• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NTUC chief, Mr Lim disappointed with DBS decision to retrench the 900

lifeafter41

Heard from the news that he is disappointed with DBS decision and the in house union was not even consulted.

The 900 that was let go is even more disappointed.

So much for the tripartite arrangement of Employers, Unions and Government.

Leegimeremover

Heard from the news that he is disappointed with DBS decision and the in house union was not even consulted.

He is paid to say rubbish like that to justify his paycheck

Employers (Temasek)
Union (run by govt)
Govt (own Temasek)

Which 3 of the above should Lim Swee Say blame for the 900 retrenched?

borom

One reason why they are amongst the first to fire/retrench in Singapore (in the current crisis) was hinted in one of the statements i.e they look at the "labour laws of the countries they operate in ".

What was left unsaid was that they also look at the trade unions reaction - and in this case its all talk and no action .

900 jobs lost and you just expressed dissapointment. Will it make up for the sufferings that thousands will be going through (if you include families/dependents of those affected?

kuntakinte

Dun believe these fellas too much, especially LIM SHIT SUAY. Election is coming, he is trying to win empathy and votes.... Pretentiously lower himself to the worker level where we know that he strikes TOTO snowball prize every year !! F88k him DEAD !!!

http://www.straitstimes.com/print/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_302299.html

Nov 14, 2008
DBS slammed for layoffs
By Sue-Ann Chia

LABOUR chief Lim Swee Say on Friday slammed DBS Bank for failing to consult its staff union on retrenching its workers or exploring other cost-cutting measures first.

'We are disappointed by the sudden decision,' he told The Straits Times when asked for his views on the DBS layoffs.

'There was no prior consultation with the DBS Staff Union. There was no exploration with the union on other cost reduction alternatives,' he said in an email reply on Friday.

Mr Lim, an advisor to the DBS staff union, said this lack of communication has weakened the trust between the bank's management and union.

Not mincing his words, he added: 'It is regretable because trust takes a long time to build but a short time to destroy.'

His criticism came on day 2 of DBS' retrenchment exercise, a move that has drawn flak from the public as being pre-emptive rather than reactive.

Mr Lim laid it on, saying: 'Perception on the ground is that DBS has decided on retrenchment as the first resort. Ground reaction is critical and highly negative.'

DBS is laying off 900 workers, with slightly more than half coming from Singapore and the rest from its Hong Kong office.

The secretary-general of the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) also had a word of advice for other companies.

'We do not demand zero retrenchment because we know fully well that at times, it is better to let go of some workers so that the remaining workers can survive and keep their jobs, then for business to be closed down and for all workers to lose their jobs,' he said.

'However, we do not support retrenchment as the first resort because there are alternatives for us to explore together to reduce cost and save jobs - from flexible wage system to flexible work arrangements.'

NissanViP

Anything come from government is all wayang, at the end of the day, they still collect higher pay-cheque.

Want to die is your business.....

so, wat does dat mean? ...

union was useless? ... he was useless?

union is redundant? ... he is redundant? ...

:confused:

and you need to pay to become a membership. I have never joined any union in my life because since I first started work after NS, I know they are all bullshit especially when they came to camp to preach during my recruit time. LSS's tear is a dry type because after that he will say close rank and move on. Lan Lan!! What can a union do? paper tiger.

R4g3

union is for show, and only 1 and only union allowed.

he is also for show, but there are many like him.

redundant? yes.
rich? yes.
heart? black.

Leegimeremover

Mediacorp Best Newcomer Actor 2008.
Nice.

:rolleyes: :o :rolleyes:

Don't you understand. Lumpar Western way of hiring shit to the many executive position is the pay big money to respect the position not the person. The persons are 90% dogs and worse, and are stupid, no morals, sell mother father types. No different from some rich father pay relative GM person fat fat. Cannot do work one. But westerner do that is to fuck foreign overseas office. Here, we fuck ourselves positions that really acquire executive order. Now it should be clear why you have spastic generals and scholars in those positions. The problem is these are not positions or respect, but positions of real work. We pay millions and perhaps billions into position holes. I do not mind if spastics sit there like spastics and do nothing. But when you get spastics to hold a spoon, the spread the shit around of food around.:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:The high pay positions in the government are positions for spastics which also have executive powers. That is why Singapore is fucked. Figurehead, figurehead lor. One Nathan is not as destructive as the goondus who fucked the electricity prices and SIA profits or MRT.

ahbengsong

it make him lose face in front of the unions.. not because he is concerned about the workers...

Who is Lim Swee Say? may be DBS does not give two hoots about his existence and nutc is simply an unimportant council in the eyes of many employers. Got to thanks pappee for siding and singing employer songs for so many years.

ah_phah

everything is NATO, no action talk only. so what if he was disappointed with DeBigasS' decision to lay off 900? not as if he's going to provide equal paying jobs for those who got chopped.

anyway, they always flip prata. they stress alot on technological advancements, which means lesser need for manpower. at the same time, they expect ppl to settle for lower pay while inflation rolls higher yr on yr. and when there's need for manpower, they encourage hiring of FTs. so, where do our locals go? who's protecting the interest of the citizens? is this not considered selling/playing the ppl out?

Employers (Temasek)
Union (run by govt)
Govt (own Temasek)

Which 3 of the above should Lim Swee Say blame for the 900 retrenched?

It is not right for him to blame the 'hands & legs' that feed him? no?. That is why we, got to have an union that is independent of a ruling party!.

He did not cry for these people, the older ones?, or he is good at crying for China women?

It is another 'song & dance' performance by another MIW!:mad:

Frankiestine

Lim Swee Sway that jin sia suay minister better dun any tok cock if not dana the par lan reached out and slap him...