• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Coffee wisdom for sinkies....

whats the different between a normal coffeeshop and a thai coffeeshop ? you mean thai coffeeshop got hanky panky inside ? why Anti-vice doing at the thai coffeeshop ?

Oh, that Thai coffeeshop used to be perching and lurking place for many Thai girls, independent wild crows without pimps. No hanky panky inside. They hooked their clients around the area, "wine and dine" there, agreed on a price and go some hotels to settle their business. When the Thai girls disappeared, presumably cleaned up by AV, the coffeeshop business went dead. I like to go there because they're all Thais. If Golden Mile is little Thailand, then that place is mini Golden Mile. Good for Thai language practice and upkeep. :D

Cream crackers go best with Ovaltine.

Try this with kopi .... Sedap shiok ! :D

A11092_e.jpg

Yes. This is not a kopitiam, this is a food court.

Real kopitiam, early early moring already got kopi and chee-cheong fun, and porridge. Late late at night, uncles and ah pek sit around drink beer and stout, and of course other hot beverages. Sunday afternoon, business goes on but behind close doors because inside ppl betting on fighting fish!

i used to feed my fighting fish with chilli seeds ...it is said that after the fish eat the chilli become very hot and fierce ..hahahaha in the end overdose of chilli seeds and die ...:mad:

Oh, that Thai coffeeshop used to be perching and lurking place for many Thai girls, independent wild crows without pimps. No hanky panky inside. They hooked their clients around the area, "wine and dine" there, agreed on a price and go some hotels to settle their business. When the Thai girls disappeared, presumably cleaned up by AV, the coffeeshop business went dead. I like to go there because they're all Thais. If Golden Mile is little Thailand, then that place is mini Golden Mile. Good for Thai language practice and upkeep. :D

i dont really like Golden Mile ..got one type of strange smell .

are you sure you going there to polish your thai ..or to polished the thai mei meis boobs ? :D;)

End of it all, baccarrat is still my favourite - the only winner for me. Horses and soccer, died a terrible death.

Don't anyhow curse Equalisation the king of horses! Wait he up yours then you know. :oIo: :D

Before I became "wordly" (i.e. when pizzas and doritos were the munchies), it was mutton murtabak to satisfy those cravings. Back then, malay/indian kopi stalls were called Sarabat Stalls. I also loved those 15 cents triangular potato samosas! Damn what can you get with fifty-cents now!

Sarabat stalls? Reminds me of those days when have to take cover to smoke. Sarabat stalls were strategic places to hide from parents and teachers. That triangular stuff I always refer to as Bermuda Triangle. The stall at Keppel Railway sells them fresh. Understand there are only about 2-3 suppliers here.

Bo God lah. I just make small small over a period of time to support my lifestyle. Lotteries offer hope - no buy no strike, buy ada chance teok.

you counted yourself lucky liao ...i got friends who lost whenever he gamble ...but he still never give up . i buay tahan him . :D

Bro, you must be in your 50s! Yes, fighting fish, I remember.

It just amuses me when I think back. People were so serious about their Bettas. Got 1st king, 2nd king and then their not-so-fierce others. You can bet from 50 cents and it goes to whatever one dare lays.

are you sure you going there to polish your thai ..or to polished the thai mei meis boobs ? :D;)

The smell is still there and it is a deterrence to a good outing. Clothes also stink. it is that bad.

Before I became "wordly" (i.e. when pizzas and doritos were the munchies), it was mutton murtabak to satisfy those cravings. Back then, malay/indian kopi stalls were called Sarabat Stalls. I also loved those 15 cents triangular potato samosas! Damn what can you get with fifty-cents now!

no choice ..the cost of business went up ..thanks to PAP .

i used to feed my fighting fish with chilli seeds ...it is said that after the fish eat the chilli become very hot and fierce ..hahahaha in the end overdose of chilli seeds and die ...:mad:

Nowadays, the SPCA will get ya for putting those fish to fight. I don't know about the chilli seed though.

It just amuses me when I think back. People were so serious about their Bettas. Got 1st king, 2nd king and then their not-so-fierce others. You can bet from 50 cents and it goes to whatever one dare lays.

hahahaha first king !!! fighting spiders also got first king !!!:D

The smell is still there and it is a deterrence to a good outing. Clothes also stink. it is that bad.

worst then little india ...by the way , i find little india quite enjoyable . ;)

The smell is the Thai somtam and spice smell. You've lived in Thailand before you should know. It's more pronounced in Golden Mile because it's a smaller enclosure unlike in Thailand where these stuff are usually sold in open air markets or wet markets where the other raw smells are even stronger.

The beer promoters are all aunties. The younger and prettier girls were all looking for rich people. I neither fit or foot their bill. Though I must confess, there was a short affair that arised from there a few years ago. Didn't know why a young pretty girl like that liked me and tagged along with me all the way home without reference to money. Perhaps it was because I could speak Thai and tell stories about my adventures in Thailand, I don't know. It was an old long story. Reserve it for some other time.

The smell is the Thai somtam
HTML:
and spice smell. You've lived in Thailand before you should know
. It's more pronounced in Golden Mile because it's a smaller enclosure unlike in Thailand where these stuff are usually sold in open air markets or wet markets where the other raw smells are even stronger.

The beer promoters are all aunties. The younger and prettier girls were all looking for rich people. I neither fit or foot their bill. Though I must confess, there was a short affair that arised from there a few years ago. Didn't know why a young pretty girl like that liked me and tagged along with me all the way home without reference to money. Perhaps it was because I could speak Thai and tell stories about my adventures in Thailand, I don't know. It was an old long story. Reserve it for some other time.

fish sauce smell used in somtam ?
brother ram , i think most thais girl love farang .....any farang will do . that is their only chance to get a ticket out of their country . most of the thais lady working in bars over in thailand , have dozen of boyfriends to " support " them .

fish sauce smell used in somtam ?
brother ram , i think most thais girl love farang .....any farang will do . that is their only chance to get a ticket out of their country . most of the thais lady working in bars over in thailand , have dozen of boyfriends to " support " them .

Golden Mile is well stocked in fish sauce. From the Phuean Thai supermarket to the smaller grocery shops to the eateries. It's about the only place you can be sure to get it in Singapore.

I'm not Farang in Thai context. Farang actually means more than foreigner, it also means Caucasian. The term comes from Farangset (Francais or French). So other foreign Asians, not even Japanese, are Farang, but Chao Tang Prathet.

The smell is the Thai somtam and spice smell. You've lived in Thailand before you should know. It's more pronounced in Golden Mile because it's a smaller enclosure unlike in Thailand where these stuff are usually sold in open air markets or wet markets where the other raw smells are even stronger.

During the old kopitiam days, I was new to Thailand and Bangkok. So i ask around the forum and get to know people who actually lived in bangkok and thailand.

I even met one in Bangkok and have a chat with a samster. When i ask a question on me detect some strange strong smell which is associated with Thai and i ask him what the hell is that.

He gets offended and starts to lecture me if i cannot take it here i should go back to SIngapore. I was like what the Fuck??? I am asking a harmless question in order to know more about thailand and he gave me a fucking sinkie lecture.

IN the end, i found out that his education is not that high and is not used to getting involved with research related kind of discussion, i tell myself not to meet up with such sinkies any more. Bloody waste of my fucking time. That is the start of me trying to understand sinkie behavior.

So after a while, i realise that is actually fish sauce smell that is very prevalent in thailand . It is the same as Sinkies chinese using soy sauce in many of their meals.

Isn't that easy to just answer a question so that i do not have the impression and suspicion of sinkie behavior. But the truth can't be hidden, it will be revealed in the end. SInkie is sinkie.. what to do??

THe pungent smell is due to fish sauce which is the fish . that is meat that is rotting. Soy sauce do not have such smell and because it is plant based. I wonder how Thais can stomach it and say that it is aroi.