• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino Levy to be raised after Elections?

Kuailan

Why not up the levy now? Why must after election?

The Casinos are for FOREIGNERS... Gahment Say!

If gahmen up levy now they will lose votes, many many votes from gamblers.

After erection levy sure togo up double if not triple to $300.00 for 24 hours visit.

Than year membership will up $4000.00.

Than motorist will be charges according to mileage travelled via satelite
GPS on your car! all these will be after Erection.

CCBcsj

Malaysia should help Singapore, build 1 casino in Johor Baru. Free entry no levy. Then we shall see all the reduction of levy revenue for Singapore:biggrin:

To the contrary. All three casinos flourished. More people will come. Batam got casino also better. Then Singapore build two more. JB build two more. Malacca build two. You have no idea how something like this can boost all the economies. :biggrin:

silverfox@

You obviously feel very strongly about this issue.

Right now the poltical space is being dominated by "anti-casino" people like Goh Meng Seng.

There is currently nobody championing the cause of those who want to vist the casinos. Maybe you should do something about it like starting a Facebook or maybe organisng a petition to remind the PAP government that if they listen and just give in to the "anti-casino" people, then they will lose support among those who support the casino.

If no one stands up to do something for the "casino lovers", then Minister Balakrishnan will just do the easy convinent thing of raising the levy. At this point in time, this seems like the clever thing to do politically as it will hurt Goh Meng Seng while at the same time earn even more $$$.

An issue is raised here for moral society reasons or for political reasons based on the pretext of upholding moral issues? :confused:

You do not need to worry for PAP. They will not think of drastic policies to reduce their 66%. You really think political space is dominated by 'anti-casino' people?

silverfox@

To the contrary. All three casinos flourished. More people will come. Batam got casino also better. Then Singapore build two more. JB build two more. Malacca build two. You have no idea how something like this can boost all the economies. :biggrin:

Every casino will start "killing" each other. :p

aurvandil

An issue is raised here for moral society reasons or for political reasons based on the pretext of upholding moral issues? :confused:

You do not need to worry for PAP. They will not think of drastic policies to reduce their 66%. You really think political space is dominated by 'anti-casino' people?

If you don't want to stand uip and fight for what you believe in, then you can only blame yourself if the PAP gives in and raise the levy. As is, they have already given in and cancelled the free shuttle bus services. The way they did it (over the Hari Raya weekend) suggests that there are considerable votes at stake.

silverfox@

If you don't want to stand uip and fight for what you believe in, then you can only blame yourself if the PAP gives in and raise the levy. As is, they have already given in and cancelled the free shuttle bus services. The way they did it (over the Hari Raya weekend) suggests that there are considerable votes at stake.

Do you think those people who take shuttle service to casino will swear off going casino just because the govt takes out the service?

It's the shuttle service or the casino that is of concern to these people?:p

aurvandil

Do you think those people who take shuttle service to casino will swear off going casino just because the govt takes out the service?

It's the shuttle service or the casino that is of concern to these people?:p

I think Minister Balakrishnan did it because he was concerened about the political implications. I completely agree it won't affect people going the casinos, espcially since there is still cheap public transport to the casinos.

As a "casino lover", you should be worried. If the Minister can cut the free shuttle service for political reasons rather than practical reasons, then it is obvious that he will not hestiate to raise the levy if this helps him politically.

Right now, the "anti-casino" people are very well organised. As such, they are able to effectively apply politcal pressure.

The "casino lovers" on the other hand appear to be very disorganised. They are therefore not effective at applying pressure to counter the "anti-casino" people.

As a senior gambler with many fans, you should consdier stepping forward to organise the "casino lovers" so that the Minister will know the consequences of raising the levy.

shOUTloud

I put up Sheldon Adelson statistics to show that the casinos are doing very well so those nay-sayers can shut up once and for all. The casinos are here to stay!

The second statistics is for this thread to note that the aunties/uncles are contributing only 10% of the revenue. These are not their target market.

As for GMS's talk about hurting someone, even building a road got chance of killing a construction worker, so dun build roads. The issue is about management. I am with Bro Silverfox here. Pple have to start learning to control themselves and educating themselves.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I put up Sheldon Adelson statistics to show that the casinos are doing very well so those nay-sayers can shut up once and for all. The casinos are here to stay!

The second statistics is for this thread to note that the aunties/uncles are contributing only 10% of the revenue. These are not their target market.

As for GMS's talk about hurting someone, even building a road got chance of killing a construction worker, so dun build roads. The issue is about management. I am with Bro Silverfox here. Pple have to start learning to control themselves and educating themselves.

You can have a rich foreigner to lose $1m and they feel nothing. Try having 1000 people losing $20k each, some will commit suicide.

Goh Meng Seng

Your argument is flawed. Why would the casinos bother to provide Shuttle bus service to casinos if people are already going there. It stands to reason that it is to encourage those who are not attending for various reasons to change their minds by making it convenient. There will also be small group of regulars who will use the free service since its there and free.

If gambling was not a proven addictive issue for many people, governments of the world would not bother about restrictions and allow it to flourish and you may see many in your neighbourhood like kopitiams and driven by demand.

Forget morality, its common sense. Obviously GMS is going to make political mileage out of this.

Tan Kim Kim

You can have a rich foreigner to lose $1m and they feel nothing. Try having 1000 people losing $20k each, some will commit suicide.

Goh Meng Seng
Yes, so pls tell us what is NSP stand and proposal on the casino regulation. Increase levy or total ban for sinkies to enter? If you dun have a better solutions pls keep your mouth shut!

silverfox@

Your argument is flawed. Why would the casinos bother to provide Shuttle bus service to casinos if people are already going there. It stands to reason that it is to encourage those who are not attending for various reasons to change their minds by making it convenient. There will also be small group of regulars who will use the free service since its there and free.

If gambling was not a proven addictive issue for many people, governments of the world would not bother about restrictions and allow it to flourish and you may see many in your neighbourhood like kopitiams and driven by demand.

Forget morality, its common sense. Obviously GMS is going to make political mileage out of this.

You very evil. :biggrin: Do you mean to say that sg pools outlets are everywhere in the heartlands making it convenient for people to buy 4d, toto, sg sweep, scratchit, sports betting?

Okay you win me over with this argument. But I have to say this, the govt thinks gambling in casino is too easily available for people to gamble is akin to the pot calling the kettle black. :p

aurvandil

Heard some rumours of what the revised levy will be.

Daily levy - $150 to $300
Annual Levy - $4k to $6k

Nothing confirmed so far. Suspect they are testing water to see what will be acceptable.

Also the greater concern is the annual levy. This is because a large number have bought the $2k levy and are going back repeatedly. As increases in the annual levy will not affect them, there is discussion on making the increase in annual levy retroactive. Those who had paid the $2k will therefore be asked to top up if they want to continue to go to the casino. Those who cannot will be refunded a portion of the levy based on how many visits that they have made.

There're two types of gambling. Time is of the essence to distinguish between them. Lotteries, you just buy and wait for the results, day by day. Table games, you sit down there as long as you like and can afford to, minute by minute.

Lotteries don't destroy people's careers, lives and families like table games do.

Somewhere in between is sports betting, e.g. horse races, football matches. Though not available 24/7, only on gamesday, these can cause harm too. This is because these are not pure chance gambling. There're knowledge and emotion involved. How well the punter knows about the horses, jockeys, trainers, teams, players and managers. This can also cause addiction, over-confidence and over-betting.

if the goverment wants singaporean to pay $100 levy , they are indirectly encouraging singaporean to win back their $100 .

There're two types of gambling. Time is of the essence to distinguish between them. Lotteries, you just buy and wait for the results, day by day. Table games, you sit down there as long as you like and can afford to, minute by minute.

Lotteries don't destroy people's careers, lives and families like table games do.

Somewhere in between is sports betting, e.g. horse races, football matches. Though not available 24/7, only on gamesday, these can cause harm too. This is because these are not pure chance gambling. There're knowledge and emotion involved. How well the punter knows about the horses, jockeys, trainers, teams, players and managers. This can also cause addiction, over-confidence and over-betting.

wahahaha.... u siao izzit. 4D is harmless... wahaha....looking at the long lines at 4D outlets, how many could have seriously save some money for their family if they had not bet 4D. u never see uncle or aunties bet 4D in hundred of dollars. I see more money change hands over 4D counters than turfclub counters. More ppl bet on 4D than horses yet u claim horse puntering destroy families while 4D harmless. STC struggle to break the $10m in 9 races a raceday while Spools can easily surpress that just 4D in a day. My father got into debts because of 4D, 4D harmless... pui...:mad:

CCBcsj

Every casino will start "killing" each other. :p

Pay a visit to Macau, pay a visit to Vegas. In both places, there is no other attraction other than casino yet both economies and their GDPs are thriving.

If KL-JB-Singapore-Batam all built IRs, the region would be a contender for that status.