• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Happened To The Concorde?

The air forces zoom F15s, F16s, F18s, F22s around, no noise is it? Even the blardy C130 is blardy noisy. The Concorde is the most beautiful and coolest plane I've ever seen. My regret is never having a chance to go on board a flight in it.

U don't want to fly in one. I have been inside the plane, not flown in it. I didn't like it at all. Its very cramped compared to modern wide bodies jetliners. The only place u can stand upright in the whole plane is in the single aisle. New planes allow u to at least stand upright even in the middle seat. there is no AVOD, and no ability to make AVOD available. I do not think its a beautiful plane at all, the main undercarriage design and the placement of the RR Olympus is a turn off to me.

By the way, its a little known fact that in the eighties, the fastest plane in the sky belows to SIA, not the RSAf. The RSAF was flying F-5Es as the fastest plane they had, and that was a top speed of Mach 1.8 or 1.6, I can't remember. In a race, the Concorde would leave them standing. Pretty pathetic.

There's also a change in business travel market. Tele/video-conferencing has reduced the demand. Increased frequency/passenger load of commercial planes also plays a part.

Eg, you can fly from SG to London in 13 hrs for $2k. Would you like to get there in half the time for $10k? Unlikely choice for most passengers.

yup it seems like you're paying more to spend even less time in the plane which should be the way but then you know doesn't really compute.

Besides 13hrs and half of 13 hrs isn't really that big a diff.

U don't want to fly in one. I have been inside the plane, not flown in it. I didn't like it at all. Its very cramped compared to modern wide bodies jetliners. The only place u can stand upright in the whole plane is in the single aisle. New planes allow u to at least stand upright even in the middle seat. there is no AVOD, and no ability to make AVOD available. I do not think its a beautiful plane at all, the main undercarriage design and the placement of the RR Olympus is a turn off to me.

By the way, its a little known fact that in the eighties, the fastest plane in the sky belows to SIA, not the RSAf. The RSAF was flying F-5Es as the fastest plane they had, and that was a top speed of Mach 1.8 or 1.6, I can't remember. In a race, the Concorde would leave them standing. Pretty pathetic.

Could you explain some of this airplane jargon to me like what does AVOD stand for?

Well true the concorde might be cramped but hell it was fast. Anyway if the concorde is still in service today who knows they might have changed the inside of the plane to make it more comfortable.

Today's regional jets, esp 50-70 pax, are even worst.

U don't want to fly in one. I have been inside the plane, not flown in it. I didn't like it at all. Its very cramped compared to modern wide bodies jetliners. The only place u can stand upright in the whole plane is in the single aisle.
.c.

Off course one can stand upright in the Concorde. I've flown twice from Kennedy to Heathrow, and then in the early 90's the fare was about US$4800 one way.
The black leather seat, two on each row was very comfortable. On flight they served Dom Perignon champagne, Beluga caviar and premium French foie gras. The
speed indicator on the front panel showed as high as mach 2.3, and from Kennedy to Heathrow it took only about 31/2 hrs, less than half the time of a 747.

I knew of this wealthy guy who built his new bungalow at Dalvey estate, one day he walked inside guest toilet, yawned and stretched out both arms, one fingertip touched the wall, immediately he called contractor to come and push back both walls by one foot each

this same guy, one day he traveled by Concorde, and I heard from someone who accompanied him that during flight he stood up, yawned and stretched out both arms _

_ and that spell the end of Concorde :D

Today's regional jets, esp 50-70 pax, are even worst.

I have flown in the more popular of today's regional jet, including Bombardier CRJ200, Embraer ERJ-145, and the concorde is only marginally less cramped.

Off course one can stand upright in the Concorde. I've flown twice from Kennedy to Heathrow, and then in the early 90's the fare was about US$4800 one way.
The black leather seat, two on each row was very comfortable. On flight they served Dom Perignon champagne, Beluga caviar and premium French foie gras. The
speed indicator on the front panel showed as high as mach 2.3, and from Kennedy to Heathrow it took only about 31/2 hrs, less than half the time of a 747.

Did you stand upright in your seat? I doubt if you can do it unless u are midget, there is not enough overhead clearance. As I said, the only place u can stand upright is you stand in the aisle.

its fucking expensive to fly in a concorde let alone operate one.

fuel guzzling, extremely noisy - which is probably why US banned its use on internal flights.

SIA used to operate one with BA i think, they have SIA livery on one side and BA livery on the other. AVOD stands Audio Visual On demand - but this only come on line in the recent years, the bell and whistle on your inflight entertainment system where u can watch and play, pause, fwd ur movie. Traditionally, you watch movies on a big central screen on planes...you watch what they play. There are still SIA planes that still don't have AVOD capabilities although the new planes have them.

Another main reason marking the demise of the concorde - SIA used to fly concorde from London to Singapore but becos its fuel guzzling, they need to have a refuel stop at Middle East. Then come Boeing 747 that allows non-stop flight from Singapore to London, which makes the concorde a dinosaur - expensive and ineffective.

Also, safety is a concern, the concorde engine is enbedded into the wings, in case of fire, the whole plane is gone...Whereas modern planes, their engines hangs frm the wings like your balls, in case of fire, or crash, the engines can drop off and not inplicate the plane. Thats why many airlines are phasing out DC-10s...

Concorde finally dwindled to be used by Air France ? Becos of national pride? But you are right, its awfully narrow - its a single aisle plane..does not make economical sense. Back at then of course, its a privilege to be able to fly on Concorde across Atlantic. Its first class all the way with Dom Perignon being served.

After the fatal crash (Air France plane) - they decided to bury Concorde for good. Its a good idea, really innovative but at the end of day, as it does not make economic sense....it cannot survive too....

Why by now no manufacturer come out with better plane?
Twice/tripple the passenger seat at the same speed. That will bring down the operating cost 2~3 times. That will be more economical to operate.
Look like we all have been flying at the same speed for the past 40 year with slightly improvement 10% speed.

Did you stand upright in your seat? I doubt if you can do it unless u are midget, there is not enough overhead clearance. As I said, the only place u can stand upright is you stand in the aisle.

Even a G5 private jet which carries max 12 to 13 pax, one can stand upright from seat position.

The two flights I was on from Kennedy, they were about 80% full with 99% Angmohs. Don't think those tall & huge Angmohs would wanna
pay more than twice the 1st class fare of B747 if one cannot stand upright from the seat position. If 5' 10" is midget to you, let it be then.

main reason why concorde fail is USA politic

USA hate concorde, because it threaten their boeing. The evil politicans use all excuses and have an evil campaign to kill concorde. most of these devout christians.

elite flying, all first class. dun get to fly with some poor and stupid people.

why no one comment about when flying, the whole cabin is tilted.

windows very warm to touch.

Even a G5 private jet which carries max 12 to 13 pax, one can stand upright from seat position.

The two flights I was on from Kennedy, they were about 80% full with 99% Angmohs. Don't think those tall & huge Angmohs would wanna
pay more than twice the 1st class fare of B747 if one cannot stand upright from the seat position. If 5' 10" is midget to you, let it be then.

I would think most private jets are more comfortable than a Concorde. I could barely walk down the aisle of the Concorde. SQ has an all business class configurated B777 to certain destinations like NYC, that is doing a pretty good load factor. The ticket price is not cheap for this, but people I guess are ok paying more for the comfort. Now, with all the tech gadgets, people can work on the flight. I think its a ok compromise for people to travel in comfort, arrive at destination refreshed, work on the flight, etc. versus straight speed.

4g.jpg

Still got chance.You can always try Russia's Concordski. Shouldn't be much difference from the Concorde, excerpt maybe shock absorber not as good
OOps...sorry, even the Concordski have stop flying

My regret is never having a chance to go on board a flight in it.

I would think most private jets are more comfortable than a Concorde. I could barely walk down the aisle of the Concorde..

why did you compare 5000 us one way ticket with 50 000 us one way ticket on private jet.

Of course private jet is more comfortable.

Just like on your own car, is better than sharing with some sick/crazy people on bus or mrt.

comparing apple and orange is meaningless/

No lah, he said about US$5k., NY-London. No class difference. All seats were first class.

That was a British Airways promotion. Complimentary upgrade to Concorde if you buy a full-fare first class ticket. Normal price is US$10k.