• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nana Disco - Yet Another Staring Incident Leading to Likely Death

I have a theory why these types of crimes are treated relatively lightly compared to the "premeditated murder by known person" or even firing a weapon during a robbery or kidnapping type cases.
It's the "it would not happen to us" theory.
Those people in power think that they and their families are unlikely to encounter this type of crimes. And so the numbers and the severity increase as time goes by.

You may have a valid point.

White collar crimes, while inflicting no physical injuries on victims, can be equally devastating to victims and their families. Ever wonder why no caning for these offences?

You may have a valid point.

White collar crimes, while inflicting no physical injuries on victims, can be equally devastating to victims and their families. Ever wonder why no caning for these offences?

Because "it could happen to us".
as in they could be the perpetuators, and not the victims.

Because "it could happen to us".
as in they could be the perpetuators, and not the victims.

That's right, bro.

Lawmakers and those in position to implement change know there is less than 1% chance they would rob, rape, kidnap or kill. But given the right environment, when they lose heavily at the casinos or kena black magic from 'pussies', they may be bought or tempted coz everyone has his/her own threshold where such temptation is concerned.

This has a historical foundation and related to clan ties. The sentencing guidelines are also stuck since then. In those days, gang fights were very frequent, every weekend without fail. They use to "protect" hawkers in illegal locations, shopkeepers and they were an integral part of society. You could not hang them as the numbers will be huge and the clans will make noise as there is old rivalry between Hokkein and Teochew was still a concern then.

Despite hoarding and acquiring weapons for the assault which is clearly premeditated, the guidelines was 7 years for "murder" on the interesting premise that the actual person who inflicted the fatal blow could not be ascertained.

They also did not go to Changi but Chia Keng Prison to learn motor mechanic skills and things like panel beating. All in cahoots to get votes and to keep the clans happy.

I have a theory why these types of crimes are treated relatively lightly compared to the "premeditated murder by known person" or even firing a weapon during a robbery or kidnapping type cases.It's the "it would not happen to us" theory.Those people in power think that they and their families are unlikely to encounter this type of crimes. And so the numbers and the severity increase as time goes by.

Despite hoarding and acquiring weapons for the assault which is clearly premeditated, the guidelines was 7 years for "murder" on the interesting premise that the actual person who inflicted the fatal blow could not be ascertained.

The biggest problem now is that some of the cases happening now may not even be gang related, but simply a case of 'bully kechi" which results in someone dying. Ok, the victim may have stared or been playful or guai lan, but that doesn't mean he deserved to die or the perpetuators should get off lightly.

This type of cases is getting more and more common, and it's a travesty of justice if the perpetuators are not treated like murderers.

I have always felt that this should not be tolerated long time ago. It an abuse and miscarriage of justice. Murder is murder. We have hanged people for less violence in the commission of a murder. Imagine getting hanged for firing a gun into the ceiling to frighten the bank teller to hand over cash.
The biggest problem now is that some of the cases happening now may not even be gang related, but simply a case of 'bully kechi" which results in someone dying. Ok, the victim may have stared or been playful or guai lan, but that doesn't mean he deserved to die or the perpetuators should get off lightly.This type of cases is getting more and more common, and it's a travesty of justice if the perpetuators are not treated like murderers.

Man walks free after jail sentence is backdated

By Claire Huang | Posted: 06 August 2012 2129 hrs

SINGAPORE : Twenty-four-year-old Desmond Neo Han Wen walked out of court a free man on Monday, even after he was sentenced to seven months' jail on two charges of voluntarily causing hurt and one of grievous hurt. That is because the District Judge backdated the sentence to the day of his arrest - 5 December 2011.

On December 3 last year, Neo was walking to a car with three friends - 23-year-old Lee Boon Leong, 28-year-old Poh Chong Heng and 23-year-old Marcus Lee Han Wei - shortly after 6am.

The group had just ended a night of merry-making at Club Nana and was heading for supper at Central Square.

At the same time, another group comprising the deceased 21-year-old Chen Zixuan, 24-year-old Matthew Li, 21-year-old Darren Matthias Chan and 21-year-old Andrea Lim Mei Chen blocked the path of the car Neo was in.

Lee sounded the horn and this led to taunting and a fight ensued.

Mid-way, Chen told Neo and Lee that he had dislocated his thumb.

The fight stopped and the two groups even shook hands.

But at about the same time, Neo's friend, whose name is not mentioned who is and is still at large, came to the scene and a second fight broke out.

Chen suffered a heavy punch to his face and collapsed to the ground.

While he managed to get home, Chen later died of his injuries.

In mitigation, defence lawyer Kertar Singh said Neo is a first offender and the incident was not premeditated but a spontaneous one where the two groups were not armed.

He added that Neo did not participate in the second fight after making peace.

He also pointed out that Neo was initially in the car when the first fight broke out, but his client left to render aid to his friend.

In sentencing, the District Judge said the defence made it clear that Neo was not involved in the second fight.

The judge said credit should be given to Neo for the ceasefire when Chen told him of his dislocated thumb.

Still, he said group violence must be deterred and sentenced Neo to a total of seven months' jail.

Neo is the first of his group to be dealt with.

- CNA/ms

One punch to the face can mati....either the puncher is some MMA expert or the victim is pes E calibre.

Police will always use 'operational effiency' etc as a reason to the press not to blow things up. In Nana's case, those who ranroad did so way before even police viewed the CCTV recordings. I am more inclined to believe the non-publicity for this case is linked to the Potong Pasir incident.

boss, whats the potong pasir incident? sorry not up to date lately

my friend, do you know if you hit the nostrils upwards, death is confirmed!

Lodge the nose cartilage into brain thingy?
Urban myth lah...or at least not doable unless you super strong or trained pugilist.
Want to kill a fit human being with bare hands is not easy feat.
Too bad ah ram is departed if not he can teach you the finer points of this art.

i don't think it's urban myth, if you look at the story above, the teen i think mis-hit somewhere on his face, though never mention where exactly, but only mention face, i can be sure the part that he hit is the nose. likely, he mis-punched that spot and cause his death.

ram probably watched too much bruce lee...mean no dis-resect to him. i have seen people who got into fights and got so badly wallop until become living vegetable. not one case but at least 2 cases.

that's why i always tell myself not to fight, i know in fighting even with bare hands, prone to injury very likely. besides that, if that person got unknown health issue, you may indirectly cause his death if you are unlucky. so the most i will give the person who i has a problem(if there is) a very hard and fierce stare, if he come over, i will pretend to be siao lang...tsk...:*::p

Lodge the nose cartilage into brain thingy?
Urban myth lah...or at least not doable unless you super strong or trained pugilist.
Want to kill a fit human being with bare hands is not easy feat.
Too bad ah ram is departed if not he can teach you the finer points of this art.

i don't think it's urban myth, if you look at the story above, the teen i think mis-hit somewhere on his face, though never mention where exactly, but only mention face, i can be sure the part that he hit is the nose. likely, he mis-punched that spot and cause his death.

That's why I said victim probably had underlying medical condition...aka sick chicken.
The so called guy at large could also be a figment of imagination to cover up an ambush.
I had my share of fights....even tagged as fighting chicken.
Trust me I have tried all these so called death strokes....even the knuckles to the side temples....knn how siao one.
I am a blackbelt in unarmed combat and formation boxer in the army...also briefly trained in muay Thai....
What I call tell you is...
All things being equal in a 1 to 1 fight...training, physique, fitness etc
You want to KO the other guy also hard much less kill with bare hands.

bro, i still think that young chap who kanna humtum is a strong young man(go chionging at wee hours) who has no condition at all. maybe, you can let me try on you...tsk...:p

That's why I said victim probably had underlying medical condition...aka sick chicken.
The so called guy at large could also be a figment of imagination to cover up an ambush.
Trust me I have tried all these so called death strokes....even the knuckles to the side temples....knn how siao one.
I am a blackbelt in unarmed combat and formation boxer in the army...also briefly trained in muay Thai....

punched in the face.. maybe he fell and landed on his head. he was intoxicated and complications set in?

bro, i also got trained in martial art. pls dont compare us to layman. im not yaya. our body were trained to be alert and react to situations. we will dodge, block or even counter. even too late for all those, we will at least attempt to tense the muscle for a little bit of protection. like this guy, maybe if he can react and tilt or turn his head a bit. he may only end up with a broken nose or badly bruise face and not dead. of cos, killing you is difficult because u were trained. but not those who were not exposed to the art.

Third man in Central Square assault jailed

Published on Sep 21, 2012
By Elena Chong

A THIRD man involved in the Central Square carpark assault which led to a full-time national serviceman later dying of head injuries, was jailed on Friday.

Poh Chong Heng, 28, originally accused of Mr Chen Zixuan's murder while being part of an unlawful assembly, was sentenced to 31/2 years' jail and six strokes of the cane on amended charges of causing grievous hurt and causing hurt.

Poh, a small trader, had admitted to punching and kicking Mr Chen's cousin, Mr Matthew Li, 24, at the Havelock Road carpark on Dec 3 last year.

Two of his three accomplices, Mr Desmond Neo Han Wen, 24, and Mr Lee Boon Leong, 23, have been dealt with. A fourth man's case is pending.

Read the full story in The New Paper on Friday (Sept 21).