• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Happened To The Concorde?

In the 80s, I think only three airlines had it, British Airways, Air France and Singapore Airlines. Supersonic mach 2. As big as a jumbo jet but could fly as fast as a light jet fighter. Even Singapore Post Office airmail stickers featured the Concorde. What happened to it?

Welcome Back! You must have stayed in Mars all these years.

In the 80s, I think only three airlines had it, British Airways, Air France and Singapore Airlines. Supersonic mach 2. As big as a jumbo jet but could fly as fast as a light jet fighter. Even Singapore Post Office airmail stickers featured the Concorde. What happened to it?

it is not as big as jumbo jet, you can go into a prototype at london duxton musemum. jumbo jet can fit 10 seats at the width, concorde only fit 4 seats, two at each side. so it is tiny.

the thing that kill sia concorde is middle east, they did not allow it to fly over their air space, because it is too noisy.

final nail to concorde us-europe flight is because useless french did not clear their runway and cost one accident to concorde, following that accident, very expensive upgrade have to be perform on all concorde, and the cost kill the plane.

Sad, it was a beautiful plane. I've never taken a flight it and only know of one person who had. He was my boss when I worked in US. He flew in the Concorde New York-London. He's never short of amazement how comfy and fast it was. I've never heard of BA or SIA problems with the Concorde. AF must have screwed things up as frogs always do. Noise over Arabia? Come on! Tell them to stop riding camels and horses, that trottering and galloping is even more noisy.

when i was younger, i heard concord flying before, yeah it was pretty noisy.

play toy for the rich. most can never afford it.

No lah, he said about US$5k., NY-London. No class difference. All seats were first class.

You miss the Concorde?, go look for the old $20 notes, it has the Concorde at the back with the SIA logo, & SINgapore issues a set of stamps, some years back.

Concorde was a Anglo-French production, first flew 1969 for 27 years, did SIA buy one? or lease one?, I think it flew SINgapore to London..

It was a marvel of a plane, you & I cannot afford to fly.

Concorde was a Anglo-French production, first flew 1969 for 27 years, did SIA buy one? or lease one?, I think it flew SINgapore to London..

SIA didnt buy or lease , it just had a joint service.

We all have fly backward. 40 year ago can fly at 2 time the sound speed now all comercial plane fly slightly below sound speed.
When I was young 20 year ago, I think by now we all can fly at 3 times the sound speed.
What a shame.

The Concorde died because it was not commercially sustainable. A marvel of european engineering, it was simply too expensive to operate.

At least by now. New model with more seat and more efficient engine save the fuel. After 40 year now replacement? What have happen?

There's also a change in business travel market. Tele/video-conferencing has reduced the demand. Increased frequency/passenger load of commercial planes also plays a part.

Eg, you can fly from SG to London in 13 hrs for $2k. Would you like to get there in half the time for $10k? Unlikely choice for most passengers.

I have a collection of these twenty dollar bills :)

Another reason (I think the main) was that this bird was not allowed in continental N. Am flights because the aviation authorities there said the sonic boom would destroy their building or something to that tune, but actually their own Boeing SST just didn't make it to the production line. Russia's Tupolev Tu144 also fucked up (crashed at the Paris Air show). There was a lot of politics surrounding the plane and at the end of the day, the passengers who could blow money to ride this bird were the long haired zonked out stoned rock stars.

I still think it is one cool plane.

You miss the Concorde?, go look for the old $20 notes, it has the Concorde at the back with the SIA logo, & SINgapore issues a set of stamps, some years back.

I have a collection of these twenty dollar bills :)

Another reason (I think the main) was that this bird was not allowed in continental N. Am flights because the aviation authorities there said the sonic boom would destroy their building or something to that tune, but actually their own Boeing SST just didn't make it to the production line. Russia's Tupolev Tu144 also fucked up (crashed at the Paris Air show). There was a lot of politics surrounding the plane and at the end of the day, the passengers who could blow money to ride this bird were the long haired zonked out stoned rock stars.

I still think it is one cool plane.

It's certainly a cool plane. And it was certainly allowed in North America, as the London-New York British Airways route was the most famous Concorde route. Businessmen could go to and fro within one day to settle business deals.

Only London/Paris - NY, but not across the american continent - that was not permitted. It was very very cool, imagine, at Mach 2, it will even outfly some military interceptors! Well, the time for the SST is over, perhaps for the better, the businessman can do his deal over his Blackberry now.

It's certainly a cool plane. And it was certainly allowed in North America, as the London-New York British Airways route was the most famous Concorde route. Businessmen could go to and fro within one day to settle business deals.

Only London/Paris - NY, but not across the american continent - that was not permitted. It was very very cool, imagine, at Mach 2, it will even outfly some military interceptors! Well, the time for the SST is over, perhaps for the better, the businessman can do his deal over his Blackberry now.

That's true. No domestic or trans-continentinal flight allowed. Don't know why. :confused:

I'm not sure it was the ME that didn't like it overflying. It couldn't have been that noisy when cruising at 40,000 or more feet. In any case, they could have minimized the overflight areas even if it were so,

If I recall rightly, it was our neighbours, the Malaysians that killed it. They complained that it was too noisy when coming in to land and taking off.

And I do recall it being noisy taking off and landing & PLA. Also, there was once when I was training in Tekong when there was this roar overhead. My colleague looked at me and asked, "Got airstrike?"

We looked up and saw the Concorde. It was beautiful.

it is not as big as jumbo jet, you can go into a prototype at london duxton musemum. jumbo jet can fit 10 seats at the width, concorde only fit 4 seats, two at each side. so it is tiny.

the thing that kill sia concorde is middle east, they did not allow it to fly over their air space, because it is too noisy.

final nail to concorde us-europe flight is because useless french did not clear their runway and cost one accident to concorde, following that accident, very expensive upgrade have to be perform on all concorde, and the cost kill the plane.

Ya lor! They jealous of the Europeans and complain about sonic boom; KNN, alien crash spaceship on their soil they also lan-lan and cover-up;)

That's true. No domestic or trans-continentinal flight allowed. Don't know why. :confused:

Ya lor! They jealous of the Europeans and complain about sonic boom; KNN, alien crash spaceship on their soil they also lan-lan and cover-up;)

The air forces zoom F15s, F16s, F18s, F22s around, no noise is it? Even the blardy C130 is blardy noisy. The Concorde is the most beautiful and coolest plane I've ever seen. My regret is never having a chance to go on board a flight in it.