• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Database error copy

Re: Database error

It's easy when the database is small but gets progressively more difficult when the database gets larger and larger as the years go by. The forum now has close to 700,000 posts and if you multiply the data over an array of more than 100 tables were talking millions of pieces of data.

What data transfers are done, buffers are created to store temp data and if these buffers overflow, the transfer stalls and the database gets damaged.

I thought that I could use the cPanel utility to migrate the database to another server and it was also take care of all the PHP settings. I was wrong. It messed everything up.

you can delete the JB thread..so many posts there...:D

No wonder I always kena infractions for "Quoting huge chunks of message unnecessarily". :D

Good luck to you in resolving the mess.

There has to be a trade-off then if money is not an issue, which I doubt. :rolleyes:

It's easy when the database is small but gets progressively more difficult when the database gets larger and larger as the years go by. The forum now has close to 700,000 posts and if you multiply the data over an array of more than 100 tables were talking millions of pieces of data.

There has to be a trade-off then if money is not an issue, which I doubt. :rolleyes:

In order to make things foolproof, I need to put in the sort of redundancies that megasites like google, youtube etc put in. They put in the resources because they have investors to answer to plus all have ambitions of earning a hefty return on investment through a public listing or a multi billion private sale.

This site is but a hobby. To run it along a business model wouldn't make sense. The mistake I made this time round was trying to do too much myself instead of leaving it to the hosting company. I thought cPanel automation would be able to handle the server move. I was wrong.

Anyway things should be running smoothly now. 99% of the mess has been sorted out. The database error messages should be gone.

what about inserting scripts to automatically delete threads that have zero replies? or limit anyone from starting a thread every minute with a cap up to a dozen a day?

My philosophy is tailor the hardware to meet the requirements that members impose upon it. I've seen profound messages with zero replies. Nobody knew how to respond.:D

Nobody likes a forum full of restrictions.

My philosophy is tailor the hardware to meet the requirements that members impose upon it. I've seen profound messages with zero replies. Nobody knew how to respond.:D

Nobody likes a forum full of restrictions.

such as some of my out-of-this-world threads designed as moron-bait. too many geniuses here. thank you.

compromise: what if threads with zero replies can be retained for their 15 minutes or days of fame or infamy, but they face the prospect of being shoved to a rubbish heap which auto-trashes any postings more than 90 days barring any "rescue" attempts by anyone foolish enough to retrieve them from the brink? and perhaps, only admin and/or mods can pardon those damned threads on death row?

the system obviously has capacity limits. shit just cannot stay forever in the sewer. something has to go, and there is adequate safety protocol and opportunities above for some threads to die and some to be rehabilitated for profoundly moronic discussions. :)

In order to make things fool proof, I need to put in the sort of redundancies that megasites like google, youtube etc put in. They put in the resources because they have investors to answer to plus all have ambitions of earning a hefty return on investment through a public listing or a multi billion private sale.

This site is but a hobby. To run it along a business model wouldn't make sense. The mistake I made this time round was trying to do too much myself instead of leaving it to the hosting company. I thought cPanel automation would be able to handle the server move. I was wrong.

Anyway things should be running smoothly now. 99% of the mess has been sorted out. The database error messages should be gone.

database error just occurred. from 827am to 831am.

fyi.

Database error

The database has encountered a problem.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following: •Load the page again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.
•Open the sammyboy.com home page, then try to open another page.
•Click the Back button to try another link.

The sammyboy.com forum technical staff have been notified of the error, though you may contact them if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

lianbeng just received 1 before coming in.:D

siao liao! ...

~6:30pm - ~11:30pm - 5 hrs of database corruption! ... :eek: :rolleyes:

kena hack by PAPees ...

Kena LOIC by PAP IB. :D

low_orbit_ion_cannon_thumb%5B2%5D.jpg

LOIC is an open source network stress testing application, written in C#. A JavaScript version has also been created enabling a DoS from a web browser.<sup id="cite_ref-JS.252520LOIC_0-0" class="reference">[1]</sup> LOIC was initially developed by Praetox Technologies, but later it was released into the public domain.<sup id="cite_ref-1" class="reference">[2]</sup>
<sup id="cite_ref-1" class="reference">
</sup>
LOIC is an acronym for Low Orbit Ion Cannon, a fictional weapon in the Command & Conquer series of video games.<sup id="cite_ref-mavb_2-0" class="reference">[3]</sup>

This time the downtime was real bad, several hours I think.

Admin is trying to create the illusion that this forum is so hot that it's jammed with traffic, making it near impossible to access during 'peak' hours izzit? :rolleyes:

(Yes we know it's just a 'hobby' for the Admin running this forum, and most probably an experimental site too for his other projects.)

This is why I don't like hardware upgrades.

The problem was caused by a repquota command that wasn't configured correctly. It pretty much killed the server.

Luckily running a custom FSCK managed to restore everything back to normal.

lianbeng will wait see what that samseng bugger got to say 1st then rebut him.:D
he promised everything settled within 1 week now exceeded his own deadline liao.:mad:

lianbeng was right and deserve an apology from boss for calling him..
a blind,stupid,illiterate or a combo of all three.:D

i m not blaming u. i m blaming your parents who brought u to this world

Then why are you posting in a forum that is created by the person whose parent that you blame.