss and head of consumer banking. The only other person she goes out for lunch is with the Head of HR. Clearly we are looking at an ambitious but not too smart individual. A good dresser with expensive taste in clothes even in that junior role, I am not sure how she will fit the bill of an MP who cares for her ward.

By the way, her hubby has little clue what has been going on.

I find it hard that PAP can't even find appropriate talent. Maybe its time for Lim Kim San to rise from the dead and old man to stop galavanting around the world and do the selection.

No comment here, just record/ statement of fact purpose- if these picts/ links help any, they add clarity to a matter, otherwise, its just good advertisement for her.

Parl+of+SG,+MP,++Foo+Mee+Har.JPG
[source]

FaceBook-+Foo+Mee+Har+(Wall).JPG
[source]

ST-Moving+is+family+decision,+Foo+MH.JPG
[Source: ST08Sept2008]

YouTube-+Foo+Mee+Har+(Intro+vid).JPG
[YouTube: Foo Mee Har Introduction Video]

No invasion of privacy here cos as Mr Khaw BW says,
"When asked if the PAP has a stance on how its MPs should respond to questions about their personal life, Mr Khaw said: 'Once your enter politics, then there's no such thing as your private life.'" [TODAY, 16Feb2012: Come clean with the people, WP: Khaw]

Business @ AsiaOne
Moving is a family decision
Grace Ng on moving around the world her family while working overseas.
Grace Ng
Wed, Sep 10, 2008
The Straits Times
By Grace Ng
While many of the Singaporeans posted overseas are male, a growing number of female executives are jetting off too.
Ms Foo Mee Har, 42, who is currently the global head of priority clients at Standard Chartered Bank, is one prime example.
She was posted to China in 2003 to head the consumer banking business and expand its branch franchise across China, then moved to become the president and chief executive of Standard Chartered Bank (Thai) in 2006.
The high-flying executive believes that taking up overseas postings is "always a family decision".
When Ms Foo was offered the China position in 2003, her husband, then a general manager of a multinational company, quit his job to take up a China post with another company so that the family could relocate together.
Being a firm believer that the family should be together for overseas postings, MsFoo makes it a point to help her subordinates when they relocate.
"Given the growth of the business in China, there were many occasions while I was in China where I successfully placed spouses within the bank's China operations."

When Ms Foo was offered the CEO post in Thailand, her family rallied behind her again. Her husband quit his job and took up a teaching position in a Bangkok university while pursuing his PhD. Her sons Martin and Matthew, then 13 and 11, were "sad to leave their friends in Shanghai, having settled into the international school", she recalled.
"But having had a positive experience in Shanghai, they were receptive to the new move and the relocation experience was much easier," she said.
The family settled into Bangkok at a "historical time" when Thailand was undergoing political upheaval, including the bloodless coup that ousted then-prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra.
"It was business as usual and our entire team stayed in Bangkok throughout the political transition," recalled MsFoo.
She also had to handle a hectic schedule while juggling various projects, including the bank's "Seeing is Believing" initiative in Thailand to restore the sight of villagers. There were also the usual challenges of language and cultural barriers in an overseas posting.
Ms Foo overcame this with a feminine approach - peppering her conversations with basic Thai, doing the traditional Thai wai greeting instead of shaking hands, and wearing Thai silk to show her respect for the culture.
"My whole family adopted the approach " when in Rome, do as the Romans do " instead of questioning why things weren't done the same way as in Singapore. That helped us to settle in more quickly," she said.

This article was first published in The Straits Times on September 8, 2008.
http://www.asiaone.com/Business/Office/Learn/Out+Of+Office/Story/A1Story20080908-86525.html

Char_Azn

No comment here, just record/ statement of fact purpose- if these picts/ links help any, they add clarity to a matter, otherwise, its just good advertisement for her

Can U at least take out the pic with the article that highlights her children's name. Target pple's family bad enough don't drag kids into this

sadshishamo

You are spot on. Bringing the kids into this is not necessary and is disgusting.

Can U at least take out the pic with the article that highlights her children's name. Target pple's family bad enough don't drag kids into this

Is bankruptcy a bad thing? Many successful business men failed and were brankrupt many times before they succeeded.

I have nothing against bankrupts. Lots of my friends in this category. But for the MIW to accept that, I find it strange. No other available talent except FMH?

legal_bastard

Having previously worked in a bank, if truly it was possible to ''influence from the top", then the bankruptcy order would not have been served to start with. The fact that ''Chan Teck Hock Bernard'' name was on an official site shows full transparency and in accordance to banking procedures. Bankruptcy order was later withdrawn, this can happen only under 2 scenarios (1) the bank had no case to start with so bank has to withdraw or (2) there was settlement of the case. Whether someone was ever bankrupt is a public record and can be easily confirmed. She could not come out openly to defend the case cos under Banking Secrecy Act, disclosing customers' details will land you in jail and a huge fine. :eek:

if this is true, then shouldn't the words coming out of her mouth be "no comment"??????

kukubird58

This lady began life as head of contact centre (customer service) for SCB. Her constant lunch and coffee break partner was her boss and head of consumer banking. The only other person she goes out for lunch is with the Head of HR. . .
hahaha....head of consumer banking and head of HR very big fxxk meh???
Just becos having lunch and kopi breaks mean they are having affairs???
this is konlanjiaowei...

Unrepented

Just curious on the procedures and law:p Since you work in Bang, please correct me if I am wrong:( I am still learning:o

1. As a due process, the banks AR dept would highlight the outstanding to the corporate lawyers as a procedure in the normal course of operations. They wouldn't be checking whose who, as these staff in the AR dept are duty bound to adhere to the banks SOPs and policies, and expedite all cases. Also, top mgt couldn't be keeping track of all cases at operations right? So top mgt wouldn't be in the picture at this juncture lah. I guess:o

2. If there is no case, corporate lawyers wouldn't have issued the order right?

3. If customer give written consent, then it's ok to disclose. Again please correct me if my understanding is incorrect due to my angmo no good.:(

Under section 22.3.6 Exceptions to Banking Secrecy of the chapter 22 Banking and Finance; I reproduce hereunder;

http://www.singaporelaw.sg/content/BankingandFinance.html

"Exceptions to Banking Secrecy

22.3.6 The exceptions to banking secrecy are divided into two categories, set out in Part I and Part II of the Third Schedule to the Banking Act (Cap 19, 2003 Rev Ed). Where disclosure of customer information is made pursuant to an exception in Part I of the Third Schedule, the recipient of the information is not prohibited from further disclosing the information to any other person. In contrast, the recipient of information disclosed under an exception enumerated in Part II of the Third Schedule is prohibited from further disclosing the customer information to any other person, except as authorised under the Third Schedule or if required to do so by an order of the court. This obligation continues after termination of the recipient’s appointment, employment or other office in which the information was received.

Exceptions in Part I of the Third Schedule

22.3.7 The purposes for which disclosure of customer information is allowed (and further disclosure is not prohibited), as provided in Part I of the Third Schedule, are where:

1. disclosure is permitted in writing by the customer
or, if he is deceased, his appointed personal representative;

................................"

Please excuse my english, I am still trying to improve.:smile:

And I look forward to your adviCe and corrections if any.