• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

RafflesTiger

Hi to all brothers, I am encountering some problems.. Recently one singaporean malay moved his whole family next door, his wife and 2 kids... The studio apartment wall is quite thin.. The guy very big sized, banging things all over the place... 4 people how to squeeze into one small shoe box? Can't blame him also... The place so small, need to pack 4 people.. How not to be noisy? He looks quite fierce also, I am quite scared of him.. Dunno what to do...

if I wish to move upstairs or another place, I just have to forfeit the one month deposit and the agent has to let me go? I will get back my utilities deposit right?

The first 2 months here was quite peaceful, but now very noisy.. Even at night, I hear foot steps of the man.. Maybe wake up to feed the kid or what I dunno.. The kids also very noisy, but can't blame them... Quite noisy... The studio apartment really not suitable for one whole family to squeeze in like this.. Now I am contemplating moving away... I thought studio apartment only singles and couples stay.. But I didn't know one whole family can just pack inside like this..

Quite surprised he chose to stay here also, as he has a PHD... Now apparently PHD also lose out to FT, needs to move to JB with whole family.. I am thinking of a way out.. Any advice?

euphony

Hi to all brothers, I am encountering some problems.. Recently one singaporean malay moved his whole family next door, his wife and 2 kids... The studio apartment wall is quite thin.. The guy very big sized, banging things all over the place... 4 people how to squeeze into one small shoe box? Can't blame him also... The place so small, need to pack 4 people.. How not to be noisy? He looks quite fierce also, I am quite scared of him.. Dunno what to do...

if I wish to move upstairs or another place, I just have to forfeit the one month deposit and the agent has to let me go? I will get back my utilities deposit right?

The first 2 months here was quite peaceful, but now very noisy.. Even at night, I hear foot steps of the man.. Maybe wake up to feed the kid or what I dunno.. The kids also very noisy, but can't blame them... Quite noisy... The studio apartment really not suitable for one whole family to squeeze in like this.. Now I am contemplating moving away...

Quite surprised he chose to stay here also, as he has a PHD... Now apparently PHD also lose out to FT.. I am thinking of a way out.. Any advice?

am sorry to hear about your plight RT. You can contact your agent see if your can work out another unit in the block? there r many units there i am sure you can find another alternative. 'transfer' the deposit to the other unit? alternatively, there are a few other studio type apartments closer to sentral and in itself but you'll have to pay more which make work out fine if you're commuting and makes it more convenient for you. one disadvantage at your place is the doors, they don't seem to be able to keep out noise along the common corridor although security is good. And I understand what u r talking about - families staying in studios. its definitely no place for them but the price point as well as track record of the development does make it attractive even if it means squeezing it in.

Another thing is are they there temporary till their house is ready or something? If that's the case you might want to seek less drastic alternatives like getting a good sound system and playing noise cancelling tracks etc as you sleep.

RafflesTiger

am sorry to hear about your plight RT. You can contact your agent see if your can work out another unit in the block? there r many units there i am sure you can find another alternative. 'transfer' the deposit to the other unit? alternatively, there are a few other studio type apartments closer to sentral and in itself but you'll have to pay more which make work out fine if you're commuting and makes it more convenient for you. one disadvantage at your place is the doors, they don't seem to be able to keep out noise along the common corridor although security is good. And I understand what u r talking about - families staying in studios. its definitely no place for them but the price point as well as track record of the development does make it attractive even if it means squeezing it in.

Another thing is are they there temporary till their house is ready or something? If that's the case you might want to seek less drastic alternatives like getting a good sound system and playing noise cancelling tracks etc as you sleep.

The Malay man is here to stay for good.. He doesn't even want his kids in school... He wants to stay in this small shoe box and take care of his kids... Live off the rent from the HDB flat.. Very scared of him also.. He looks very big sized and very fierce..

I am not sure if the agent is willing to do this for me.. As he may not have ready units.. The noise outside is ok, but when I am inside the apartment, I can hear the loud bangs... I don't think the man is considerate... He is disturbed constantly by his kids, so to him, noise is nothing.. He wants to stay in this shoe box and enjoy taking care of his kids and work 2 days a week..

I am just down on my luck, what to do? There are so many units in JB and they have to choose that one.. Just unfortunate..

Don't understand why he likes to bang and bang things.. Like for fun like that... Not conscious of others around him.. The other side is empty unit.. Downstairs noone so noone will complain about his bangs.. Studio is really no place for families.. Every unit here has 1 single inside or simply empty.. There is no family with 2 kids in this entire block.. But I guess he figures he can do what he wants... Nothing I can do.. So sad... So many units in this block, I have to kena this family.. Why does management allow families to stay in studios? What if one family has 8-9, they are still allowed to stay here in this studio? Not even sure if he is planning to have more members of his family come...

I do know one guy who was from the management committee... he probably knows the people currently in the committee... Not even sure if they can do anything.. The management office may not bother also.. All chinese on the committee, 3 are from this block.. They have their numbers on the notice board too...

One other problem is the speed of the internet here is simply too slow... Not possible to use the platforms to trade.. I am using P1... My mum doesn't want me to stay with her, but she wants me back in Singapore, and she is willing to subsidise the rent for me.. So I am unsure what to do now...

abugumgum

landlord in my case but dun take my word for it...
you're considering a re-entry? hope everything pans out well for you!

I thought so too. Landlord pays the comm.

Yes, we are back in JB, managed to pacify my wife.

Looking at getting a personal, portable alarm.

Investor

Congrats, happy to hear that from you =). Never give up, just make sure you do the necessary safety set ups.

euphony

i was munching down dinner and watching this streaming on the web on my laptop. Lots of thoughts running through my head as I watched. Mostly uncomfortable.

Its an expose of STA mobile in the US as a MRO for fleets of airlines and their sloppy work (wait for the pencil whipping description). Drove a chill down my spine.

The trend is deeply pervasive in SG inc. as well where we (or rather the leadership) sought a massive influx of cheap foreign labor as a solution to staying competitive/profitable. Looks good on the books but typical style of rubbish in rubbish out instead of trying to get ahead by innovation and creativity. Which is why SG still has not inked a mandatory requirement for minimum wage.

All these are as suspected affecting us common folk who compete vis a vis these foreign 'talents'. We are fortunate enough to have the resources and perhaps the guts to make the move but how are we preparing our kids for the future? To get a straight A cert in a brand named school and then say it'll qualify them for a better future?

(brains in over drive working to burn out the carbohydrates post-dinner hurhur - please do watch the video if you can in its entirety)

euphony

3 cheers! but like investor mentioned, do make sure due diligence first in finding a more secure development as much as your budget allows (be sure at least to avoid the dodgier tamans/areas) and then put up security measures.

euphony

One other problem is the speed of the internet here is simply too slow... Not possible to use the platforms to trade.. I am using P1... My mum doesn't want me to stay with her, but she wants me back in Singapore, and she is willing to subsidise the rent for me.. So I am unsure what to do now...

hmm in whatever options available to u, i think u're a survivor. gotta dig deep and ask yourself how you want to plan out your life. As for the neighbor i guess this is a possible pitfall of apartment living. Better to find alternatives than to confront as it may lead to further headaches in the future.

Investor

i

The trend is deeply pervasive in SG inc. as well where we (or rather the leadership) sought a massive influx of cheap foreign labor as a solution to staying competitive/profitable. Looks good on the books but typical style of rubbish in rubbish out instead of trying to get ahead by innovation and creativity.

Exactly what I think as well.

Inception

'Overweight' on property sector stays: OSK

2011/06/07
Business Times Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR: OSK Research Sdn Bhd has maintained its 'overweight' call on the property sector.

In a note today, OSK said the biggest gainers from the current upcycle were the mid- to high-end developers, particularly those with focus on developing landed properties and also had significant exposure in high-growth areas.

"As such, our top buys for the sector are UEM Land Bhd and SP Setia Bhd for mid- to large-capitalised property companies while Plenitude Bhd (is our top pick for small-cap firms," it said.

OSK said developers with exposure in high growth areas such as Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Iskandar Malaysia would benefit the most not only from the current but also future property upcycle.

"Out of the three high-growth areas, Iskandar presents the most upside for developers, both in terms of supply as well as price appreciation.

"With the development of Iskandar progressing as planned and reaching its tipping point by 2012, we believe there is significant untapped potential for the property market there," it said. - Bernama

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20110607145833/Article/index_html

pockaroo

personally all i need is proper lap pools and proper gym chains. that's all the wellness i need =p
looks like medini region is hotting up with these developments in concert with legoland and hotels and malls within the vicinity.
like to be able to drive around the area for a look see beyond the maps on the websites. i guess its not accessible to the public currently?

It is accessible. You can go all the way to Puteri Harbour. They have a sales office there for the medini condo.

Inception

GAAM: Japanese interested in Iskandar property
By ZAZALI MUSA

[email protected]

JOHOR BARU: Global Asia Assets (M) Sdn Bhd (GAAM) sees Iskandar Malaysia as offering good prospects to Japanese looking to invest in property development projects outside their home country.

Chief executive officer Fujimura Masanori said the company planned to bring more Japanese investors to invest in the Iskandar Malaysia property market.

He said Johor Baru or Iskandar Malaysia still had ample land for future developments with the prices of properties here still cheaper compared with Kuala Lumpur and Penang.

Fujimura said since setting up its office here last September, about 300 of its Japanese clients had visited Johor Baru and many had shown strong interest to invest in the property market in Iskandar Malaysia.

“They are attracted to Johor Baru's close proximity to Singapore which is a popular destination among Japanese and also the long term prospects of Iskandar Malaysia,'' he told StarBizWeek.

Fujimura said this after signing a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with United Malaysian Land Bhd's subsidiary Seri Alam Properties Sdn Bhd at the Wealth of Iskandar Malaysia Conference recently.

Seri Alam Properties will develop 110 units of bungalows on an 8.09ha site overlooking a lake in Bandar Seri Alam township in Pasir Gudang with a gross development value between RM200mil and RM400mil.

The project is known as Japanese Holiday Homes with each bungalow having a built-up area of 2,200 sq ft and a land size of 4,500 sq ft with its own swimming pool and a club house.

GAAM is a subsidiary of Global Asset Asia Investment Ltd (GAAI), a holding company incorporated in Hong Kong whose clients are mostly high net worth Japanese investors.

“It (the group) has 10,000 cash-rich Japanese clients who are serious investors and always on the look-out to enhance their investment portfolios,'' said Fujimura.

GAAM general manager Takahiro Sakanoue said this was the company's second purchase in the Johor Baru market after the acquisition of two high end luxury condominium blocks of Molek Pine 3, in Taman Molek for RM200mil early this year.

The 28-storey tower block consisting of 212 units and a six-storey block with 36 units, are being developed by Tanjung Bintang Sdn Bhd, which comes under Berinda Group, a property development arm of Kuok Group.

On the bungalows at Seri Alam township, he said it was impossible to get a bungalow of similar size in Tokyo as the city was already densely populated.

Takahiro said a similar bungalow located in the suburbs of Tokyo, about 30 minutes by train to the city centre and minus the lake view, cost a whopping RM37mil each, and a that bungalow in an area about one hour's train ride from the city would sell about RM19mil.

“Our clients love properties in Johor Baru as they are considered bargains for them,'' he said.

Takahiro said Johor Baru was well known to the Japanese after the country's soccer team qualified for the World Cup after beating Iran at Larkin Stadium here in 1997. He said Iskandar Malaysia would also be a good location for Japanese manufacturers planning to relocate their operations elsewhere in view of the natural disasters in Japan, such as earthquakes.

Takahiro said the company would be looking at several options when investing in property projects in Iskandar Malaysia, including having joint-ventures with local partners, buying the properties en bloc or acquiring certain equities in companies. Other than Malaysia, GAAI has similar investments in Canada, China, Cambodia, Europe, Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, Thailand, USA and the Philippines.

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/6/11/business/8819904&sec=business

Investor

Growing interest in Iskandar
Friday June 24, 2011
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story...&if_height=629

KUALA LUMPUR: More regional and national investors are showing interest in Iskandar Investment Bhd’s (IIB) landbank in Nusajaya.

President and CEO Datuk Syed Mohamed Ibrahim said at a press briefing here that there might be some ground-breaking deals in the next two to six months to the tune of RM1bil.

Several Bursa-listed, Chinese, Indian and Hong Kong developers are in different stages of negotiation. A Chinese investor, with Chinese Development Bank financing, is negotiating to build a four to five-star hotel with a gross development value of RM400mil in Medini North, near Legoland.

A renowned Indian resort developer plans to build a low density premium resort in Medini South while a Hong Kong developer is negotiationg to enter a joint-venture development to build mixed residential and commercial developments. This Hong Kong project is still in the preliminary stage.

Syed Mohamed said another parcel would be carved out for education, currently known as Educity II. The interest in education has also resulted in Raffles University setting up campus in Johor.

Investor

Educity is so successful that they are already planning an Educity II. If I'm not wrong, Educity planned to house 8 international Universities and they've already found 6.

euphony

Educity is so successful that they are already planning an Educity II. If I'm not wrong, Educity planned to house 8 international Universities and they've already found 6.

i heard about Carnegie Mellon University making an appearance long time ago in educity but so far no news. It would be nice if a brand name US uni were to fit into the picture. i wonder if a law and architecture/built faculty would set up shop then the different partners combined can make up a full scale full fledged uni! anyway, i think tertiary education ventures would be good for the area, brings much needed life into the area and with it, the ancillary businesses.

euphony

It is accessible. You can go all the way to Puteri Harbour. They have a sales office there for the medini condo.

oh? i mean if we can drive into medini districts. =)
been to the puteri harbor side nice and peaceful. maybe one day i'll do the building tour of the JNSAC.

InformedHH

Foreign girls strip to their undies, then party from club to club at Clarke Quay

A STOMPer was shocked to see these two foreign girls partying in their underwear at Clarke Quay.

"Two expat girls spotted at Clarke Quay partying in their underwear.

"These girls were hopping from club to club at Clarke Quay from midnight till 4.00am.

"They pulled off their skirts after their first round of shots. This is as far as they stripped. They kept their shirts on.

"This photo was snapped at midnight at Clarke Quay, and these girls did not even think about the concerns that others may have with this."

Status
Not open for further replies.