• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mustaffa is now larger

If I go to the US I'd have a long, long shopping list :smile: However In Spore only Robinsons sells such a high thread count.

What to do everyone in Spore must pay the PAP tax(hidden or otherwise). :(

roundtrip airfare alone will set you back. if you're into liquor, the best deals are at bevmo and costco.

Mustaffa is indeed well-known in India. Chances are Mustaffa is more known than Nathan, Tharman, Shanmugam put together. You ask an Indian national roaming the streets in Little India and they 100% of the time can direct you to Mustaffa.

You left out our dear LKY :smile: I doubt the indians have even seen LKY.

I wonder if Mustaffa plans to "balek kampong" to his home village(or fathers village) when he retires:confused: He could probably win a political seat like other indian movie stars or rich guy :smile:

Even in Spore he could probably qualify as an NMP if he was interested :rolleyes:

ivebert

If I go to the US I'd have a long, long shopping list :smile: However In Spore only Robinsons sells such a high thread count.

Johnnie bro

Obviously when things come from the west, it will be more expensive. How can you blame PAP for this? Stop blowing things out of proportion.

Since you live in SG, live an asian lifestyle and consume asian food/products. This will be lighter on your pockets.
Since you live on an island, use less electricity and sell your car because there are no cheap oil or natural resources to fund your expenditure. Why use Aircon? Use a fucking fan!

Don't live your fantasy Western lifestyle , rack up lots of expenses and then blame others for it ok???? You have to understand that a Sinkie will have to pay a premium for such enjoyment!

roundtrip airfare alone will set you back. if you're into liquor, the best deals are at bevmo and costco.

I'm a teetotaler, more likely to find me visiting the Factory Outlets, Frys,....,:smile:

Would be hesitant to visit even if I got a free ticket. Don't think I could put up with the long trip across the Pacific. Added to that the security hassles that goes on at the airports. :(

You left out our dear LKY :smile: I doubt the indians have even seen LKY.

I wonder if Mustaffa plans to "balek kampong" to his home village(or fathers village) when he retires:confused: He could probably win a political seat like other indian movie stars or rich guy :smile:

Even in Spore he could probably qualify as an NMP if he was interested :rolleyes:

The Indians know KY but not LKY. Coz the former is useful, serves its purpose while the latter is useless.

Johnnie bro

Obviously when things come from the west, it will be more expensive. How can you blame PAP for this? Stop blowing things out of proportion.

Since you live in SG, live an asian lifestyle and consume asian food/products. This will be lighter on your pockets.
Since you live on an island, use less electricity and sell your car because there are no cheap oil or natural resources to fund your expenditure. Why use Aircon? Use a fucking fan!

Don't live your fantasy Western lifestyle , rack up lots of expenses and then blame others for it ok???? You have to understand that a Sinkie will have to pay a premium for such enjoyment!

Americans are importing stuff from China. Whereas Spore is importing things AND cheap labour from China, India,..... So how do you explain why things are so expensive :confused:

Just look at our neighbours & how cheap things are. When you have the world's most highly paid politicians & the total monopoly held by the GLCs expect to be exploited :mad:

ivebert

Americans are importing stuff from China. Whereas Spore is importing things AND cheap labour from China, India,..... So how do you explain why things are so expensive :confused:

Just look at our neighbours & how cheap things are. When you have the world's most highly paid politicians & the total monopoly held by the GLCs expect to be exploited :mad:

Expensive then don't buy lah!!!

Fuck

Crabs are expensive in US and difficult to find fresh ones too. Do you think I eat it frequently???

Don't give the shit that things are expensive due to PAP. It is expensive due to the small market and that there is no AGRICULTURE industry. When you don't have sufficient land and the raw materials, the rent is high and the end product is expensive.

Be glad that you have a HDB already. Your parent's HDB Flat was bought at probably below $50k and how much is it worth now???? Do your fucking SEA neighbors enjoy this asset growth privilege???

Get real lah!

They opened a bank here in Cambodia and I think it is closed this year. Rumours has it it's used for laundering $$$.

I said rumours.

Spore is the money laundering centre of this region & it would be ironic if the rumours were true :smile:

garlic

Mustaffa is indeed well-known in India. Chances are Mustaffa is more known than Nathan, Tharman, Shanmugam put together. You ask an Indian national roaming the streets in Little India and they 100% of the time can direct you to Mustaffa.

You mention Nathan, Shanmugam or Tharman and these Indian nationals will think those names mentioned were illegal immigrants or overstayers you are looking for.

Mustaffa vs MIW? Mustaffa win by 1st round TKO.

lol.. that's ticklish :smile: good one!

garlic

It is time you try www.amazon.com Ever since 4 years ago, i've been getting stuffs regularly flown in from there. Take a look at this and it's price. I window shop in SG look for what i want, and get something better off amazon and at lower prices. Learn to consolidate all purchases at one shot to do delivery. Levi's jeans cost 1/4 of the price here etc... Ipod touch costs 15-20% lower.

http://www.amazon.com/Thread-Count-...8&s=home-garden&qid=1293698744&sr=8-1-catcorr

hairylee

Fuck

Crabs are expensive in US and difficult to find fresh ones too. Do you think I eat it frequently???

Don't give the shit that things are expensive due to PAP. It is expensive due to the small market and that there is no AGRICULTURE industry. When you don't have sufficient land and the raw materials, the rent is high and the end product is expensive.

Be glad that you have a HDB already. Your parent's HDB Flat was bought at probably below $50k and how much is it worth now???? Do your fucking SEA neighbors enjoy this asset growth privilege???

Get real lah!

What a load of crap!!!!

US is too big to say categorically. There're many places where fresh crabs and lobsters are aplenty, e.g. California, Florida etc. coastal states. But of course, there're many inland landlocked states too. At San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf where the crab image (icon) is actually used as road signage, it's as fresh as you get can anywhere else in the world, not really cheap but not expensive at all given the US consumer price levels. Nevada is an inland landlocked state, but the casino restaurants there served very good and inexpensive seafoods including crabs and lobsters.

As a consumer I will buy where it's cheaper; JB, LOS & Mustaffa. Same thing with shopping via the internet

Alot of discussions already on why there are high costs in Spore. In countries like Canada high taxes is used to fund social programs, safety net, etc , but in Spore it just goes to higher pay/bonuses for MPs & the black hole of Temasek :rolleyes:

ivebert

US is too big to say categorically. There're many places where fresh crabs and lobsters are aplenty, e.g. California, Florida etc. coastal states. But of course, there're many inland landlocked states too. At San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf where the crab image (icon) is actually used as road signage, it's as fresh as you get can anywhere else in the world, not really cheap but not expensive at all given the US consumer price levels. Nevada is an inland landlocked state, but the casino restaurants there served very good and inexpensive seafoods including crabs and lobsters.

That's why I said, it really depends on where you live.

If you live in Singapore, don't expect to live a material life cheaply because the country doesn't produce anything or have any natural resources.

Crabs are not cheap for places without a substantial fishing industry. But you can walk into Target and get snow crabs for $15 or alaskan crabs for $20 but they are not fresh ones. I personally prefer Sri Lankan crabs.

It is time you try www.amazon.com Ever since 4 years ago, i've been getting stuffs regularly flown in from there. Take a look at this and it's price. I window shop in SG look for what i want, and get something better off amazon and at lower prices. Learn to consolidate all purchases at one shot to do delivery. Levi's jeans cost 1/4 of the price here etc... Ipod touch costs 15-20% lower.

http://www.amazon.com/Thread-Count-...8&s=home-garden&qid=1293698744&sr=8-1-catcorr

I've ordered books from Amazon but unfortunately they don't allow sales of certain items outside of the US e.g. computers. Even some clothing brands like Royal Robins cannot be shipped overseas.

You have to use some service which provides a local US address, then forwards the items to a Spore address. I'm tempted to do this as I want to get some 'forbidden' items :smile:

ivebert

As a consumer I will buy where it's cheaper; JB, LOS & Mustaffa. Same thing with shopping via the internet

Alot of discussions already on why there are high costs in Spore. In countries like Canada high taxes is used to fund social programs, safety net, etc , but in Spore it just goes to higher pay/bonuses for MPs & the black hole of Temasek :rolleyes:

I think you are missing the point.

The money is going back to the pockets of the elites, not MPs/Ministers/PAP. Do a simple calculation and you will see their total salary don't go over $100 million. That's not even 10% of NUS's expenditure per year. PAP top dogs get so much money to take the heat from the public off the elites and you are being very naive to fall for that trap.

Singapore is an elitist society and if you want to change that, you cannot just talk and do nothing. The people got to make contributions and gain achievements themselves and not rely on PAP. If you open a computer shop like GMS, what does Singapore gain from it? You are just making money off your people.

It is sad that none of the SG companies survive because of the small market size and the distance from US/Europe. If Singapore have top companies like Microsoft/Apple and a sizeable private industry, do you think PAP have so much power and say?

At least I think Sinkie low/middle class have a HDB flat and they seldom seize it back if you lose your job or have some reasons for not being able to pay up. In US, once you miss a couple of payments and lose your job, you can kiss goodbye to your house.

Stop comparing to other countries. Canada not only have high taxes but vast amount of natural resources. They can afford to do that. Singapore is very cheap to live in if you forsake your material desires but apparently Chinese people like to have "face" and waste all their money on $100K 1.6L cars, tonnes of electronics at home and a maid.

Crabs are not cheap for places without a substantial fishing industry. But you can walk into Target and get snow crabs for $15 or alaskan crabs for $20 but they are not fresh ones. I personally prefer Sri Lankan crabs.

In Singapore and Malaysia, seafood restaurants are aplenty too. Sure fresh since you can choose them live from their tanks. Prices, well, depends on the restaurants and how you want them done. I bought quite a big Sri Lankan crab from Sheng Siong recently. S$9-something. Not bad, but have to steam it myself. I think it'd cost S$20 to 30 in a restaurant.

ivebert

In Singapore and Malaysia, seafood restaurants are aplenty too. Sure fresh since you can choose them live from their tanks. Prices, well, depends on the restaurants and how you want them done. I bought quite a big Sri Lankan crab from Sheng Siong recently. S$9-something. Not bad, but have to steam it myself. I think it'd cost S$20 to 30 in a restaurant.

You can only get them from shady Asian markets in US and usually they go up to $30 per kg. And I also skip a lot of tropical fruits such as mangos and durians. I never moan about that either. I also enjoyed the public transportation in SG a lot especially cheap taxis. Nothing beats another person chauffering you around. You don't have that in US.

All of you guys are well-traveled and been to all the 1st world nations. I wonder why everyone expects SG to offer the same welfare/quality of life to Singaporeans? Is it because Temasek makes billions every year?

Please note that they make their billions based on tax returns which are usually from companies and richer singaporeans since low income Singaporeans pay very little or no taxes. Because you don't contribute taxes, investment units definitely have no duty to return the earnings to you! It is sad but this is definitely a capitalistic and western way of doing things. One example is that Temasek use their earnings to give tax rebates to western companies who will then hire locals (hopefully). This is something you cannot see directly but please think about it.

Welfare in the west comes from natural resources and technology booms. You don't have that at all in Sg! That's why life is tougher but doesn't mean it will not be happy.

garlic

That's why I said, it really depends on where you live.

If you live in Singapore, don't expect to live a material life cheaply because the country doesn't produce anything or have any natural resources.

That's true....