• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Noodle Thread

which stall sel all 3 styles so dat pick ur own choice u can? ... :confused:

wahlaneh...
so far havent seen any such stall leh.
but hor at my downstairs coffeeshop u can tell the hawker wat flavour or style u prefer lor: tomato ketchup or black soya sauce or plenty light soya sauce or oyster sauce or even soup.:D

Kitsune is good, the Japanese-style "fox" fried bean curd. Another Japanese-style goodie is their fish cake, white with pink trimming, forgotten what it's called, usually served with soup udon. Anyway, making noodle all the way from flour and dough is out of the question in most Singapore homes. I don't think all-purpose flour is good for tempura, it'd come out brownish-gold ebi-age instead of tempura. Got to use the Japanese tempura flour to get that distinctive soft yet crisp light yellow crust.

Indian lawyers honoring commitments would be a novelty, for they'd commit to nothing. They do what they can, and the clients should count themselves lucky.

Wow, you hitting at Shanmugam and the many Indian SCs in S'pore.

you may want to try one stall inside coffee shop across carpark driveway down the steps behind NTUC Clementi, stall named Thaksin something ( must be Thaksin follower ) claim to be Thai style braised beef noodle run by few malay women, the soup stock is rich and the woman charges 50 cents for xtra bowl of soup

Thanks, bro. Now I remember. THis must be the stall from Terminal 2 Changi Airport (foodcourt/canteen). I used to have it daily.

... but hor at my downstairs coffeeshop u can tell the hawker wat flavour or style u prefer lor: tomato ketchup or black soya sauce or plenty light soya sauce or oyster sauce or even soup.:D
where's ur downstairs kopitiam? ... :confused:

This is my favourite noodle since my Jap ex-GF taught me how to eat it on an SQ flight from Narita to LA. Yes, my first taste of soba was part of an airline food tray. At first I looked at it curiously, then broke the chopsticks and tasted a few strands. Cold, wheaty and bland. :( She laughed, and taught me that its supposed to be dipped in the soy sauce with wasabi. After that, it became my favourite noodle ever since. :)

It's quite an expensive dish to eat out. About US$5 for plain soba with a sprinkling of nori, US$10 for a set with tempura, known as tenzaru. The tempura is hard to duplicate at home unless you have deep frying facility and don't mind the oily smog and stain from deep frying. But the cold soba can be made easily at home from supermarket supplies. Buy the raw soba stick pack (like spaghetti packs), shredded nori pack and bottled soba soy sauce and wasabi tube. Don't use common Chinese soy sauce for that.

For best effect if you're aficionado, buy a zaru too. It's the bamboo mat that can be used for serving ice-drained soba and rolling sushi.
Thanks for the tips.
Cold soba is one of my favourite noodle dishes. Can even do without the tempura or any side dish, just the noodles, the dipping sauce, spring onions and wasabi are sufficient. :)

Funnily enough, hot soba or udon have never been my cup of tea.

Another delicious cold noodle dish that I have eaten in China is their "Liang Mian".
It's dry cold noodle, with chilli oil, spring onion, chilli flakes and peanuts, sometimes with an optional sprinkling of sugar on top. Most commonly found in szechuan restaurants.
The prc migrants have tried to replicate this in SG, but those that I've tried are very oily and not tasty at all.

wahlaneh...
wanton mee in black soya sauce is malaysian style.
wanton mee in tomato ketchup is singaporean style.
wanton mee in plenty light soya sauce is hongkong style.
u can pick ur own choice of style.:D
For wanton mee, still prefer the SG version. Perhaps not totally using tomato ketchup, but also with some chilli to mix the noodles.
Have not really caught on to the Malaysian and HK style. When in HK, prefer to eat their soup wanton noodles, the noodles and wanton are usually top class if you go to the right places. :)

Thanks for the tips.
Cold soba is one of my favourite noodle dishes. Can even do without the tempura or any side dish, just the noodles, the dipping sauce, spring onions and wasabi are sufficient. :)

Another delicious cold noodle dish that I have eaten in China is their "Liang Mian".
It's dry cold noodle, with chilli oil, spring onion, chilli flakes and peanuts, sometimes with an optional sprinkling of sugar on top. Most comonly found in szechuan restaurants.
The prc migrants have tried to replicate this in SG, but those that I've tried are very oily and not tasty at all.

if you like cold noodles you should try korean spicy cold noodles ....very tasty ...:)

For wanton mee, still prefer the SG version. Perhaps not totally using tomato ketchup, but also with some chilli to mix the noodles.
Have not really caught on to the Malaysian and HK style. When in HK, prefer to eat their soup wanton noodles, the noodles and wanton are usually top class if you go to the right places. :)

wahlaneh...
i was in hk for holz the wanton there sibeh tokkong sibeh tualiap orh!:eek:
but the noodle very little n very very sibeh salty!:eek:
maybe i got hypertension from there?:confused:

if you like cold noodles you should try korean spicy cold noodles ....very tasty ...:)
Hahaha bro, agree 100%. :p

This is also one of my favourite dishes. It's absolutely delicious. Cold dry noodles with the korean pepper sauce, with vegetables like cucumber, carrots, cabbage. Some places will give a cursory piece of meat, but like the cold soba, this is optional to me.

In Korea, this dish can be found in almost every foodcourt, but in SG, not so easy to find, unlike Bi-bim-bap. Most Korean restaurants have the cold soup noodles in their menu, which is not so tasty. Scotts Picnic foodcourt used to have a stall, but now no more. :(

The korean stall in Takashimaya foodcourt has this dish, but it's quite expensive. Also found in some Korean restaurants.

Thanks for the tips.

Nice to have a fellow soba connoiseur. Just to add, not all supermarkets have it. As of now, I only know Isetan Lido, Cold Storage Takashimaya, Meidiya Liang Court and NTUC FairPrice Junction 8.

It's dry cold noodle, with chilli oil, spring onion, chilli flakes and peanuts, sometimes with an optional sprinkling of sugar on top. Most commonly found in szechuan restaurants.

There's a Japanese version for that too, called reimen, 冷麺。Basically cold ramen served with all the veggie toppings dressed with soy sauce instead of using soy sauce as dip. Not bad too, but I still prefer the buckwheat taste of soba with that soba-formula soy sauce dip.

Hahaha bro, agree 100%. :p

This is also one of my favourite dishes. It's absolutely delicious. Cold dry noodles with the korean pepper sauce, with vegetables like cucumber, carrots, cabbage. Some places will give a cursory piece of meat, but like the cold soba, this is optional to me.

In Korea, this dish can be found in almost every foodcourt, but in SG, not so easy to find, unlike Bi-bim-bap. Most Korean restaurants have the cold soup noodles in their menu, which is not so tasty. Scotts Picnic foodcourt used to have a stall, but now no more. :(

The korean stall in Takashimaya foodcourt has this dish, but it's quite expensive. Also found in some Korean restaurants.

oh ..yes bro , the korean stall in scotts picnic foodcourt is run and cook by a korean chef ( the boss daughter very chio ;) ) ....their food is cheap and good . i also miss that stall too .

the korean stall in scotts picnic foodcourt is run and cook by a korean chef ( the boss daughter very chio ;) ) ....their food is cheap and good . i also miss that stall too .

You miss the stall or miss the girl. :D

Anyway, be careful of Korean girls, there's a 5/5 chance that you'd get a plastic doll. :eek:

Nice to have a fellow soba connoiseur. Just to add, not all supermarkets have it. As of now, I only know Isetan Lido, Cold Storage Takashimaya, Meidiya Liang Court and NTUC FairPrice Junction 8.

There's a Japanese version for that too, called reimen, 冷麺。Basically cold ramen served with all the veggie toppings dressed with soy sauce instead of using soy sauce as dip. Not bad too, but I still prefer the buckwheat taste of soba with that soba-formula soy sauce dip.

after cooking the soba in hot water ...dont throw away the water ( all the good stuff is inside the water ) ...you can use it to make soba tea ..;)

japanese traditional style ,after eating the soba the japanese will drink the soba tea . the water is very precious ..its called sobayu . ( very Nutrition )

You miss the stall or miss the girl. :D

Anyway, be careful of Korean girls, there's a 5/5 chance that you'd get a plastic doll. :eek:

i miss both ....:D

but her father looks like yakuza ...everytime i try to talk to her daughter ..he will stare at me ...:(

i miss both ....:D

but her father looks like yakuza ...everytime i try to talk to her daughter ..he will stare at me ...:(

The way you stared at his daughter with eyes bulging and saliva drooling, you were lucky he didn't use you for 小李飞刀 target practice. :eek: :D

Thanks Guys

I just learnt how to make dashi soup stock from kelp and wakame (seaweed), from which I could add in miso paste to make a good miso soup.

One thing I am looking for is how to make good bak chor mee sauce that I could just mix in the cooked noodles for a nice bowl of my fav BCM.

If you really want a good soup stock, there's nothing like doing it yourself.

Bones, lots of it, all kinds, you can use pork, beef, chicken or all three. Boil it to death, with a small handful of dried scallops, until is stock is milky. Sieve the stock to rid it of scam if you like, it's just cosmetic, I don't. The stock will be so tasty you won't even need salt.

Add meat, seafood and veggie, any kind you like. Some pepper adds a kick to it, and coriander will do nicely.

You are welcome.

The way you stared at his daughter with eyes bulging and saliva drooling, you were lucky he didn't use you for 小李飞刀 target practice. :eek: :D

its not the way i stare at her daughter ...its because her daughter dont want to serve other customers when the stall is crowded and she prefers to talk to me ...:D

I tried all this and it never comes out well.
NoMsgStock1.jpg