• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino Levy to be raised after Elections?

shOUTloud

People who never gamble will not understand how a gambler will think, so how can come up with ways to control gambling? Do i gamble? Yes i do. Did i suffer from it? Yes i did as my dad ran up gambling debts when i was still a kid. Do i support the levy? No i dont. I have never visit and have no intention of stepping into a casino. I never been to genting highlands all my life.
Is the levy working, no it dont. In actual fact, gambling addicts are the same as ciggies addicts. Singapore had raised tobacco tax till so high, did u see a reduction in smokers? No rite... as now more women took up smoking. same thing as the casino levy, even raise it to $10000 for a year entry, the same number of ppl will still apply for it. In fact, a casino membership card may become a status statement which may cause a rush of applications.
Look at how much were punted on 4D on weekend, the amount is staggering. How many aunties blew their family grocery money on spools scratchit? It a stupid game yet many aunties buy because it easy to understand but ppl with a bit more brain will know scratchit is a scam. Why u anti gambling lobby never raised hell at spools in regards to this spools product? This is worse than casino as it basically cheating $$ from the lower income bracket of the society.
You know why ppl like to gamble, yes can win money. But it the shiokness of winning that make ppl to try their lucks. It feel damn shiok when you got it right when others fail. It the rush of adrenaline during winning that gamblers crave for.

Yep. It is like pple visiting prostitutes even though there is a risk of Aids. There are reasons why we have prostitution, gambling and smoking after all these years. Just have to manage not ban.

silverfox@

because genting is not PAP's playground, they can't call the shots beyond the boundaries of sovereignty.

It doesn't make sense if they want to stem out gambling altogether.

They are alarmed at the figure of 1million, so what were they expecting?:p 20K, 100K?

Or is it picking on this issue which has no other more major issues to take note. Seriously if anyone does realise, inflation is moving up fast and this is the major issue which can make or break a country. An issue that not only the govt should tackle but also the opposition should raise.

We should all look at the big picture than all these small nitty gritty petty stuff and make a molehill out of it. If ministers really eat full too free, they should go on the ground and check how inflation is going to make more people suffer at this rate our country's GDP is growing.

rodent2005

You care about broken families? Why not you stop cheating your wife and save ur own family 1st? Alcoholism also cause domestic violent, do you want to restrict sinkies to drink as well? Sinkies are groen up adults and should be given the freedom to choose how to live their lifestyle, if they choose to fuck up their lifes you also want to blame the minister? PAP allow inflows of PRC woman and also cause large number of broken families, do you also want to hold anyone accountability while you enjoy the free sex from them?:oIo::oIo:

Are you fucking stupid or are you fucking stupid? Who pays the price for those gamblers who messed up their lives? Can Singapore ship these useless fucks elsewhere or make them commit suicide? Ultimately society will pay the costs caused by these useless fucks.

rodent2005

The important question now is this: can we rely such Opposition members to enter parliament to check on the government when their basic grasp of facts and logic is so flawed?
Bryan Ti

Of course. Getting opposition into parliament is part of the process. If people see that they have a fair chance of getting into parliament in the opposition, more people will come forward, and yes, you will have better quality candidates.

At the moment, what is more important is to have opposition in parliament to ask hard and probing questions, something that PAP MPs never do.

what the mininium bet for casino? maybe make it at least $100 a bet, that will deter the small timers from going. To me, it this type of ppl that shd be stop from gambling. As for those with higher income bracket, they shd be allow to make their own decision as they have a high education level. It they blind by greed, served them farking right for losing. As for breaking up families, gambling is not more harmful than drinking, smoking, sex.

Frankiestine

If you've followed the casino debates before the IRs were built, you might recall Vivi Bala, when presenting the casino levy scheme, unequivocally promised that the levy shall not be removed under any circusmstance. Therefore, political, in order for the levy to be removed, it has to be either Vivi Bala is also removed from MCYS or he cooks up some silly excuses like underestimation and LHL covers his back again. :biggrin:

Well didn't the old mental senile fart swore that casino will never be allowed in his life time? End of the day its still the $$$ that made him see the light. So like wise for that guniang name Vivian, this man has no moral back bone so its not beneath him to change his tune.

shOUTloud

Ok. This is what Sheldon Adelson said in HK. Reported on the Business Times yesterday.

1. He expects the gaming market in Singapore to exceed LV Strip by 2012.

2. So far, less than 50% of the top 10 winners and top 10 losers daily come from Singapore.

3. He expects MBS to have 70% high end and 30% mass market. of the 30% mass market, he expects 1/3 to be Singaporeans so about 10% of his revenues are from mass market Singaporeans, which is the group most pple are worried about.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Ok. This is what Sheldon Adelson said in HK. Reported on the Business Times yesterday.

2. So far, less than 50% of the top 10 winners and top 10 losers daily come from Singapore.

3. He expects MBS to have 70% high end and 30% mass market. of the 30% mass market, he expects 1/3 to be Singaporeans so about 10% of his revenues are from mass market Singaporeans, which is the group most pple are worried about.

It seems that they are burying people's lives in statistics. :wink:

It means nothing to say that 70% high end and 10% from Singaporeans. That's based on "earnings", not actual visitor numbers. You may have 1 high end person losing $1m while 100 Singaporean losing $20k. But the impact on lives will be very different.

Goh Meng Seng

CCBcsj

Well didn't the old mental senile fart swore that casino will never be allowed in his life time? End of the day its still the $$$ that made him see the light. So like wise for that guniang name Vivian, this man has no moral back bone so its not beneath him to change his tune.

The $100 will not be removed, because majority of Singaporeans are for it.

It will not be increased because two two casino companies spent S$5 billion each on that basis.

So only way it to prevent MBS and RWS to entice the uncles and aunties to come. They should concentrate on the JB uncles and aunties instead.

CCBcsj

It seems that they are burying people's lives in statistics. :wink:

It means nothing to say that 70% high end and 10% from Singaporeans. That's based on "earnings", not actual visitor numbers. You may have 1 high end person losing $1m while 100 Singaporean losing $20k. But the impact on lives will be very different.

Goh Meng Seng

So what is your point, MS Goh? That we should not have had the IRs and forego the $10 billion injection we so badly needed into the economy? Look at Changi Airport, even the budget terminal is getting busier with the casinos.

The Singapore government has induced more foreign money into Singapore but you won't admit it.

aurvandil

So what is your point, MS Goh? That we should not have had the IRs and forego the $10 billion injection we so badly needed into the economy? Look at Changi Airport, even the budget terminal is getting busier with the casinos.

The Singapore government has induced more foreign money into Singapore but you won't admit it.

As written earlier in this thread, there are many alternative methods which can be used to control problem gambling. As good example would be a casino card that limts the amount a person can gamble based on his monthly income.

Going by the numbers released by the Minister, the levy has proven to be a very poor way of detering Singaporeans from gambling. The only thing which it is very good at is collecting a large amount of $$$. If you want to use it to deter gambling, you will have to raise it considerably. As a large number of gamblers have bought the 1 year levy, you would have to make this increase retroactive in order to have the desired deterrence impact on the group which has already demonstrated symptoms of problem gambling.

The $100 will not be removed, because majority of Singaporeans are for it.

It will not be increased because two two casino companies spent S$5 billion each on that basis.

So only way it to prevent MBS and RWS to entice the uncles and aunties to come. They should concentrate on the JB uncles and aunties instead.

Very sensible. Should provide free (or at least discounted fare) buses from JB to the IRs.

aurvandil

Mr Adelson can say what he likes. If the problem gambling issue explodes for the PAP, Mr Adelson will be safely counting his money in the USA.

PAP Ministers and MPs on the other hand have to account to Singaporeans. If things go really badly, they might lose the elections and become unemployed.

CCBcsj

Very sensible. Should provide free (or at least discounted fare) buses from JB to the IRs.

Free buses all all the way from Malacca (KL will be too close to Genting Highlands) to RWS if they change at least $400 in special chips that must be played and cannot just be changed back. Free ferry rides from Batam to Singapore and from terminate to casinos for same deal. Free parking if they drive in.

Casinos are to suck in foreign money, not local. That is why Korea even bans locals from playing in casinos.

silverfox@

Mr Adelson can say what he likes. If the problem gambling issue explodes for the PAP, Mr Adelson will be safely counting his money in the USA.

PAP Ministers and MPs on the other hand have to account to Singaporeans. If things go really badly, they might lose the elections and become unemployed.

Singaporeans derive satisfaction from complaining. Why the govt take action against shuttle services is because red eye people complain.

Waiting at the bus stop going to work, seeing this red RWS bus comes along, air-conditioned picking up people for free to IRs. At this moment he/she will think, why should I go to work and these people are having it so easy to have fun going to IRs for free with transport.

The policy of removing the shuttle service is stupid. Stupid in the sense that those who really go IRs for the theme parks, etc are all affected because of red eye ppl who sees those going casinos with free transport.

The removal of free transport is not stopping people from going casinos if they want. The ones who are affected are those who take free shuttle service to visit the theme parks and restaurants.

Levy at $100 people already willing to pay, what is paying for bus services if they want to go in casino?

We really have a bunch of moronic idiots making bad policies based on few red-eye complainants.

The govt can ban Singaporeans from visiting casinos, but let me remind that this is a decision which will not go down well because every Singaporean who can enter the casino is above 21 and eligible to make a vote during election.. Go figure how much votes to win/lose

silverfox@

Free buses all all the way from Malacca (KL will be too close to Genting Highlands) to RWS if they change at least $400 in special chips that must be played and cannot just be changed back. Free ferry rides from Batam to Singapore and from terminate to casinos for same deal. Free parking if they drive in.

Casinos are to suck in foreign money, not local. That is why Korea even bans locals from playing in casinos.

People are going Korea not because of casino.

What does Singapore has to make tourists stay beyond 3 nights? Sentosa, Zoo, Bird Park, Orchard Road? Sightseeing can finish in 2 days, after stay longer for what reasons? Only casinos can make tourists stay longer. When tourists stay longer, they spend more in this country.

The ignorant are still thinking that the Zoo, Sentosa, Bird Park, Orchard Rd are what attracts tourists to Singapore. Tourists might as well go Thailand or Malaysia.

silverfox@

A good alternative would be for Singaporeans to furnish their CPF/income tax details when they apply for their casino card. The process would be similar to applying for a credit card.

Based on this CPF/income tax details, the person can then be allocated an amount which the person can lose in 1 month (e.g. 10% of monthly income). Once this amount has been reached, the person can then be barred from entering the casino until the next month.

If we apply a system like this, we can effectively address problem gambling and even remove the levy so that all Singaporeans can go in and enjoy the casinos in moderation.

I have actually thought of this process but have some reservations over the intrusion of privacy.

But I think this may be a good step forward to prevent "over consumption of gaming" if it is being implemented.

Goh Meng Seng

You may have 1 high end person losing $1m while 100 Singaporean losing $20k. But the impact on lives will be very different.

Goh Meng Seng

10% of 1 million income vs 10% of $1000

We are becoming a fuckin communist state. You earn 1 million, you can eat restaurant. You earn 1000, not allowed to eat too much, you can only eat hawker centre, $2 per meal.

Sg pools got limit who can buy more 4D/Toto based on income? Geez:eek:

CCBcsj

The ignorant are still thinking that the Zoo, Sentosa, Bird Park, Orchard Rd are what attracts tourists to Singapore. Tourists might as well go Thailand or Malaysia.

Who needs these when you can have C A S I N O? And contrary to what you think, if Malaysia builds more C A S I N O it will be good for Singapore, unless they build it too far away like Kuching or KK.

silverfox@

Who needs these when you can have C A S I N O? And contrary to what you think, if Malaysia builds more C A S I N O it will be good for Singapore, unless they build it too far away like Kuching or KK.

Malaysia should help Singapore, build 1 casino in Johor Baru. Free entry no levy. Then we shall see all the reduction of levy revenue for Singapore:biggrin:

aurvandil

We really have a bunch of moronic idiots making bad policies based on few red-eye complainants.

The govt can ban Singaporeans from visiting casinos, but let me remind that this is a decision which will not go down well because every Singaporean who can enter the casino is above 21 and eligible to make a vote during election.. Go figure how much votes to win/lose

You obviously feel very strongly about this issue.

Right now the poltical space is being dominated by "anti-casino" people like Goh Meng Seng.

There is currently nobody championing the cause of those who want to vist the casinos. Maybe you should do something about it like starting a Facebook or maybe organisng a petition to remind the PAP government that if they listen and just give in to the "anti-casino" people, then they will lose support among those who support the casino.

If no one stands up to do something for the "casino lovers", then Minister Balakrishnan will just do the easy convinent thing of raising the levy. At this point in time, this seems like the clever thing to do politically as it will hurt Goh Meng Seng while at the same time earn even more $$$.