New PC Tablet models emerge.....

GoFlyKiteNow

The war of the PC tablets

Sep 28, 2010
No longer can the iPad rest easy as numero uno in the tablet market. With a slew of launches from the competition, the tablet war is truly on. From the Samsung Galaxy to the Dell Streak, here is a look at some of the products on offer.

libretto_259780g.jpg

The Toshiba Libretto W100 stands out for its funky design, seen in the one of a kind dual 7-inch touchscreen. The concept device clearly clicked with the customers, as the W100 sold out just two days after its release in August (A significant achievement despite the fact that Toshiba made the W100 available on a limited basis, given the high price of USD 1100).

28THAAN_WEPAD_259726g.jpg

The WeTab (originally named WePad) by German maker Neofonie was unveiled almost unapologetically as direct competition to the iPad, with the company promising advanced technology. Reports suggest it is due for a soft launch in late September.

28THAAN_STREAK_259727g.jpg

The Dell Streak - launched in August - tries to bridge the gap between a smartphone and a larger tablet. Lionel Menchaca, Chief Blogger at Dell, had this to say about the Streak - "I've been at Dell for 16 years, and I don't think there's ever been more buzz around a single Dell product than this."

28THAAN_PLAYBOOK_259728g.jpg

The latest entry to the tablet war, the Playbook by Blackberry promises to cause a stir in the market when it is launched in early 2011. Mike Lazaridis, RIM Co-Chief Executive calls it a “professional tablet", and expectations are high. Photo: AP

kindle_3_259752g.jpg

The Kindle 3, developed by Amazon.com, is primarily an e-book reader with limited browsing features compared to the other tablets on offer. To keep the product current, the company announced (on Sep 28) the launch of 'Kindle for the Web', which promises to make e-reading a whole lot easier. Photo: AP

lifebook_259781g.jpg

The Fujitsu Lifebook T900 belongs to the elite - a quality which comes with the hefty price tag of USD 1,989. If you can afford it, the feature rich T900 is the way to go. Photo: Special Arrangement

28THAAN_GALAXY_259733g.jpg

Due to hit the stores October 3, the Samsung Galaxy promises an easy-to-use internet interface, coupled with high definition video playback capability. Photo: AP

Asus got sumting up their sleeve too...dis ish getting bery interesting...:D:D

78112.jpg

ASUS appears to be planning to launch another device in its Eee Pad series. The ASUS Eee PC EP90 is an 8.9″ tablet running on a dual core 1GHz CPU and a NVidia Tegra GPU.

* Dual-core 1GHz CPU
* NVidia Tegra GPU
* 8.9″ display
* 1024 x 600 resolution
* 650g or 1.4 lbs
* Dual-core 1GHz Tegra processor
* 16GB and 32GB models
* USB port
* HDMI output
* Headphone jack output
* SD/SDHC card slot
* 3G / Bluetooth 2.1 EDR
* GPS
* 0.3 megapixel front facing camera
* 4-6 hour battery life
* Release date: Q2 2011 (not confirmed)

http://www.asustablet.com/

Asus got sumting up their sleeve too...dis ish getting bery interesting...:D:D

78112.jpg

ASUS appears to be planning to launch another device in its Eee Pad series. The ASUS Eee PC EP90 is an 8.9″ tablet running on a dual core 1GHz CPU and a NVidia Tegra GPU.

* Dual-core 1GHz CPU
* NVidia Tegra GPU
* 8.9″ display
* 1024 x 600 resolution
* 650g or 1.4 lbs
* Dual-core 1GHz Tegra processor
* 16GB and 32GB models
* USB port
* HDMI output
* Headphone jack output
* SD/SDHC card slot
* 3G / Bluetooth 2.1 EDR
* GPS
* 0.3 megapixel front facing camera
* 4-6 hour battery life
* Release date: Q2 2011 (not confirmed)

http://www.asustablet.com/

Have wifi would be perfect. But if launched late into next year, maybe might have better models

The war of the PC tablets

Sep 28, 2010
No longer can the iPad rest easy as numero uno in the tablet market. With a slew of launches from the competition, the tablet war is truly on. From the Samsung Galaxy to the Dell Streak, here is a look at some of the products on offer.
The 1st sentence already makes me laugh :D:D:D:D:D
Apple lead, the rest follows, this has been a trend since iPod years :p:p

Galaxy Tab starts selling in the US @ $599 without contract.
Android outsell iPhone worldwide

Galaxy Tab starts selling in the US @ $599 without contract.
Android outsell iPhone worldwide
Of cox outsell iPhone lah, go count how many phone models operates on Android against an iPhone. Not a fair comparison leh :p:p

Its like comparing different brands of PCs with iMac, u sure or not?

Of cox outsell iPhone lah, go count how many phone models operates on Android against an iPhone. Not a fair comparison leh :p:p

Its like comparing different brands of PCs with iMac, u sure or not?

Symbian OS by Nokia is still the leader by a large margin. Not Android or Apple

Not for long, Nokia losing money through the years, their phone better change to Android OS or they will be left behind forever.

Android and Apple will be the last 2 standing, MP7 can also throw away liao.

Don't throw Windows Phone 7 away so fast, there are many developers on WinMo 6.5 and they might be a force to reckon with if they convert all their apps to WP 7.
Previously, they do not have a centralised market place and had an outdated UI. Things might work out if they integrate all their services correctly.

The advantage of Android and WP7 is they store data on the cloud for free while Apple require consumers to pay for a yearly subscription through MobileMe. And Google is integrating more and more of their services into Android. Even its Ad revenue on the mobile platform overtake Apple's now

Have wifi would be perfect. But if launched late into next year, maybe might have better models

De spec not too bad...i laugh 3 days non stop if Asus exclude a wifi function in dis tablet...de most dumb fuck thing dey can ever do...:D:D:D

De world 1st tablet certainly not frm Apple...Paceblade and Frontpath Progear are 1 of the bery pioneer of tablet pc...unfortunately...dey neber realli took off during it's time...more then 10 yrs ago...

Apple every time copy and says they invent it through lies and clever marketing. E.g., copy creative mp3 interface, face time, mouse, OS X explorer etc etc...
Everyone copies each other lah, you just have to make it simplier and easy to use. If not, PC will still in DOS mode, LOL. :p:p

I am luckier than you. :D:D:D

2007111420334245868.jpg

thats is funny ...if i never up another brother point today i sure up yours ...thanks for making me laugh . we need more people like you in this forum ...cheers .

It's right everyone copy each other but only Appleton keeps claiming everyone is copying them and all their inventions are uunique.

LOL, i never say hor :p:p:p
I'm just stating the facts, as a consumer POV. Anti-Appletons also thrash Apple products without even trying their products mah. I've used both and I do find Apple are easier to use, I'm not a complicated person, if dun have, improvise lor.

I used Macs, iPhone and iPods as well as Windows, Windows Mobile 6.5, Symbian and Android. All are simple to use enough as long as users are comfortable. But Apple had the tendency to mislead consumers historically. Steve bullshit grew as he grows older. Maybe the drugs he takes for treatment makes him high.

LOL, maybe, but you have to admit, Apple is good :p:p