Hair Splitting Leong Sze Hian

Hopefully he gets the message this time.

Any message or article that grabs the attention of the readers must be holistic headline stuff that immediately must highlight the abuses of this government. It must have substance, predicated on good grounds and lead to one and only one conclusion. Every article is the same. This is cannot be a continuous tutorial on actuarial science. The articles no doubt are factual, well researched but the themes and delivery are identical. It is 1 plus 1 is 2 repeated over and over again. The marginal utility must be subzero a long time ago.

Despite accumulating (yes accumulating) academic credentials he has achieved little else relatively speaking. Someone better have a chat with this chap. His phobia to have any form of discussion is well known but something has to give.

Try this new approach. Raise short questions in the press and let the govt hang themselves. The govt has become so immune to this they have practically written him off.

Here is another idea. Read up Mukul Asher's papers and write a comparative analysis of the various form of superannuation schemes found in first world countries using Asher's style. You can then clearly show that CPF and medisave are escrow accounts for the benefit of the govt and why CPF failed comprehensively.

URL="http://theonlinecitizen.com/author/theonlinecitizen/"]theonlinecitizen[/URL] on July 28, 2010 79 Comments
<!--end: postmeta-->

Leong Sze Hian ?/P> Several Singaporeans living overseas and in Singapore have contacted The Online Citizen to tell us that they have received letters from the CPF Board asking them to pay their CPF Medisave arrears, incurred many years ago.
For example, Jane (not her real name), has been married to a European citizen, working and living in Europe, since 2003.
She had not received any letters from the CPF Board for several years, until the recent demand letter arrived at her European address. The letter said: 揊ailure to pay Medisave contributions is an offence under the CPF Act and is liable for composition fine and possibly Court action.?/P> She was self-employed and was struggling to pay her full Medisave contributions consistently, as she had to support her bankrupt father, ailing mother and sibling who was studying.
About eight years ago, under threat of being charged in court, she struggled to pay about $500 a month under an installment plan worked out with the CPF Board for about a year, but was unable to continue for the rest of the agreed installment period of about 2 years.
Her outstanding Medisave arrears is now about $12,000.
As she is only earning about 1,000 Euros a month now, she is not able to pay her Medisave arrears.
She is afraid that if she is charged in court, and if a warrant of arrest is issued, as we understand is normally the case for those who don抰 turn up, she fears that she may be arrested if she comes home to visit her family.
She wonders if her only solution to her 揗edisave?predicament is to give up her citizenship.
Or is she condemned to a lifetime exile form her country of birth?
Since she is living in Europe and will not return to Singapore, even if she is able to pay her Medisave arrears, what is the point of asking her to contribute, as she may never be able to use her Medisave which is restricted for use in Singapore and 12 approved hospitals in Malaysia since March this year?
Another example is John, who is a retired civil servant, and receives a pension and free lifetime medical benefits.
He too has been served with letters of demand and threat of court action for Medisave arrears incurred as a self-employed person.
When he told the CPF Board that it was pointless for him to contribute to Medisave even if he could afford to, because he gets free medical treatment, he was told that he could use his Medisave for his wife.
When he told them that his wife was also a civil service pensioner with free medical benefits, he was told that he could use it for his children.
When he told them that he has no children, he was told that it was required by law to contribute to Medisave.
I wonder how many people in Singapore or Singaporeans living overseas, owe Medisave, and have received letters of demand.
Are these letters of demand being sent to Singapore permanent residents (PRs) living in Malaysia, who owe Medisave too?
How many will be served with court action?
Self-employed persons are required to contribute to Medisave if they earn more than $6,000 a year.
If you earn just $500 a month, how do you survive?
If you are struggling to survive, how can you afford to make Medisave contributions?

Despite accumulating (yes accumulating) academic credentials he has achieved little else relatively speaking. Someone better have a chat with this chap. His phobia to have any form of discussion is well known but something has to give.

Scroobal, why is he phobic towards having discussion? i have seen his video somewhere on youtube before leh

CPF and Medisave is actually "TAXATION" in disguise.

DO NOT BE FOOLED THAT IT IS YOUR MONEY.

SINGAPORE WORKERS PAY ONE OF THE HIGHEST TAXES IN THE WORLD.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Perhaps you are trying to be helpful but you're very general and vague. I don't see what's so wrong with the article.

The lady mention in the news letter can denounce her Singapore citizenship and be a citizen of the country she is living and working in. Than she will not required to pay the Medisave and even she could withdraw out all her CPF in her account with the CPF board.

By doing that, she will not be worry about getting arrested when she come back to SG to do family visting as she is using another country passport.

He used to posts his articles and letters to the press in the forum until people told him to stop spamming as he never bothered to reply to comments or queries. He therefore stopped all together.

During the interview, what discussion took place? I saw a video with a girl but I can't recall a discussion.

Scroobal, why is he phobic towards having discussion? i have seen his video somewhere on youtube before leh

His approach or angle to this issue would be to zero in on the low income people who can barely survive, much less contribute to CPF. In other words, only the last three sentences are critical to the issue.

I mean, who cares about Singaporeans overseas, or retired civil servants, pensioner couple?

I sometimes think this Leong guy often misses the forest for the trees...wait scratch that...should be misses the forest for the tree branches.

There is nothing wrong with the article. Ever tried a plate of Laksa from Katong. Delicious ain't it. Ever tried having it for lunch and dinner everyday.

Many people have the impression that criticising or commenting on the abuses and flaws of the government is quite heroic as Singaporeans generally shy away from it. What ever is done in anything it should not be monotonous and repetitious less the message and messenger becomes trivial and trvialised. Look at Uncle Yap, he has made serious allegations about the old man and the family numerous times. Nothing has happened. Even Robert has been picked up numerous times. When Uncle Yap did his solo protest in front of the Istana, nobody turned up and he went home. Maybe Leong needs to follow Chee to get a profile.

Remember Catherine Lim. All it took was her 2nd article and all hell broke lose. Right from the top including the tyrannical old man and the resulting infamous knuckleduster / cul de sac threat. Look at Alex Au's articles. Very incisive, relevant, topical and damaging to the regime. Have you read Alfian Saat's articles - loose, thought provoking, exploratory, raises taboos and ground shifting. In fact there have been some good articles from TOC writers as well.

Perhaps you are trying to be helpful but you're very general and vague. I don't see what's so wrong with the article.

Its really weird. I have never seen anyone who writes like this. When he first started posting in this forum his articles and letters to the press, I thought I was the one missing the point. That is until someone blasted him for spamming. I then realised it was indeed spamming.

Reminds me of the case of the SIA steward with numerous post grad qualifications and a PHD who is still flying. And he thought he was unlucky.

I sometimes think this Leong guy often misses the forest for the trees...wait scratch that...should be misses the forest for the tree branches.

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/pKWO2noG_z8&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pKWO2noG_z8&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

Listening to him talk is very frustrating sometimes- almost like watching a lion circle its prey for hours without pouncing for that fatal bite. Not everyone needs to be a lion; if you are not a lion, please don't behave like one!

And if I see this lion does this a few more times, I will write him off as a pussy cat.

Listening to him talk is very frustrating sometimes- almost like watching a lion circle its prey for hours without pouncing for that fatal bite. Not everyone needs to be a lion; if you are not a lion, please don't behave like one!

And if I see this lion does this a few more times, I will write him off as a pussy cat.

It is people like you that is why he doesn't do more. Can you imagine that the people you thought were on your side are the ones attacking you?

The entire opposition is rife with such destructive acts. Sure the PAPies are likely behind some of these shenanigans but by and large it is the laypeople that their own biggest enemies.

Just let him be within his comfort zone. He has done more than all of you put together and multiplied by a hundred. He has brought out lots of questions about the PAPies and their numerous policies.

He is good at what he does. He obviously doesn't want to be a leader. So let him be because what he does, he does very well. Someone from the alternative party should get him into their fold and let him be in the backroom where he is most comfortable.

It is people like you that is why he doesn't do more. Can you imagine that the people you thought were on your side are the ones attacking you?

The entire opposition is rife with such destructive acts. Sure the PAPies are likely behind some of these shenanigans but by and large it is the laypeople that their own biggest enemies.

Just let him be within his comfort zone. He has done more than all of you put together and multiplied by a hundred. He has brought out lots of questions about the PAPies and their numerous policies.

He is good at what he does. He obviously doesn't want to be a leader. So let him be because what he does, he does very well. Someone from the alternative party should get him into their fold and let him be in the backroom where he is most comfortable.

I don't mean to run him down in any way and I do apologise if I gve that impression. My observations on how he raise/position issue suggest that he'd be much better off reframing/repackaging his argument. Take for example, the Medisave example highlighted in this thread. Just go in for the kill! Why all the preamble about poorly paid, overseas Singaporeans or pension couple? It befuddles.

Of course, I will say that saying something is better than not saying anything.

I don't mean to run him down in any way and I do apologise if I gve that impression. My observations on how he raise/position issue suggest that he'd be much better off reframing/repackaging his argument. Take for example, the Medisave example highlighted in this thread. Just go in for the kill! Why all the preamble about poorly paid, overseas Singaporeans or pension couple? It befuddles.

Of course, I will say that saying something is better than not saying anything.

Maybe he wants to last for as long as he can. He is not a young man. He has been around for a long time as his age speaks. He knows the boundaries and is comfortable with them, as long as he is where he is, doing what he believes in, in a manner that suits his purpose best.

Why should you or anyone else ask for more? And even if you want to ask for more, at least do it courteously and not by taking potshots at him. Without him, there will be a lot of unknowns and grey areas. He has been a beacon of light and should not be 'punished' for unrelated personal manifestations. We need more like him.

He doesn't want to be a politician. He is a concerned citizen. He acts like one. He must have been fuming and feeling lost for years before his initial foray into cyberspace.

He is very good at what he does and what he wants to do. Just let him be and do what he wants to do rather than shooting him for his shortcomings which we all are inundated with anyways.

He has done his part and we should be encouraging him to do more.