• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Your Fault - Over-reacting to the Train Breakdowns

You moron. Don't you know that Temasek is the majority shareholder in SMRT. So, how can they prosecute their own business/management? Won't it become a laughing stock then?

Anyway, I will still always say: Those bastard 60.1% really deserve it.

temasick is an investor and majority shareholder. that does not equate to operating and maintaining the mrt. moron.

Bro u are wrong, SMRT is a government controlled company, like SIA like all the GLCs. If anything goes wrong, the government is at fault. There is a Minister of Tpt and a Public Transport Council,,,they oversee SMRT and what not,,so since SMRT screw up, PTC and the minister is not doing their job,,simple as that...and of course, does not the PAP to control (and they do control) everything.

the regulatory body is the transport ministry. they don't operate and maintain the mrt. you need to first separate regulators from operators, shareholders from workers, management with fat paychecks from pappies with a deep pocket. there may be one majority shareholder, but it doesn't mean the same shareholder is out there on the tracks maintaining the 3rd rail. moron.

temasick is an investor and majority shareholder. that does not equate to operating and maintaining the mrt. moron.

It is another analogy of "you teaching your father how to fuck?" By the way, spell the word "temasek" intelligently. Don't need to use synonymic words for fear of what????

the regulatory body is the transport ministry. they don't operate and maintain the mrt. you need to first separate regulators from operators, shareholders from workers, management with fat paychecks from pappies with a deep pocket. there may be one majority shareholder, but it doesn't mean the same shareholder is out there on the tracks maintaining the 3rd rail. moron.

but it can also mean the same major shareholder disapproved extra expenditures on maintainence and cut corners to enhance profits and eventual fat annual dividends.

Why stop at there? Lets compare the welfare/ average worker salaries/ ministers salaries/ countryside getaways/ world class shit....etc etc between Londoners and sinkiers.. Fucking shit PAP muddefuckers only know how to take the bad to compare...The good stuff they got no fucking balls...

if you have fucking balls, why don't you protest in the streets like occupyers and arabs? sinkies are great behind the keyboard, mouthing great balls of fire, but when it comes to action (such as protesting or packing and go), fear starts creeping in. excuses. excuses. there will never be a sinkie spring in sg. all of you are girls and morons with no balls...after completing your ns. tragic.

but it can also mean the same major shareholder disapproved extra expenditures on maintainence and cut corners to enhance profits and eventual fat annual dividents.

show me the proof. conjecture and speculation don't excite me.

It is another analogy of "you teaching your father how to fuck?" By the way, spell the word "temasek" intelligently. Don't need to use synonymic words for fear of what????

have always been spelling temasek as temasick in this forum. moron.

I love London tube, Paris Metro (even if you gotta use your hands to open the doors yourself), Japan's JR, Taipei's rail and HK's MTR...

All except Singapore... I am probably too demanding but come on, I am just being fair. why on earth a small dot needs so many train stations after all?!

I love London tube, Paris Metro (even if you gotta use your hands to open the doors yourself), Japan's JR, Taipei's rail and HK's MTR...

welcome back, applei :p:p:p

show me the proof. conjecture and speculation don't excite me.

Bro, dun get excited. I merely mentioned it can also mean bla..bla..bla...

I have posted a new thread asking whether COI should investigate the fat dividends.

Btw are you a shareholder?

I have 10k @ 1.75

All except Singapore... I am probably too demanding but come on, I am just being fair. why on earth a small dot needs so many train stations after all?!

Agree with the above except Paris Metro.
The one time that I took the paris metro in the evening, there were groups of youths eyeing me all the time. :o
Subsequently, friends told me that I was lucky to make it out without getting mugged.
No doubt the day trips were all right, but that one night trip really spoilt it for me.

Those chaps don't realise that despite so many train stations, the small land area means that the issue remains with the frequency of trains vis-a-vis the passenger load. More stations simply means u walk less or don't need to take a bus to a station, it doesn't help with the problems of congestion and timing. Very soon, SG mrt routes will become as convoluted as Seoul's subway.

the sg mrt is one of the most convenient systems in the world, due to the number of stations. manhattan has more. the good thing about ny metro is that although it is old, dirty and breaks down often or changes schedule due to problems, it operates 24 hours with longer intervals after midnight. the worst thing about ny metro is the unpredictability of service. you have to constantly listen to announcements and change your route or take alternate lines at alternate stations, especially in summer with power brownouts. sg mrt is modern, clean, runs on time and cheap. a few hiccups with disruption to the heartbeat of sg will only wake up the authorities and bring out the best minds from the global pool to study the issues and fix them. better now than a major catastrophe down the road. a comparable system in the bay area had a transformer blown in one of the depots and affected service for over 6 months. the fremont to sf and fremont to richmond lines had to go on a single track to and fro while other track was decommissioned. it was deemed to be too close to blown transformer, which had its own concrete pad over 12 feet away from nearest track. union workers dictated that they needed over 2 dozen feet of additional lateral space to replace one lousy transformer for fear of getting their butts grazed by passing trains. transformer arrived early but sat next to bad transformer for 4 months. they had to conduct numerous investigations before work could start. sinkies should count themselves lucky to have the mrt back in service within the same day.

to think all the above train are better than SMRT You probably went there for a short tour and never spent your time there more than 2 weeks

Very lucky of me, my Paris trip (solo-traveling) was a pleasant one, except at the beginning when I had difficulties making my way or getting oriented around the Metro to the hotel at early evening.

As a matter of safety since I am no Lara Croft nor any fighter, I was indoors before 7pm and usually asleep by 9pm.

Would love to be there again; hopefully soon.

Agree with the above except Paris Metro.
The one time that I took the paris metro in the evening, there were groups of youths eyeing me all the time. :o
Subsequently, friends told me that I was lucky to make it out without getting mugged.
No doubt the day trips were all right, but that one night trip really spoilt it for me.

Those chaps don't realise that despite so many train stations, the small land area means that the issue remains with the frequency of trains vis-a-vis the passenger load. More stations simply means u walk less or don't need to take a bus to a station, it doesn't help with the problems of congestion and timing. Very soon, SG mrt routes will become as convoluted as Seoul's subway.

If I had used their Metro day-in-and-out for 5 days, that's good enough for me to know :)

to think all the above train are better than SMRT You probably went there for a short tour and never spent your time there more than 2 weeks

I dun take the mrt here but thanks to all the well travelled bros sharing views and comparing with other countries...
Now I know Singapore is such a fantastic country to live in and we as singaporeans are so lucky.
Saw deserves her huge salary and our competent cabinet as well for running the country so well....so blessed are we

Thanks for sharing. You do have valid points. The thing is if sinkies never make a big deal out of it; could we guarantee the SMRT goons will be shaken and waken up from their freaking ideas? They were trying to cut costs!

Lucky for SMRT that no irregularities like trapped passengers LS or died on a heart attack during those hours.

Also, it is a definite wake-up to them to provide better customer service.

Like the London Tube, even if they have regular maintenance or breakdowns, I wont mind if prompt updates were being given to the customers immediately. In fact passengers can subscribe to updates via SMSes. But SMRT fails big time with customer service. The drivers were loss and probably thinking that containing the passengers was the best and/or safest!

the sg mrt is one of the most convenient systems in the world, due to the number of stations. manhattan has more. the good thing about ny metro is that although it is old, dirty and breaks down often or changes schedule due to problems, it operates 24 hours with longer intervals after midnight. the worst thing about ny metro is the unpredictability of service. you have to constantly listen to announcements and change your route or take alternate lines at alternate stations, especially in summer with power brownouts. sg mrt is modern, clean, runs on time and cheap. a few hiccups with disruption to the heartbeat of sg will only wake up the authorities and bring out the best minds from the global pool to study the issues and fix them. better now than a major catastrophe down the road. a comparable system in the bay area had a transformer blown in one of the depots and affected service for over 6 months. the fremont to sf and fremont to richmond lines had to go on a single track to and fro while other track was decommissioned. it was deemed to be too close to blown transformer, which had its own concrete pad over 12 feet away from nearest track. union workers dictated that they needed over 2 dozen feet of additional lateral space to replace one lousy transformer for fear of getting their butts grazed by passing trains. transformer arrived early but sat next to bad transformer for 4 months. they had to conduct numerous investigations before work could start. sinkies should count themselves lucky to have the mrt back in service within the same day.