• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why serve NS or have SAF when we don't even have our own food supply?

to say we are indefensible bcos we can be easily surrounded is like giving up hope liao....does that mean if you are small sized, you should not learn to defend urself becos u might as well be bullied?

no, i don't think so. its not issue of i won't allow you to hurt me but rather, i will make it painful for you to hurt me, so much so, you will think twice.

singapore is pecuiler becos we have no food, no water and stuff. but that does not mean we should lie down and open our legs wide to be fucked.

on paper, it is obviously possible to have indon and mudland to surround us and choke us with slow death. but getting these 2 countries to work together is one thing. thats why we are always "bribing" and doing PRs...with them...aiding them, giving them loans...etc etc.

and with the Cold War ended, its obvious to sleep with US and allowing them to berth here - whack us and you are whacking Uncle Sam too....

You're right. Getting under US umbrella is good cover against rain. However, not good enough against flood. Best defence is to let them know, whack Singapore, there'd be no more KL or Jarkarta tomorrow.

manokie

You're right. Getting under US umbrella is good cover against rain. However, not good enough against flood. Best defence is to let them know, whack Singapore, there'd be no more KL or Jarkarta tomorrow.

So why not let US play a role like they do in Japan?

Remove NS and reduce size of SAF.

Pay US to defend our country.
It will be much cheaper. Japan only pay $2 Billion per year to host US.

That's a matter between the Singapore Cabinet and the US. In the early 70s, shortly after independence, Singapore literally begged the British forces to stay and pay for them.

The British found it meaningless and not worth their whiles in terms of their overall strategic interests, declined and left. If not for British naval presence blockading the sea, Indonesian troops would have landed on Singapore easily during Confrontasi.

The US then took over the British role in Singapore on a smaller scale. They have access and frequent visits to most ports and military facilities, but no permanent bases as was during British times. There were US interests involved in the late 60s and earlys, with Singapore as crucial logistic centre for the Vietnam War. Singapore made lots of money from that too. Now the situation is different, the purposes and interests are different.

In any case, maintaining an own independent air force powerful enough to destroy the likes of KL and Jarkarta is prudent deterrent. Maintaining 400,000 reservist foot soldiers, I don't really know what for?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It is precisely that we do not have our own local food supplies that we need to go to war.

Goh Meng Seng

Wei Tuo Deva

After world war 2, we realize that the nation will have to fight to survival. The policy is deterence, any attempt to net ask we be a heavy price to pay. And the PAP is well aware that the general population will back them for bread and rice issues. Times changes, status quo change too. We are a regional power in term of advanced military (Hardware/software/training/efficiency/stockpile) which many general population in the neighbouring states are not aware of.

I heard that the SAF is gear to fight 2 battle fronts at one go and also enough to defend Singapore (PDF). Enough AMMO to last for years since the start of Chartered Ind.

Having 6 Subs and 6 latest Stealth warship (Integrated system and weaponry) add to the punch of the most adavanced navy in the region.

Airforce is a dominances beyond the region. 20 F-16D wild weasel air defense and communication destroyer. (HARM only one in ASIA beside Australia). F-15 LATEST hight tech toy as 4.5 generation fighter 24 planes with more order to go along as standard machines and a whole array of advanced weaponry and quantity. 20 Apaches and 10 more in states. F-35 of 100 aircraft is down the road.

Truly, a regional player, Diplomacy with a big stick.

It is precisely that we do not have our own local food supplies that we need to go to war.

Yes, Cpt. Goh. I heard when your coy got lost in Australia outback where the food supply trucks couldn't locate you, you ordered an invasion of the natural reserves and massacred many protected species for food. Your men loved it, roasted hares, ponies, kangaroos, kaolas etc. The Australian government is still very pissed.

When Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo saw them, they presented a bill $###,###, marked due immediately. When Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean saw them, they presented a letter, "Please don't send this madcow captain here next time."

Wei Tuo Deva

Yes, Cpt. Goh. I heard when your coy got lost in Australia outback where the food supply trucks couldn't locate you, you ordered an invasion of the natural reserves and massacred many protected species for food. Your men loved it, roasted hares, ponies, kangaroos, kaolas etc. The Australian government is still very pissed.

When Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo saw them, they presented a bill $###,###, marked due immediately. When Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean saw them, they presented a letter, "Please don't send this madcow captain here next time."

HAHAHA......A nice one. Yes Sir Capitano Goh at your service. A true survival and a true hero. Singapore boluk!

White sheriff of Asia.

How do you go to War without a subsistent food supply?

Do NS men need to drink shit water newater and eat their own sewage?

Ancient art of war maxim. 万军未行,粮草为先。You can't move the army without food in place first. That's about 3,000 years ago. About 200 years, Napoleon Bonaparte agreed, an army can't march on empty stomach.

After world war 2, we realize that the nation will have to fight to survival. The policy is deterence, any attempt to net ask we be a heavy price to pay. And the PAP is well aware that the general population will back them for bread and rice issues. Times changes, status quo change too. We are a regional power in term of advanced military (Hardware/software/training/efficiency/stockpile) which many general population in the neighbouring states are not aware of.

I heard that the SAF is gear to fight 2 battle fronts at one go and also enough to defend Singapore (PDF). Enough AMMO to last for years since the start of Chartered Ind.

Having 6 Subs and 6 latest Stealth warship (Integrated system and weaponry) add to the punch of the most adavanced navy in the region.

Airforce is a dominances beyond the region. 20 F-16D wild weasel air defense and communication destroyer. (HARM only one in ASIA beside Australia). F-15 LATEST hight tech toy as 4.5 generation fighter 24 planes with more order to go along as standard machines and a whole array of advanced weaponry and quantity. 20 Apaches and 10 more in states. F-35 of 100 aircraft is down the road.

Truly, a regional player, Diplomacy with a big stick.

hey hello! blah blah blah about amunitions for what. here is talking about not enough food to last even for a week to feed the soliders. Read and response to the thread clearly.

HAHAHA......A nice one. Yes Sir Capitano Goh at your service. A true survival and a true hero. Singapore boluk!

White sheriff of Asia.

Cpt. Goh was very pissed when he kena f*ed by BG Yeo. He has to eat to live too, so do men under his charge. So he joined opposition and contested BG Yeo. He lost, but scored respectably. BG Yeo sweated like a hunted animal.

That's a matter between the Singapore Cabinet and the US. In the early 70s, shortly after independence, Singapore literally begged the British forces to stay and pay for them.

The British found it meaningless and not worth their whiles in terms of their overall strategic interests, declined and left. If not for British naval presence blockading the sea, Indonesian troops would have landed on Singapore easily during Confrontasi.

The US then took over the British role in Singapore on a smaller scale. They have access and frequent visits to most ports and military facilities, but no permanent bases as was during British times. There were US interests involved in the late 60s and earlys, with Singapore as crucial logistic centre for the Vietnam War. Singapore made lots of money from that too. Now the situation is different, the purposes and interests are different.

In any case, maintaining an own independent air force powerful enough to destroy the likes of KL and Jarkarta is prudent deterrent. Maintaining 400,000 reservist foot soldiers, I don't really know what for?

to tahan 400,00 bullets in case no better weapon to fight. Each soldeir say take one bullet each.

Wei Tuo Deva

hey hello! blah blah blah about amunitions for what. here is talking about not enough food to last even for a week to feed the soliders. Read and response to the thread clearly.

Don't be rude, see my post number 59 before talking abt 1 week supply. Have you ever serve in the armed forces??? Or are you still schooling.

we learnt the lesson in WW2 that depending on others for your defense is the worst that you can get. Japan is restricted by her post-war constitution from having an expanded role for its army. nonetheless, Japan still have an army except they cannot invade (so call) but they can surely defend - they call it self-defense force.

Paying US is liken to open ur legs to get fucked, when and where at the choosing of the other party. What we are doing, is complement our army with US presence. Even then, we have to balance against the sentiments of Mudland and Indon simply becos of US + Israel sentiments.

on paper, we have the most powerful army in the region (SEA). And regarding food, donch worry, we have stockpile of rice and oil that can last min. 3 months. (it could be 6 mths). Thats all u need. Worse come worse, you only need rice for carbo. And there are stockpile of other rations - eg: canned food. Not perishables of course...

Water....water purification pills....anyways with the strategy of strike first at sight of trouble, u think we will sit by and let our reservoirs be bombed?

we learnt the lesson in WW2 that depending on others for your defense is the worst that you can get. Japan is restricted by her post-war constitution from having an expanded role for its army. nonetheless, Japan still have an army except they cannot invade (so call) but they can surely defend - they call it self-defense force.

Paying US is liken to open ur legs to get fucked, when and where at the choosing of the other party. What we are doing, is complement our army with US presence. Even then, we have to balance against the sentiments of Mudland and Indon simply becos of US + Israel sentiments.

on paper, we have the most powerful army in the region (SEA). And regarding food, donch worry, we have stockpile of rice and oil that can last min. 3 months. (it could be 6 mths). Thats all u need. Worse come worse, you only need rice for carbo. And there are stockpile of other rations - eg: canned food. Not perishables of course...

Water....water purification pills....anyways with the strategy of strike first at sight of trouble, u think we will sit by and let our reservoirs be bombed?

Wei Tuo Deva

m&d is not the threat, Indo is, trade route being blocked. m&d land too much in common both are siamese twins, quarrel yes, fighting no no. The next source of food supply is from our nature reserve, see the amount of Old overgrown Yam and Tapioca. Can last a long time and goes a long way, eat until soft leg. haha.

Cpt. Goh : NS and reservist is good. Every year, I take my men to free holiday around the world. Taiwan, Thailand. Brunei, Australia. They give us free tanks, rifles and ammos to play with. Quite fun. Sometimes they sent us to jungle resorts and we got lost. Nevermind, we shoot wild animals and BBQ very delicious. Account for used ammos? Chey! Look at my shoulders. Three Mars power bars! I can sign for any ammos, even grenades and tank shells.

Wei Tuo Deva

Capt Goh Sir. At your service, NS and reservist helps build up confidences, teamwork, comradeship and our guts too. Having served in the Navy for NS and reserve unit until no more ship for us to play. Now at Mindef reserve as old age home. Many fonds and sad memories for the vietnam war refugees coming into singapore water those days. Happened to be gunnery yeoman for the gun boats and many live firing exercise to test out all the guns and some gabra (Gilbriel) missile which fall like a topedo. Ammos to use known as training rounds in the open sea and holding rounds for battle station only. Small arms plenty to go around, GBMG, 0.5" GM, 20mm cannon, 47mm & 57 bofor, grabel and latest at that time was Harpoon.

How the Navy is Tua Kong, the truely state of art Brown water navy. Best in JB some say even Batam.

Now looking at my beret a long forgotten soldier/Sailor. Still proud for the Country but not the Govern.

LKY : Who the idiot promoted that moron GMS to Captain?!

TCH : One of the colonels.

LKY : Sack that idiot!

TCH : We can't sack him. He resigned already.

LKY : Then arrest him!

TCH : We can't, he migrated already.

LKY : Then arrest GMS!

TCH : We can't, summon him also very hard.

LKY : What the f*ck can you do to him then?

TCH : You should ask MBT. My job is handling Desmond Lim.