• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

True Story: Legendary Captain Madcow In Action

I think that Meng Seng may be busy in Bangkok now. Last week he told me he booked airticket to Bangkok for Good Friday long weekend. He also indicated his support for Thai protestors fighting for democracy against unelected government. He also said that there're many things to learn from them, not only from media and internet, on the ground to see with own eyes even better.

Ramseth, are you speaking up for Goh Meng Seng????? PLS DO NOT TRIVALISE THIS MATTER.

PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT WE HAVE A VERY IMPORTANT ISSUE HERE, AND GMS MUST MAKE A STAND ON THIS ISSUE. HE WAS QUESTIONED BY POLICEMEN FOR SELLING PARTY NEWSPAPERS IN A VERY PUBLIC PLACE AND ALSO GAVE HIS PARTICULARS TO THEM. WE ALL WANT TO KNOW WHETHER OR NOT GMS IS GOING TO PURSDUE THIS MATTER WITH THE POLICE COMMISIONER. I, AS AN OPPOSTION SUPPORTER, LOOK UP TO PARTY LEADERS TO SPEAK UP ON BEHALF OF THE DOWNTRODDEN AND THE OPPRESSED IN OUR SOCIETY. IF WE HAVE OPPOSTION LEADERS WHO ONLY TALK THE TALK , BUT LACK THE MORAL CONVICTION TO WALK THAT TALK , THEN WE ARE ALL WASTING OUR TIME HERE!!

Ramseth, are you speaking up for Goh Meng Seng????? PLS DO NOT TRIVALISE THIS MATTER.

PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT WE HAVE A VERY IMPORTANT ISSUE HERE, AND GMS MUST MAKE A STAND ON THIS ISSUE. HE WAS QUESTIONED BY POLICEMEN FOR SELLING PARTY NEWSPAPERS IN A VERY PUBLIC PLACE AND ALSO GAVE HIS PARTICULARS TO THEM. WE ALL WANT TO KNOW WHETHER OR NOT GMS IS GOING TO PURSDUE THIS MATTER WITH THE POLICE COMMISIONER. I, AS AN OPPOSTION SUPPORTER, LOOK UP TO PARTY LEADERS TO SPEAK UP ON BEHALF OF THE DOWNTRODDEN AND THE OPPRESSED IN OUR SOCIETY. IF WE HAVE OPPOSTION LEADERS WHO ONLY TALK THE TALK , BUT LACK THE MORAL CONVICTION TO WALK THAT TALK , THEN WE ARE ALL WASTING OUR TIME HERE!!

This is a matter for him. He's the one questioned by police. Not you. If he's abroad or busy, he owes you or others nothing. There's even nothing to trivialise about. He's already very kind and frank to openly share his experience. If you want to know if it's legal ir illegal to party political newspapers, you should check with the police, not him. He's not Opposition Attorney-General if ever there's such a position.

This is a matter for him. He's the one questioned by police. Not you. If he's abroad or busy, he owes you or others nothing. There's even nothing to trivialise about. He's already very kind and frank to openly share his experience. If you want to know if it's legal ir illegal to party political newspapers, you should check with the police, not him. He's not Opposition Attorney-General if ever there's such a position.[/QUOTE]
Hullo Ramseth, it seems you are the one missing the forest for the trees.

THE POINT I'M TRYING TO PUT ACROSS IS VERY SIMPLE : IF OPPOSTION LEADERS LIKE GMS CAN'T EVEN DEFEND THEMSELVES FROM POLICE HARASSMENT, THEN HOW CAN THEY BE TRUSTED TO DEFEND THE ORDINARY SINGAPOREANS FROM SIMILAR HARASSMENT ???
IF I CAN DO EVERYTHING MYSELF, THEN I DON'T NEED OPPOSTION MPs IN PARLIAMENT TO SPEAK UP FOR ME.
ANYWAY, MY MESSAGE IS DIRECTED AT GMS, NOT YOU.

THE POINT I'M TRYING TO PUT ACROSS IS VERY SIMPLE : IF OPPOSTION LEADERS LIKE GMS CAN'T EVEN DEFEND THEMSELVES FROM POLICE HARASSMENT, THEN HOW CAN THEY BE TRUSTED TO DEFEND THE ORDINARY SINGAPOREANS FROM SIMILAR HARASSMENT ???
IF I CAN DO EVERYTHING MYSELF, THEN I DON'T NEED OPPOSTION MPs IN PARLIAMENT TO SPEAK UP FOR ME.

He has defended himself quite well, didn't he? :D You judge accordingly and vote accordingly to your own criteria, whether or not he deserves your vote. He's abroad where internet access might be a bit difficult. I don't purport to represent him though. I speak my own opinion of him and his ideas. I do disagree with him at times.

Now let's make it more clear. I'm not speaking for him, much less defending him. I'm speaking against holding opposition accountable when they're unelected and hold no office. Accountable for what?

Please, if you want to know whether selling this or that is legal or illegal, please, go ask the government or police.

This is an excellent opportunity for NSP to score political points with the PAP in the eyes of the public.

This sound like a typical SDP problem with the authorities - freedom of speech, assembly rights, cannot sell newspapers outdoors...
and how much political points has SDP won over the years on this?

However SDP and CSJ are already condemned by the peasants so whatever they do are futile, NSP can try their luck on the same issue.

This sound like a typical SDP problem with the authorities - freedom of speech, assembly rights, cannot sell newspapers outdoors...

However SDP and CSJ are already condemned by the peasants so whatever they do are futile, NSP can try their luck on the same issue.

To correct you on one point, SDP has never been summoned or charged for selling TND newspaper outdoors. (SDP was sued for the supposedly defamatory content in the paper.) WP has been doing it all over Singapore every week for years. Even I myself have volunteered quite frequently to join in and help a few years back. No problem, we met and chatted with police even. I think that with GMS as Sec-Gen, NSP is now also doing it weekly or as frequently as possible now.

To correct you on one point, SDP has never been summoned or charged for selling TND newspaper outdoors. (SDP was sued for the supposedly defamatory content in the paper.) WP has been doing it all over Singapore every week for years. Even I myself have volunteered quite frequently to join in and help a few years back. No problem, we met and chatted with police even. I think that with GMS as Sec-Gen, NSP is now also doing it weekly or as frequently as possible now.[/QUOTE]
PRECISELY, RAMSETH & SIDESWIPE.

I AM REFERRING TO THIS SPECIFIC INCIDENT IN WHICH THE POLICEMEN HAS TAKEN DOWN GMS' PARTICULARS IN FRONT OF MANY PEOPLE AND EVEN TOLD HIM NOT TO GO NEAR THAT BAYEE SINGH BECAUSE THE PAP GLASSLOOTERS WERE NOT HAPPY SEEING THE NSP PEOPLE (BASED ON RAMSETH'S & GMS' ACCOUNTS OF WHAT HAD TRANSPIRED).
JUST IMAGINE IF I ( OR ANY SINGAPOREAN FOR THAT MATTER) WERE HAVING MY LUNCH AT THAT CROWDED KEBUN BARU FOOD MARKET ON THAT FATEFUL DAY AND I SAW GMS BEING QUESTIONED BY THE POLICEMEN AND HAD HIS IC PARTICULARS TAKEN DOWN. MY IMMEDIATE REACTION WOULD BE THAT GMS MIGHT HAVE COMMITTED SOME KIND OF OFFENCE LIKE SELLING PARTY PAPERS. IF THE NSP PEOPLE WERE TO APPROACHED ME TO BUY THEIR NEWSLETTER AFTER SEEING WHAT HAD HAPPENED, CHANCES ARE I WOULD DECLINE.

THERFORE, IT IS IMPERATIVE THAT GMS SEEKS CLARIFICATION -- AND EVEN AN APOLOGY--- FROM THE POLICE COMMISSIONER OVER THIS INCIDENT.

YOU CANNOT SIMPLY JUST SAY "FORGET IT, SMALL MATTER".
THE PAP PEOPLE ARE NOT THAT FORGIVING WHEN THEY HAVE THE UPPER HAND, YOU KNOW!

You then have an opposition that ends up playing by the rules drawn up by the PAP. Lenin used to label such opposition "useful idiots" and for good reason too. Lenin could boast to the world about a functioning democracy when in reality it was as authoritarian as it could be. An opposition that gives PAP the passing grade and remains silent when asked if WKS should resign? Is that the kind of opposition the Ah Beng wants? Pray tell.

No wonder old man is pleased.

What's the point of having such opposition besides giving PAP the excuse of labelling Singapore a functioning democracy?

You then have an opposition that ends up playing by the rules drawn up by the PAP. Lenin used to label such opposition "useful idiots" and for good reason too. Lenin could boast to the world about a functioning democracy when in reality it was as authoritarian as it could be. An opposition that gives PAP the passing grade and remains silent when asked if WKS should resign? Is that the kind of opposition the Ah Beng wants? Pray tell.

What's the point of having such opposition besides giving PAP the excuse of labelling Singapore a functioning democracy?[/QUOTE]
Much as I disagree with you for your racist remarks, I guess I've to AGREE with this post of yours. The very UNFORTUNATE FACT is that most of our Opposition leaders have NO BALLS to challenge the PAP even in simple cases of police harassment.

The problem is that when I refuse these people, they ask me "Why?"
When I tell them that I don't need to give them a reason, they ask me "Why don't you need to give a reason?"
You can't win with them. :(

you have the right not to answer him....just say your privacy must be protected....:D

Much as I disagree with you for your racist remarks, I guess I've to AGREE with this post of yours. The very UNFORTUNATE FACT is that most of our Opposition leaders have NO BALLS to challenge the PAP even in simple cases of police harassment.

The problem lies with the 'egg' blaming the 'chicken'...true that the opposition have no balls in challeging the police as you had mentioned but the problem does not lie with them alone, the people does not give a solid support.

That is why the PAP is able to, time & time, exploit this, they people of SINkingpore are not bothered with their democractic rights, their rights of a job in their own land, a right to make a living in their own land & a better futire for their descendants.

They rather whine, complain & grumble, in time of distress turn to the oppositions, & when the PAP give them temporary 'balms' in handouts they turn away from the oppositions, and the process, repeats itself.

They are myopic, without any spurs in their shoes & gumption to change what is good for them now, & the future. They rather stick with what they have now...my HDB was $90,000, now I can sell to ah neh for $950,000...

So can you blame the oppositions for haveing no balls, they look behind them, they ARE ALONE!!

:p

you are one of those who likes to be spoon fed?

you must defend your own harassment lah...you think GMS can be at many places at the same time? :D

democracy you must fight for yourself, don't expect other people to fight for you....democracy doesn't fall from the sky...

The very UNFORTUNATE FACT is that most of our Opposition leaders have NO BALLS to challenge the PAP even in simple cases of police harassment.

It's very plain that this series of your postings is to instigate confrontational opposition reaction to police action, which you termed harrassment.

Let's recount.

- Inderjit Singh, PAP MP, at an opening ceremony of a rebuilt hawker centre in his constituency.

- Goh Meng Seng and NSP happened to selling party newspaper nearby.

- Inderjit and/or grassroot leaders called police to check them out.

- Police checked them out, gave advice to avoid confrontation or against scenario that unpleasantry could possibly arise.

- NSP abided by law and police advice.

It's commonsense that even when Chiam See Tong or Low Thia Khiang hold events in Potong Pasir and Hougang, they don't want PAP uniforms that be around too. PAP knows that and police knows that.

Now, what's wrong? Tell me. Ask the Police Commissiosner what? You want? You go ask him. Is Inderjit and his grassroots wrong to call police? If GMS and NSP are not worried, why you worry? Do they owe the nation an answer to what's illegal hawking? I think not. You citizens if interested go National Library Reference Department or surf Attorney-General Chambers website to find out. If you don't do your duty as citizens, stop barking at others who's done more than their fair shares.

What's the point of having such opposition besides giving PAP the excuse of labelling Singapore a functioning democracy?[/QUOTE]

Much as I disagree with you for your racist remarks, I guess I've to AGREE with this post of yours. The very UNFORTUNATE FACT is that most of our Opposition leaders have NO BALLS to challenge the PAP even in simple cases of police harassment.[/
QUOTE]

For someone that posts like a PAP IB brigade comrade, you obviously talk a lot of cock!

Why don't you ask MBT to provide GMS and ALL of Singapore on information regarding the costs of building cheap, shoddy, ugly HDB flats?

You have a lot of nerve coming here and pouting your vermin when you have been farked by your masters all these years.

You are like a useless pice of shit that some shat you out some day. Then when rain hits the ground and touches the shit and splatters about, you complain to the shoe that was hit by the shit from the rain droplets.!!!:oIo::oIo::oIo:

Not everyone here stupid like you! :oIo:

fuck off with your idiotic requests!

Captain Goh has returned from his fact-finding tour in Malaysia.

(Please note that he used his own money, not public funds, not even party funds.)

The basic facts found are Malaysians are actually enjoying higher standards of living (with bungalows, terraces and cars) even at incomes half of Singapore (forex differentials). This is known as PPP (purchasing power parity) in economics, and Singapore is way behind when adjusted according to PPP.

A Singaporean earning S$3,000 p.m. can afford a 3-room HDB flat. If his wife also works and earns another S$3,000 p.m., maybe 5-rm or struggle a bit for a condo. That S$6,000 p.m. is about RM14,000. If a family earns RM14,000 in Malaysia, they live in a 3-storey garden bunglow, have two cars and four kids comfortably.

Why then, are there so many Malaysian PRs in Singapore? Some are simply political fustration with the bumiputra policies in Malaysia. Give up arguing and move off. Some are here exactly for the market and forex differentials. They can earn bigger money quicker, and bringing it back translate into more than double.

That's why the common saying among Malaysian PRs, Malaysia is my home. There's not much advantage in working in Singapore in order to live and die in Singapore. There's advantage only when there's a place back in Malaysia to go back to.

This morning, Goh Meng Seng and NSP members went Tampines. And their path crossed with Tampines PAP MP Ong Kian Beng also on walkabout. The crowds were crowding around the NSP team to buy the North Star newspaper. Unlike the Inderjit Singh incident in AMK weeks ago, Ong Kian Beng just walked away. How come this time no call police? Inderjit Singh law and Ong Kian Beng law different?

Really? I thought this only happens during GE? It will be interesting if TOC or TR covered this walkabout.

Of all people, you should know. North Star (NSP) and Hammer (WP) outreaches happen practically every week somewhere in Singapore.

When I was active with Hammer, I came across NSP too, I came across PAP too. Nothing uncommon in non-election times.

The thing uncommon that sparkled this thread is, Inderjit Singh (or his grassroots) called police.