• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

3rd World Fishing Village 1957

If you want to depict Singapore as a 3rd world fishing village, this clip is probably a better reflection and it isn't a damn 15 min commercial for ang mohs

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/t-nDbX5j9lQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/t-nDbX5j9lQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Oh you can see the old man putting one of his sons on his shoulder, not sure which one though

Fortunately, a great mentor transformed it to 1st world after 1959.

What a load of crap. Place LKY in Batam instead of S'pore &mdash; also a fishing village but with an indigenous population that prefers napping under coconut trees to working in harbors; as opposed to a population of industrious hardworking migrants from southern China and India &mdash; you think Batam would be anywhere near a first world country today?

S'poreans transformed S'pore into a first world country. It doesn't have fuck to do with LKY. Only retards will swallow PAP's propaganda as gospel truths.

what a load of crap. Place lky in batam instead of s'pore &mdash; also a fishing village but with an indigenous population that prefers napping under coconut trees to working in harbors; as opposed to a population of industrious hardworking migrants from southern china and india &mdash; you think batam would be anywhere near a first world country today?

S'poreans transformed s'pore into a first world country. It doesn't have fuck to do with lky. Only retards will swallow pap's propaganda as gospel truths.

well said!!!

Good stuff except he year is wrong. It should be 1967. There are roads and buildings which were only built by the PAP after they came to power in 1959.

What a load of crap. Place LKY in Batam instead of S'pore &mdash; also a fishing village but with an indigenous population that prefers napping under coconut trees to working in harbors; as opposed to a population of industrious hardworking migrants from southern China and India &mdash; you think Batam would be anywhere near a first world country today?

S'poreans transformed S'pore into a first world country. It doesn't have fuck to do with LKY. Only retards will swallow PAP's propaganda as gospel truths.

Agree. But on a side note, Ramseth is just being sarcastic here.

Good stuff except he year is wrong. It should be 1967. There are roads and buildings which were only built by the PAP after they came to power in 1959.

Are you sure it was 1967, not 1957? I got the link to the clip from no less than TKL, who's certainly alive during those years. I wasn't born yet but I understand that places like Fullerton GPO (now hotel), old Raffles Institution and Raffles Hotel, old Victoria School and Victoria Memorial Hall etc. and roads around were built even before WW1 and certainly there whether in 1957 or 1967.

No lah bro, you sadly mistaken. Give credit where it is due. The British exploited this island to the hilt. Though it was called roads, it was actually laterite tracks. Black and white can't tell the difference.

The buildings are certainly not Singapore. It looks to me like Melbourne.

My father told me that it was the PAP that initiated the Gotong Royong programme and many PAP members help pour the bitumen for the first road.

Notice that names that you have given - Raffles, Victoria , Fullerton etc are ang mo names. Not in Singapore.

You are dreaming if you say WW1. My grandfather was well known water-colour artist and he used to paint contemporary scenes before he enlisted in the French Foreign Legion. You might have heard of him - Bulat KS Tan of Siglap. Some of his paintings are in my home and they are contemporary scenes. All I see are gambier plantations, rubber estates and a lot of fishing villages.

Are you sure it was 1967, not 1957? I got the link to the clip from no less than TKL, who's certainly alive during those years. I wasn't born yet but I understand that places like Fullerton GPO (now hotel), old Raffles Institution and Raffles Hotel, old Victoria School and Victoria Memorial Hall etc. and roads around were built even before WW1 and certainly there whether in 1957 or 1967.

No lah bro, you sadly mistaken. Give credit where it is due. The British exploited this island to the hilt. Though it was called roads, it was actually laterite tracks. Black and white can't tell the difference.

The buildings are certainly not Singapore. It looks to me like Melbourne.

My father told me that it was the PAP that initiated the Gotong Royong programme and many PAP members help pour the bitumen for the first road.

Notice that names that you have given - Raffles, Victoria , Fullerton etc are ang mo names. Not in Singapore.

You are dreaming if you say WW1. My grandfather was well known water-colour artist and he used to paint contemporary scenes before he enlisted in the French Foreign Legion. You might have heard of him - Bulat KS Tan of Siglap. Some of his paintings are in my home and they are contemporary scenes. All I see are gambier plantations, rubber estates and a lot of fishing villages.

What the crap?! We've been fooled by the Brits and Aussies all these while. They invented Photoshop before WW2 and kept it secret until Adobe exposed them and pirates copied them.

By the way, what the hell was your dad doing in the French Foreign Legion? Was he Vietnamese? Singaporeans should enlist in the British Commonwealth troops. Your dad lost his birth cert, marbles or rockers? :D

Embedded version of the clip dated 1957. Has some nice arieal views of Sg. Also, Singapore was one of those rare fishing villages in 1957 with an airport.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/nw7toyYrqjs?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/nw7toyYrqjs?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

This video should be put up at the rallies that Sg was already very established before PAP was found.

In the good old days, rubber, tin and timber were exported from malaya through singapore.
That is why the rail from malaya ends in tanjung pagar, right next to the port.
All flights to UK/australia were from seletar airport. So tengku abdul rahman had to travel to singapore to meet the british to discuss about independence for malaya.
hence the airline that served malaya/singapore was MSA, malaya singapore airlines, based in singapore for all international flights, with domestic flights to KL, ipoh, penang etc.
Dr mahathir, and many others, had their higher education in singapore, as it was where university of malaya first started. It was only later that the second autonomous centre was set up in kuala lumpur.

In fact, singapore was the financial, shipping, airport, educational, film studio and trading centre for malaya. Even P Ramlee had to be in singapore to create his movie, even though he was from penang.

Only after seperation did malaya (malaysia) started to build its own airports, ports, airlines etc.

S'pore was clearly a fishing village. I could see in the video people fishing other people for fun. :eek:

S'pore was not any ordinary colony then, it was a British Crown Colony, dun play play!

If you want to depict Singapore as a 3rd world fishing village, this clip is probably a better reflection and it isn't a damn 15 min commercial for ang mohs

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/t-nDbX5j9lQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/t-nDbX5j9lQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Oh you can see the old man putting one of his sons on his shoulder, not sure which one though

This video should be put up at the rallies that Sg was already very established before PAP was found.

voters want to see hope for the future, no point harping on something that happened 50 years ago.

we might as well demand LKY to show proof that he was not a Japanese traitor during WW2 otherwise he was and he should withdraw from elections. :D

In the good old days, rubber, tin and timber were exported from malaya through singapore.
That is why the rail from malaya ends in tanjung pagar, right next to the port.
All flights to UK/australia were from seletar airport. So tengku abdul rahman had to travel to singapore to meet the british to discuss about independence for malaya.
hence the airline that served malaya/singapore was MSA, malaya singapore airlines, based in singapore for all international flights, with domestic flights to KL, ipoh, penang etc.
Dr mahathir, and many others, had their higher education in singapore, as it was where university of malaya first started. It was only later that the second autonomous centre was set up in kuala lumpur.

In fact, singapore was the financial, shipping, airport, educational, film studio and trading centre for malaya. Even P Ramlee had to be in singapore to create his movie, even though he was from penang.

Only after seperation did malaya (malaysia) started to build its own airports, ports, airlines etc.

Are you alright or not? Do you need some medication, see the doctor? The Brits looted Singapore of all natural resources like rubber and tin, and fled when the Japs came. The Japs were very pissed and left empty-handed. Then, the Brits came back to this fishing village. The great mentor who saved many Singaporeans from being slaughtered by the Japs said enough is enough, and kicked the Brits out of Singapore again, for good.

My grandmother used to tell me before the PAP, most of Singapore lived by mangrove swamps infested with mosquitoes, and secret societies dominated all aspects of life including government. Only after the PAP was their proper infrastructure, a proper Constitution and Rule of Law.

Even my former mentor, who is in his late 40s can remember a time when life wasn't as modern or comfortable as we know it today and that we really have taken a lot of what we have for granted and not knowing where and how it came from.

I cannot deny that LKY and his PAP old guard did a wonderful job of transforming this backward kampung dotted island into something that we have today. Credit should be given where and when its due. That however was a very different era and a very different Singapore with very different problems.

We might not have the problems of building a modern nation from ground up but we did inherit the problems of sustaining a modern nation. Nothing lasts forever, even a one party nation, even Robert Mugabe had to concede some form of power (albeit flawed and insufficient) to his opponents in order to govern his already dysfunctional country.

That said, i still doubt the abilities of the opposition to take Singapore further and higher but i support a credible and strong opposition voice in parliament and not the likes of CSJ or GMS who only talk the talk but clueless on how to walk the walk!!!

Even my former mentor, who is in his late 40s can remember a time when life wasn't as modern or comfortable as we know it today and that we really have taken a lot of what we have for granted and not knowing where and how it came from.

Bro, you win!!