• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status of the moderated section

Is it working as it should?

• Yes

Votes: 9 50.0%
  • No

Votes: 1 5.6%
  • Too soon to tell

Votes: 8 44.4%

• Total voters
dunno about ze rest ... but as 4 ze lastest 1 ... dictionary.reference.com has tis 2 say ...

:rolleyes:

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=bugger

[TD="class: index"] 1. [/TD]
[TD="class: word"] bugger [/TD]
[TD="class: tools"] [/TD]

[TD="class: text, colspan: 2"] Technically means to sodomize , but most people use the word in a variety of situations, often without realizing the true meaning.

It is often considered these days to be more acceptable that the word ' fuck ' (as long as you are not in the presence of anyone old enough to remember the actual meaning).
[/TD]

Seems to have taken off better than I expected. What do you think?

seems to be working. another forum where i hang out has one mod per section or folder. a mod has power over his/her section but is powerless in other sections. the admin or host allows mods to develop their respective sections according to the preference, capability and care of each mod. forum users are attracted to sections that are well moderated, and they contribute more and in very positive ways depending on the engagement of the mod and others who are either subject matter experts or very knowledgeable contributors. over time, natural selection takes over and some mods and their respective sections have crickets chirping while others are flourishing. contributing users tend to flock to good and active sections and abandon sections that are either rife with flame wars, personal vendettas, bitter rivalries, and/or lousy unbalanced heavy-handed moderation. of course, sections that are unmoderated have the most frivolous posts, spam and garbage generated by those who cut and paste but contribute zilch from their own thoughts.

Seems to have taken off better than I expected. What do you think?

Sam, we dunno your expectation, so we can't really tell wether is better or not.

I must say that the traffic here is low, only about 5% comparing to the unmoderated one.

However, I do enjoy posting and replying without chumps passing uncalled for remarks, politicising everything, vulgarites, threatening to ban me etc...

Seriously, I dunno what is the concern in this thread asking you to set a guideline on "can" and "cannot" here. If we behave reasonably (I know it veries from people to people), argue using facts, respect each other (even when opinion differs), behave like how we behave in real life (except for those who are ill behaved in real life), then we have no problem enjoying in this forum!!

For bros who ask whether what "can" or "cannot", we don't ask our friends and our boss whether we can behave like or not right?

For those who do not enjoy being moderated, they can stick to the other forum, is a matter of choice!

For bros who ask whether what "can" or "cannot", we don't ask our friends and our boss whether we can behave like or not right?

I don't moderate the forum. It's done by the appointed moderators. I leave it to them to decide what's acceptable.

another thing i dun understand - does every thread (i mean thread) gets duplicated into Courtyard moderated? Or i must specifically post in either one?

Ideally if its Courtyard Moderated and Original (sharing same name) - all threads save those offensive threads - shld be replicated.

the only difference will be - all contents pertaining to replies, posts are filtered by moderators in the moderated section - meaning all undesired stuff are removed.

is it the case ?

another thing i dun understand - does every thread (i mean thread) gets duplicated into Courtyard moderated? Or i must specifically post in either one?

Nothing gets duplicated automatically. You can choose the section you want to start your thread in or you can hedge your bets and post in both. It's your call.

I don't moderate the forum. It's done by the appointed moderators. I leave it to them to decide what's acceptable.

My assessment of moderators is:
- Singveld - serious and hardworking
- Windsor - good at maintaining good topics
- JW5 - fair and steady enough
- Equalisation - not serious and fooling around

It is going very well and I am inclined to think that Courtyard Cafe should be merged. It will be in good hands.

I don't think it should be, losing the colourful character and free for all will be quite a big blow to the flavour of this forum. This is sammyboy not SPH controlled HWZ for kiddies or Kojakbt's 3-in-1

always begin your first post of the day with ' good morning '
end your last post of the day with ' good night '

and must end all your posts with ' G'day _ mate '

1. aiyoh!
2. plenty of dos and don'ts leh.
3. must also end with thank u mah.
4. very polite.

There is no intention on cutting out the content, or using profanities such as fuck, mudderfucker etc. There is also no intention to cut down all the crazy content and ridiculous comments.

Moderation means no spamming, stalking and pure abuse. Any more is makes this forum lose its purpose.

I don't think it should be, losing the colourful character and free for all will be quite a big blow to the flavour of this forum. This is sammyboy not SPH controlled HWZ for kiddies or Kojakbt's 3-in-1

There is no intention on cutting out the content, or using profanities such as fuck, mudderfucker etc. There is also no intention to cut down all the crazy content and ridiculous comments.

Moderation means no spamming, stalking and pure abuse. Any more is makes this forum lose its purpose.

Let me qualify that. It is my opinion that since we have the other Courtyard Cafe that is not moderated, leave the racist overtones out. The Malay and Indian bashings should not be condone here as we have Malay and Indian members. I want to encourage the minority race members here to share their views and enjoy the company here.

If the rest of you have objections then I will allow members to continue bashing other races. I think SBF should not be a Chinese only forum.

Looks like Sam cannot step in. Though not a racist, he loves to set the cat upon the pigeons by making blatant racist remarks and drawing in the crowd for long threads. Of course he does not discriminate among the races and everyone gets hit.

Let me qualify that. It is my opinion that since we have the other Courtyard Cafe that is not moderated, leave the racist overtones out. The Malay and Indian bashings should not be condone here as we have Malay and Indian members. I want to encourage the minority race members here to share their views and enjoy the company here.

If the rest of you have objections then I will allow members to continue bashing other races. I think SBF should not be a Chinese only forum.

Eh kawan ..... everybody so serious and steadfast ..... also tak boleh binya ..... must have someone like me equalise binya .... sekali we all kena labelled dicktators binya ....:eek:

Don't need to bother with Equalisation. He's an old dick binya and drunk all the way. Everybody who's here for sometime knows that.

Eh kawan ..... everybody so serious and steadfast ..... also tak boleh binya ..... must have someone like me equalise binya .... sekali we all kena labelled dicktators binya ....:eek:

Oi .... u don't everytime bully the old and the weak .... one day u also old binya !!!