• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonjst

Hi,

All my houses in HH and EL are tenanted out. I am now looking into investing in Ledang Hts and Leisure Farm as they really offer much higher capital appreciation in the long term. Recently when I am staying in JB, I would be hopping around my relatives houses around the various taman or in hotels The weekdays jams at Tuas seem to be getting more and more unbearable. When I first try using Tuas about 5 years ago, it was a ghost town. Just 1.5 year ago, its still quiet. At 8pm on a weekday night I can cross Tuas first in line back to my house near Perling as it is already a ghost town after 8pm. Now the time has dragged to around 9pm plus .. Friday is worse. Weekday morning now I feel as stressed living in JB as the jam at petrol stations and custom is turning me off. When EL and HH, Bukit Indah etc and other towns finish construction in 2-3 years time and if there is no 3rd link nearby, Tuas will surely be like Woodlands.

If you stay in places near Bukit Indah, weekends now is too chaotic. The traffic is jammed-packed, esp those near Jusco. Very stressful for me. Not that I prefer to stay in my Spore home becos it is equally crowded, being near Orchard road. However in Spore, traffic and motorists are generally law-abiding even with jams. I can accept Tuas jams but I just cannot accept those pesty Q-cutters who migrated to Tuas from woodlands.

Last time Tuas checkpoint is really a wonderful place for the cultured drivers. I guess they did a wrong move to lower the tolls to increase volume

Thanks for input . Look like all these are happy problems for some, especially investors and business owners. I was asking you abt your rental in HH as you were giving me a impression that rental income were suck in JB . But since you can rent out your HH /EL , things should be not as bad as you preceived . Rental return may not be as great as Sinkie land but I belive capital gain maybe better than in Sinkie land . I belived that your investment in JB is doing very well as you were in the game much earlier that most people here. Cheer and rgds.

DREAMorACTION

I think the price won't fluctuate that much. And don't think the developer will lower the price, they will hold the price. Why? While market sentiments go down, and perhaps price rationally be affected by the 5 to 10% downwards adjustment, but material costs increasing (I was told that the material cost will increase by 5 to 10%) within the next 6 months, so the nett selling price will still be maintained, if looking this way.

agreed. use this time to save your bullets and move in for the kill when it heads south..
imo, it doesn't really matter if u don't get at the rock bottom (nobody can predict). even a 5-10% is good :smile:

yonglip

I think the price won't fluctuate that much. And don't think the developer will lower the price, they will hold the price. Why? While market sentiments go down, and perhaps price rationally be affected by the 5 to 10% downwards adjustment, but material costs increasing (I was told that the material cost will increase by 5 to 10%) within the next 6 months, so the nett selling price will still be maintained, if looking this way.

bro,..looks like you just bought 1medini no?

DREAMorACTION

I went yesterday and only a pathetic one unit left to choose from. As I didn't want to face the tree with squirrels and birds,
I went home with empty hand. I'm waiting for the launches in feb in other tamans and I'm going in to get one, for sure.

bro,..looks like you just bought 1medini no?

DREAMorACTION

Btw, at medini site office, I had 2 solid bars of Singtel signal. Imagine living at higher floor with no blockage of signal, it's gonna be great!

I went yesterday and only a pathetic one unit left to choose from. As I didn't want to face the tree with squirrels and birds,
I went home with empty hand. I'm waiting for the launches in feb in other tamans and I'm going in to get one, for sure.

crystal_tiong

OTOT a bit ....
Auspicious Day to Start work on 2012.

DreamorAction , I think u need auspicious day to view house and book e same day!!!

• Auspicious day to start work 2012.pdf
    10.8 KB · Views: 289

DREAMorACTION

Wah...but they launch after the 5th leh!!

Btw, one agent SMS me that they is a completed unit at precinct 5 to move in. I'm gonna look at it this weekend. Not far from precinct 8 .... Ngiak Ngiak Ngiak

OTOT a bit ....
Auspicious Day to Start work on 2012.

DreamorAction , I think u need auspicious day to view house and book e same day!!!

crystal_tiong

Wah...but they launch after the 5th leh!!

Btw, one agent SMS me that they is a completed unit at precinct 5 to move in. I'm gonna look at it this weekend. Not far from precinct 8 .... Ngiak Ngiak Ngiak

when the deal is complete then u ngiak ngiak ngiak la , hahahah
I think its fated that u wont stay in NI la , more high class houses out there la .....

Investor

I see it as a possibility that this crisis might actually boost Iskandar's development instead of slowing it down.
The reason being that during a crisis, many businesses suffer losses and are forced to find ways to cut cost in order to survive.
The most direct and immediate actions which can be done are eg. retrenchment or reduction of salaries etc.
If such measures are not enough for them to survive a long crisis, one other way is to relocate to a much cheaper location.
Thus the longer this crisis is, the more we'll see businesses being forced by circumstances to relocate to cheaper locations urgently(a big decision which they might not see as necessary during good times).
This crisis will become a push factor for businesses in Singapore to relocate. One very attractive location is Iskandar.
The recent news of further collaborations between Singapore and Malaysia and our leader's support on Iskandar had further helped businesses in making the 'go' decision which they previously perceived as too risky(political risk in Malaysia).

All in all, there are;
1) Crisis's push factor
2) Singapore leader's 'endorsement' factor
3) Iskandar's pull factor (low cost)

arsenal

Hi,

I am curious as I don't believe you tenanted your houses at this kind of prices right?
It is insufficient to cover even a piece of paint work or your petrol to collect fees. I do know such is the market rate for those houses people bought at 100+k which foreigners can't buy.

RM 750k for a normal terrace without any special golf view or firework views ? I hope buyers use their brains. Sporeans or foreigners may not be able to buy properties less than rm500k but renting a simple apartment in gelang patah, whole apartment or landed house is about S$300/month or S$3600 per year only

DREAMorACTION

I tend to agree more with this. Even in 2009, there were initiatives given to help businesses and we recovered much faster than we anticipated, because we were more prepared.

It's now the winter before spring. If gov forces people out and relocate to overseas, when spring comes, it will be super hard to welcome them back during spring.

If the situation gets really bad, one must bear in mind that the Singapore government can reduce the cost of business in Singapore also to make business relocation a less attractive proposition.

Right now the Singapore government appears to be keen to have lower value-added jobs shift to Iskandar while Singapore itself tries to move up the value-add ladder (again) in what would seem a win-win situation. But when job preservation becomes key, they could delay this course of action using any one of many tools available to them.

So basically I would disagree that a global financial crisis would boost Iskandar's development. :smile:

One only knows how good one's neighbour/friend/spouse is in the worst of times.

arsenal

Beside casino, banking, educations, petrol-chem and some of those govt incentised industries which hire 1 sinkie for every 100 foreigners, I guess our govt can't do much with any business relocation move.. They could lower rents for most business..something that they die die wont do..

If the situation gets really bad, one must bear in mind that the Singapore government can reduce the cost of business in Singapore also to make business relocation a less attractive proposition.

Right now the Singapore government appears to be keen to have lower value-added jobs shift to Iskandar while Singapore itself tries to move up the value-add ladder (again) in what would seem a win-win situation. But when job preservation becomes key, they could delay this course of action using any one of many tools available to them.

So basically I would disagree that a global financial crisis would boost Iskandar's development. :smile:

DREAMorACTION

Don't say that la ah tiong jie ... I'm just an average joe and a rather be a small fish in a small pond. And the lake at NI could well fit the bill :wink: u should encourage me leh ...

when the deal is complete then u ngiak ngiak ngiak la , hahahah
I think its fated that u wont stay in NI la , more high class houses out there la .....

toyohon

Jan 12, 2012
Thumbs up to Iskandar venture
Ties between Malaysia and Singapore could not have been better. The two neighbours are looking at the twinning of economic activities in Iskandar that could be mutually beneficial.

Immediately after the Malaysia-Singapore leaders retreat in Putrajaya, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong adjourned to view a showcase of models for the urban wellness and resort wellness projects in Iskandar Malaysia.

Trailing behind them were their Cabinet ministers, eager to have a first-hand look at the proposed projects that Pulau Indah Ventures Sdn Bhd, a joint venture between Khazanah Malaysia and Singapore’s Temasek, will undertake.

As Najib and Lee listened intently to the briefing, some officials were holding their breath. As the briefing ended, one official remarked: “The leaders are happy. I think we have met our KPI!”

There was a lot of laughter going around that day.

And why not? Less than two years after their first meeting to resolve bilateral issues between both countries, Najib and Lee are seeing things moving as they had envisioned so far – that M+S Pte Ltd has been set up to jointly develop land parcels in Singapore following the land swap for KTM Bhd’s railway land and that the joint venture projects in Iskandar are turning into reality.

Bilateral ties could not have been better. Malaysia gets the thumbs up for Iskandar from Singapore which in return is getting the greenlight from Malaysia for access into Iskandar.

Reaction to Iskandar from across the Causeway had, until recently, been lukewarm. Five years ago, Singa*poreans would have been bored silly if Malaysian officials tried to promote Iskandar.

Lee told the media after the meeting that the leaders were satisfied with the progress of projects they had agreed on. In fact he made it clear he wants more.

“Singapore sees it very much in our interest that Iskandar prospers and succeeds. It has been doing well in attracting investment but most importantly so if we can develop linkages between Singapore and Iskandar.”

Lee was referring to the Singapore proposal for a new work group on industrial cooperation to promote mutually beneficial twinning of economic activities between Iskandar and Singapore.

Singapore is facing space and manpower constraints which are in abundance in Iskandar.

Lee wants Iskandar to provide the facilities and infrastructure to enable projects’ expansion which Singapore cannot do or projects which want to come to Singapore but can’t be accommodated.

It made a lot of sense, and Kuala Lumpur has agreed both can work on such a proposal.

It is a jackpot really, as Malaysia has always been mindful that Iskan*dar should not be seen as a threat to Singapore.

International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Moha*med said the endorsement of Iskan*dar from Lee was important as this represented support at the highest level.

“This will provide the impetus and encouragement to Singapore and Singapore-based companies including multinationals to seriously consider Iskandar.

“This will benefit both Johor and Singapore,” he said.

Indeed that was the plan Malaysia had when both parties went back to the negotiating table to resolve bilateral issues especially the railway land which had remained unresolved after almost 20 years.

When Najib became Prime Minister, there were high hopes that outstanding issues would see daylight.

Iskandar was launched a few years before Najib came into office and what better way to promote Iskandar to its nearest southern neighbour.

“After the opening of the Johor Premium Outlet, we are going to have the Legoland theme park operating this year. We need the traffic to these places.

“We want to capture not only the Singapore market but also the foreign tourists arriving in Singapore,” said an official.

Officials are also mindful that the recent corruption cases against several former Iskandar Investment Berhad (IIB) employees were not being helpful to Iskandar’s image.

“However, we are sending a message to our investors that we will not tolerate corruption and we practise good governance.”

The new work group will compromise representatives from Miti, Mida, Iskandar, Khazanah, EPU, Wisma Putra and the Johor state government.

This week Miti will discuss with the EPU and others on the terms of reference with the aim of having the first group meeting early next month.

The leaders are putting more pressure on officials to get cracking and produce results when they meet again. Najib has given the indication he wants a leaders’ retreat to take place in Iskandar.

“We are planning to hold a retreat on the grounds to show that the physical development of the proposed wellness centre will begin.”

There will be no looking back for both countries from now on.

RedsYNWA

Hi guys, first post here. What an interesting thread! Went to Bukit Indah for Setia's function yesterday (industrial property), and I am impressed by the developments there. My in-laws stay in Molek, so I hardly go to the western side. I am beginning to see why so many have bought HH, though its a bit late as we just bought a Terrace at Molek Haven. I understand SPRING is looking closely at offering SG companies, incentives for Iskandar region, so I am sure property prices will continue to rise.

Feel free to ask me on the good food in Tebrau, Molek or Permas Jaya area. I am more famiiar with those areas. Haha.....

arsenal

All these positive news are bonus to me. I am neutral even if my property price in Malaysia goes down as it is really a purchase for happiness and possession. Residential rental income is not my priority.. I believe it will be more expensive if I want to buy in future..and I absolutely agree prices won't move up in straight line.. If price really come down later, I wish I can buy a piece of land or commercial property at good location for rental income.

Jan 12, 2012
Thumbs up to Iskandar venture
Ties between Malaysia and Singapore could not have been better. The two neighbours are looking at the twinning of economic activities in Iskandar that could be mutually beneficial.

Immediately after the Malaysia-Singapore leaders retreat in Putrajaya, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong adjourned to view a showcase of models for the urban wellness and resort wellness projects in Iskandar Malaysia.

Trailing behind them were their Cabinet ministers, eager to have a first-hand look at the proposed projects that Pulau Indah Ventures Sdn Bhd, a joint venture between Khazanah Malaysia and Singapore’s Temasek, will undertake.

As Najib and Lee listened intently to the briefing, some officials were holding their breath. As the briefing ended, one official remarked: “The leaders are happy. I think we have met our KPI!”

There was a lot of laughter going around that day.

And why not? Less than two years after their first meeting to resolve bilateral issues between both countries, Najib and Lee are seeing things moving as they had envisioned so far – that M+S Pte Ltd has been set up to jointly develop land parcels in Singapore following the land swap for KTM Bhd’s railway land and that the joint venture projects in Iskandar are turning into reality.

Bilateral ties could not have been better. Malaysia gets the thumbs up for Iskandar from Singapore which in return is getting the greenlight from Malaysia for access into Iskandar.

Reaction to Iskandar from across the Causeway had, until recently, been lukewarm. Five years ago, Singa*poreans would have been bored silly if Malaysian officials tried to promote Iskandar.

Lee told the media after the meeting that the leaders were satisfied with the progress of projects they had agreed on. In fact he made it clear he wants more.

“Singapore sees it very much in our interest that Iskandar prospers and succeeds. It has been doing well in attracting investment but most importantly so if we can develop linkages between Singapore and Iskandar.”

Lee was referring to the Singapore proposal for a new work group on industrial cooperation to promote mutually beneficial twinning of economic activities between Iskandar and Singapore.

Singapore is facing space and manpower constraints which are in abundance in Iskandar.

Lee wants Iskandar to provide the facilities and infrastructure to enable projects’ expansion which Singapore cannot do or projects which want to come to Singapore but can’t be accommodated.

It made a lot of sense, and Kuala Lumpur has agreed both can work on such a proposal.

It is a jackpot really, as Malaysia has always been mindful that Iskan*dar should not be seen as a threat to Singapore.

International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Moha*med said the endorsement of Iskan*dar from Lee was important as this represented support at the highest level.

“This will provide the impetus and encouragement to Singapore and Singapore-based companies including multinationals to seriously consider Iskandar.

“This will benefit both Johor and Singapore,” he said.

Indeed that was the plan Malaysia had when both parties went back to the negotiating table to resolve bilateral issues especially the railway land which had remained unresolved after almost 20 years.

When Najib became Prime Minister, there were high hopes that outstanding issues would see daylight.

Iskandar was launched a few years before Najib came into office and what better way to promote Iskandar to its nearest southern neighbour.

“After the opening of the Johor Premium Outlet, we are going to have the Legoland theme park operating this year. We need the traffic to these places.

“We want to capture not only the Singapore market but also the foreign tourists arriving in Singapore,” said an official.

Officials are also mindful that the recent corruption cases against several former Iskandar Investment Berhad (IIB) employees were not being helpful to Iskandar’s image.

“However, we are sending a message to our investors that we will not tolerate corruption and we practise good governance.”

The new work group will compromise representatives from Miti, Mida, Iskandar, Khazanah, EPU, Wisma Putra and the Johor state government.

This week Miti will discuss with the EPU and others on the terms of reference with the aim of having the first group meeting early next month.

The leaders are putting more pressure on officials to get cracking and produce results when they meet again. Najib has given the indication he wants a leaders’ retreat to take place in Iskandar.

“We are planning to hold a retreat on the grounds to show that the physical development of the proposed wellness centre will begin.”

There will be no looking back for both countries from now on.

jasonjst

Hi,

I am curious as I don't believe you tenanted your houses at this kind of prices right?
It is insufficient to cover even a piece of paint work or your petrol to collect fees. I do know such is the market rate for those houses people bought at 100+k which foreigners can't buy.

No lah Bro HH didnt say his rental is S300/- , he is refering to low cost housing in Galah Patah . He is trying to say JB got lot of low cost housing which will affect rental market for the higher end GG type . I guess these are two different but inter-related market.

Investor

Hi Teck,

Good views. But I think even if Singapore's government uses all their tools to reduce business cost in our 1st world, high cost Singapore, it is still impossible to create a miracle and make business cost comparable to places like Iskandar. Thus there'll still be a gap attractive enough for some to make the relocation move. In general, I see shifting of businesses around the world a possibility during a long crisis. Narrowing the gap between '1st world areas' and 'up-coming-growth-area-with-good-infrastructure-and-strong-government's-support'.

I don't mean a miracle and powerful boost to Iskandar. Just enough boost to keep its economy growing at a healthy few percentage more than 1st world regions instead of contracting.

Investor

I guess our govt can't do much with any business relocation move..

I think so too. Singapore just lost Nokia to China due to cost cutting measures by businesses http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/2012/01/05/singapore-loses-nokia-to-china/

Finland’s Nokia Corp., the world’s largest mobile phone maker by volume, said it is moving its Asia-Pacific headquarters to Beijing from Singapore as part of plans to raise business efficiencies and meet savings targets.

Likewise, businesses can also move out of China due to rising business cost.

More recently, many analysts have argued Southeast Asia is starting to look more attractive again as disenchantment with China spreads due to rising costs, intellectual property violations, and other problems there, along with rising incomes in Southeast Asia.

I think a long crisis will only force businesses to relocate, something these businesses don't see as urgent during good times. Thus I still think a crisis might benefit low-cost, up-coming regions as businesses have the urgent need to relocate.

arsenal

I think Mynammar is really on the way up. Recently we saw UK and US PM visit Mynammar.. Met an uk Ang mo on the plane, from the conversation, heard his families have relocated to Mynammar..

However, it is still far from Singapore.. If I really want to move, I might as well live in Taiwan.. Malaysia Nusajaya is still the right place for me.. Not even KL..

I think so too. Singapore just lost Nokia to China due to cost cutting measures by businesses http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/2012/01/05/singapore-loses-nokia-to-china/

Finland’s Nokia Corp., the world’s largest mobile phone maker by volume, said it is moving its Asia-Pacific headquarters to Beijing from Singapore as part of plans to raise business efficiencies and meet savings targets.

Likewise, businesses can also move out of China due to rising business cost.

More recently, many analysts have argued Southeast Asia is starting to look more attractive again as disenchantment with China spreads due to rising costs, intellectual property violations, and other problems there, along with rising incomes in Southeast Asia.

I think a long crisis will only force businesses to relocate, something these businesses don't see as urgent during good times. Thus I still think a crisis might benefit low-cost, up-coming regions as businesses have the urgent need to relocate.

Status
Not open for further replies.