• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

need advice on Masters

hi,bros,

ya, i know it's me again! this time i have a question on doing my masters in States for a year and find work there,eventually get a green card. What you guys think? is 36 years of age too old to do masters?

I know situation in states is not rosy but I dun like the life here in sinkiepore. I want well balance and quality life.

genuine advice please. trouble makers and jealous pple please buzz off.:smile:

BusNo64

pls lah, even got master deg so wat? damn big fuck issit? PHD holder also now hav to drive cab...:rolleyes:...so pls kuai kuai drive ur cab and stop day dreaming lah..:rolleyes::oIo:

Ash007

hi,bros,

ya, i know it's me again! this time i have a question on doing my masters in States for a year and find work there,eventually get a green card. What you guys think? is 36 years of age too old to do masters?

I know situation in states is not rosy but I dun like the life here in sinkiepore. I want well balance and quality life.

1st question:
You have enough funds for the whole education? Including living expenses?

2nd question:
What sort of Masters, university would you be going for?

That's why I want to go away, i foresee there is no future for native average sporeans here. The market is flooded with competitive pple from all over the world. Gov say they will take of sporeans first, I hope to see that and hope they keep their words.

Recently, I approached my friend who is the boss of HR agency. After he looked at my CV, he told me quite tough as I left IT industry for quite long already. Other comments also quite negative. For me to rejoin the job market unless there is someone of good influence who can pull me up. Apparently, my friends who are doing well nowadays are very selfish(Typical sinkie behaviour). I regret 讲义气 with them when I was younger. So far in my life, there is no such person who can help me? :(

pls lah, even got master deg so wat? damn big fuck issit? PHD holder also now hav to drive cab...:rolleyes:...so pls kuai kuai drive ur cab and stop day dreaming lah..:rolleyes::oIo:

I intend to borrow from my family members for my masters and do some part time work to scrap thru my daily living expenses.

I intend to pursue something which is of great interest, find one average uni which is not too xpensive.:o

1st question:
You have enough funds for the whole education? Including living expenses?

2nd question:
What sort of Masters, university would you be going for?

Ash007

I intend to borrow from my family members for my masters and do some part time work to scrap thru my daily living expenses.

I intend to pursue something which is of great interest, find one average uni which is not too xpensive.:o

Economic downturn would mean part time work is going to hard to come by. Just be aware of that. It is better to be prepared for living expenses in this situation. And have part time work to supplement additional expenses.

There are a lot of universities in the states. Not all of them are even recognised. It depends on what degree you are doing. Some have better reputation then others which helps if you intend to find a job over there after completion. Others, you might not even get a chance after they see where you graduated from.

Just something you might have to be aware of. It is a big endeavor, good luck, and remember to have fun as well.

BusNo64

Uncle, forget abt masters lah..instead learn a skill dat u can work oversea lah.... even got masters deg u still hav to start a the bottom of the ladder if u r lookin at job...and in US job mkt is damn bad...even top grads also got problem finding job there...so who want to employ a mid-30s foreigner with a lousy MBA from a lousy uni when they can hav the pick of the best...:wink:...if i am real desperate like u, i go study healthcare like nursing, physiotherapy etc....sure no prob getting job becos worldwide demand lah...

Apparently, my friends who are doing well nowadays are very selfish(Typical sinkie behaviour).

Another loser like tonychat. Blame the sky, blame the earth, blame everyone and he is always the victim. :rolleyes:

I want to be a more useful person in life and I believe that I can. Although I have met with setbacks in my life. I want to achieve more.
I am ambitious and greedy,you can say that. Frankly, there is nothing wrong driving a cab but long term, it will be toll on your health. Imagine sitting in air con cab for 12 hours or more. I think it's not advisable. That's why I have been jogging for the past 4 weeks.

Moreover, I am under a lot of peer pressure. Even my childhood friends look down on me and dun want to go out with me. I have problems finding a girlfriend when I told them that I am driving a cab. My own brother also see me no up. I am very discouraged easily because of that.:(

Uncle, forget abt masters lah..instead learn a skill dat u can work oversea lah....if i am real desperate like u, i go study healthcare like nursing, physiotherapy etc.

you are very wise and gave good advice. too bad he does not listen to you.

some other skill useful is like plumbing or pest control.

That's why I want to go away, i foresee there is no future for native average sporeans here. The market is flooded with competitive pple from all over the world. Gov say they will take of sporeans first, I hope to see that and hope they keep their words.

Recently, I approached my friend who is the boss of HR agency. After he looked at my CV, he told me quite tough as I left IT industry for quite long already. Other comments also quite negative. For me to rejoin the job market unless there is someone of good influence who can pull me up. Apparently, my friends who are doing well nowadays are very selfish(Typical sinkie behaviour). I regret 讲义气 with them when I was younger. So far in my life, there is no such person who can help me? :(

if i were you , i will make full use of those cheap FT ..BE A BOSS yourself ...:wink:

..if i am real desperate like u, i go study healthcare like nursing, physiotherapy etc....sure no prob getting job becos worldwide demand lah...

This is actually good advise.

When I was in hospital in Edmonton I met a hongkie male nurse who had upgraded his skills to that of a physiotherapist. Look around & you will find that there is a shortage of physiotherpists even in Spore.

If you are a physiotherapist you will be in demand the 1st world : Canada, Australia,... more so than a masters or phd.

hi,bros,

at the age of 36 , you should be making money and not spending money . forget about your " masters" if you want to get rich . the richest man in the world is an Employer not employee ..

radon39

Krafty,

If you want to do it all over again, go into healthcare or into undertaking. Lots of opportunities. You can get a grad masters in a healthcare area or in undertaking. Either way, it is recession-proof. Locals are still needed even though the place is flooded with the pinoys, burmese, indians..only cos we are short of them

Take it from me....

best wishes

Agoraphobic

hi,bros,

Just want to start saying that it's hard to predict outcome, luck is important and plans do not always follow a rational path.

Ok, let's assume a scenario. You dig polymers, you have a Bs in chemistry/polymer science, you are working and your division/branch handles industrial polymer applications and you want to pursue this field, and a further degree or masters in this field will help your employers, customers, etc. YOu get an ok and blessing from your superiors - then your masters will help. Companies like DuPont value this (and your grades, personality, attitude must also impress lah!). Same argument also applies to electronics, engineering, and maybe MBA if you're in finance? - Not sure about this one, though, I find MBA buggers to be asskissers mostly.

If one just wants to "higher" degree just to get a "better" job, then there are hundreds if not thousands of buggers with masters. In which case, a hardworking person with common sense and discipline will be preferred over a degreed nerd.

Look at your circumstances and remember, a hardworing student from a regular college is better than a lazy bum from a distinguished U (does not apply in certain parts of the world, too bad.)

And eventually your potential employer is going to consider what you can bring to his company/division, not your age. How you hold, present and conduct yourself will be more important.

Studying is fun. And it should never stop, even after leaving school. Good luck.

hi,bros, thanks! I have been doing research on this particular field of engineering. As a trained engr, I like to do engineering again but in this specialized field. I think it shld be worthy of spending another year to study it. With this field of expertise, I shld be easily engaged to work overseas as expat.

I did EEE and have friends who got retrenched from MNCs and particular in the semiconductor industry. My cousin got retrenched and have never been gainfully employed, he is in his early forties.

With the influx of highly qualified and cheaper FTs, it's so bloody competitive in this sinkipore. To do business, I can talk cock and do sales but I dun have the connection. To be an entrepreneur, I dun have the leadership capabilities to spearhead, I need to be led and fluorish from there.:o

What you said here totally make sense to me and I totally agree with you on this point:

it's hard to predict outcome, luck is important and plans do not always follow a rational path.

Just want to start saying that it's hard to predict outcome, luck is important and plans do not always follow a rational path.

Ok, let's assume a scenario. You dig polymers, you have a Bs in chemistry/polymer science, you are working and your division/branch handles industrial polymer applications and you want to pursue this field, and a further degree or masters in this field will help your employers, customers, etc. YOu get an ok and blessing from your superiors - then your masters will help. Companies like DuPont value this (and your grades, personality, attitude must also impress lah!). Same argument also applies to electronics, engineering, and maybe MBA if you're in finance? - Not sure about this one, though, I find MBA buggers to be asskissers mostly.

If one just wants to "higher" degree just to get a "better" job, then there are hundreds if not thousands of buggers with masters. In which case, a hardworking person with common sense and discipline will be preferred over a degreed nerd.

Look at your circumstances and remember, a hardworing student from a regular college is better than a lazy bum from a distinguished U (does not apply in certain parts of the world, too bad.)

And eventually your potential employer is going to consider what you can bring to his company/division, not your age. How you hold, present and conduct yourself will be more important.

Studying is fun. And it should never stop, even after leaving school. Good luck.

You don't have to go abroad and overspent (then owe money to relatives or banks).

There're many accredited part-time master courses available in Singapore.

Unrepented

For your case, either be at least a qualified accountant or be in the health care industry.

With engineering background, should strive to be a PE. Why masters?

M

Mdm Tang

I want to be a more useful person in life and I believe that I can. Although I have met with setbacks in my life. I want to achieve more.
I am ambitious and greedy,you can say that. Frankly, there is nothing wrong driving a cab but long term, it will be toll on your health. Imagine sitting in air con cab for 12 hours or more. I think it's not advisable. That's why I have been jogging for the past 4 weeks.

Moreover, I am under a lot of peer pressure. Even my childhood friends look down on me and dun want to go out with me. I have problems finding a girlfriend when I told them that I am driving a cab. My own brother also see me no up. I am very discouraged easily because of that.:(

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Dear bro krafty ,

i can understand how you feel...

if you have a religion eg u r a christian

then try asking God to lead you to full-time minsitries ...

Go study for master in divinity or theology or related ...

Half life on earth gone ... time to prepare for eternity ...

and do something good to mankind and repay the society

whatever u want to call it ...

but if you want to be another Ah Beng then be the

one of the best Ah Beng in town ...lastly do not

be bother by what other people think of you !!!

Because all men and women finally destination is

Mandai Cremantorium and if they can afford it it may

be anothe 30 years at Choa Chu Kang ... Just be who u are

and do what u do best ... all of us final go to Mandai , we

cant escape ...:biggrin: