• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

3rd World Fishing Village 1957

Before the PAP, Singapore was a mosquito-infested swamp land with no infrastructure and little rule of law, and dismissed by the international community as a backward region with no potential for commerce.

After the PAP, Singapore became a thriving city with vast international commerce, modern roads and buildings and proper sanitation, and rapidly became even wealthier than all its neighbours.

That's why the PAP, the Govt, and Singapore are all one and the same entity.

No lah bro, you sadly mistaken. Give credit where it is due. The British exploited this island to the hilt. Though it was called roads, it was actually laterite tracks. Black and white can't tell the difference.

The buildings are certainly not Singapore. It looks to me like Melbourne.

My father told me that it was the PAP that initiated the Gotong Royong programme and many PAP members help pour the bitumen for the first road.

Notice that names that you have given - Raffles, Victoria , Fullerton etc are ang mo names. Not in Singapore.

You are dreaming if you say WW1. My grandfather was well known water-colour artist and he used to paint contemporary scenes before he enlisted in the French Foreign Legion. You might have heard of him - Bulat KS Tan of Siglap. Some of his paintings are in my home and they are contemporary scenes. All I see are gambier plantations, rubber estates and a lot of fishing villages.

respect, your ah gong from French Foreign Legion!

Before the PAP, Singapore was a mosquito-infested swamp land with no infrastructure and little rule of law, and dismissed by the international community as a backward region with no potential for commerce.

After the PAP, Singapore became a thriving city with vast international commerce, modern roads and buildings and proper sanitation, and rapidly became even wealthier than all its neighbours.

That's why the PAP, the Govt, and Singapore are all one and the same entity.
In 1959, when the PAP first took power in Singapore, Singapore’s GDP per capita (US$2186) in constant 1990 USD (hence adjusted for inflation and PPP) was second only to Hong Kong’s (US$3027) and Japan (US$3554) in East Asia. In this respect, Singapore was already ahead of all the countries in East Asia including China and Taiwan, and South Korea. This did not change when Singapore split from Malaysia in 1965, GDP per capita at US$2667 was highest in the region excluding Hong Kong (US$4825) and Japan (US$5934). These figures are a far cry from the nominal US$500 GDP per capita in 1959 often cited by PAP supporters which ignores both PPP and inflation adjustment. Fast forward to 2008, Singapore’s GDP per capita has overtaken Japan (which was mired for a decade and has yet to recover) but still trails Hong Kong

furrybrowndog.wordpress.com

Wait a minute! Is GDP the best gauge on how competent a govt is and how well the general populace is doing? :rolleyes:

In 1959, when the PAP first took power in Singapore, Singapore’s GDP per capita (US$2186) in constant 1990 USD (hence adjusted for inflation and PPP) was second only to Hong Kong’s (US$3027) and Japan (US$3554) in East Asia. In this respect, Singapore was already ahead of all the countries in East Asia including China and Taiwan, and South Korea. This did not change when Singapore split from Malaysia in 1965, GDP per capita at US$2667 was highest in the region excluding Hong Kong (US$4825) and Japan (US$5934). These figures are a far cry from the nominal US$500 GDP per capita in 1959 often cited by PAP supporters which ignores both PPP and inflation adjustment. Fast forward to 2008, Singapore’s GDP per capita has overtaken Japan (which was mired for a decade and has yet to recover) but still trails Hong Kong

Never let numbers stand in the way of a good story :D:D

Wait a minute! Is GDP the best gauge on how competent a govt is and how well the general populace is doing? :rolleyes:

Well, the Chinese gahmen sure know how to build a lot of houses to inflate their GDP. Whether it benefits the populace or not is irrelevant as long as they can flaunt their GDP to the rest of the world. GDP only tells half the story of a country's economic health.