• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

Where got keep for so long ...

Found image from google ... but Josephians will recognize the school stamp ... the principal then was Bro Joseph Kiely ! And 1C11 stands for Sec 1 QUOTE]

i still have my sec sch bus card. from sec 1 keep til sec 4. somewhere in the storeroom lah.

likewise i also kept the very last day coupon of the ERP (forgot last time call what. those u need to come out from the car and buy from the booth type).

also kept some 10cts and 25cts bus tickets. those the bus conductor will punch a hole type. :D

Was brother Joseph Keily some kind of artist?

The success of this thread obviously means that this forum is infested with old farts.

No Sam, the success of this thread is attributable solely to the threadstarter, MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!! :D
And I resent being called an old fart. I am an oldie but mouldie.

Was brother Joseph Keily some kind of artist?
Nope .... close but nope...
Bro Kiely principal of SJI went on to be principal of CJC.
The one you had in miind is the ex-St Patrick's principal Irishman Bro Joseph McNally ... quite a renowned sculptor/artist founder of La Salle (now La Salle-SIA) College of the Arts .....

In fact, he became a Spore Citizen in 1985 - this type of FT we all can embrace. Many Patricians remember him fondly ....

Nope .... close but nope...
Bro Kiely principal of SJI went on to be principal of CJC.
The one you had in miind is the ex-St Patrick's principal Irishman Bro Joseph McNally ... quite a renowned sculptor/artist founder of La Salle (now La Salle-SIA) College of the Arts .....

In fact, he became a Spore Citizen in 1985 - this type of FT we all can embrace. Many Patricians remember him fondly ....

Yes, I know about Bro. McNally. Did not know he became a S'pore citizen. he had to have given up his Irish citizenship than. Yes, we need more FTs of this calibre.

hi there i really miss the mobile food of yesteryear,in the 60s till late 70s i used to stay in the kampong somewhere along jln alsagoff..where the post office bulding is now..i remember these hawkers are always very puntual when plying their trade on bicycle or tricycle..the morning kueh or chee cheong fun..the afternoon fried mee bee hoon and desert..and at night the mamak who sell bread bread,,the smell and taste of kaya and butter so delicious...i will also never forget the rojak man in the afternoon,yes for 30cts i can get pineapple,turnips,cucumber and taupok wrap in fresh rojak leaf very tasty indeed..i remember one day a childhood friend of mine ask the rojak man a legitimate and innocent question..ah pek when you go and pun sai in the bush do you also also use the the rojak leaf to clean yourself up..he got a good scolding..we really laugh like mad..diseases are unheard because we are resillent due to the hardship condition we live in my time kampong..hen and chickens running about in my house,sound of cockerel waking you up in the morning..dogs barking at night...the music from my redifusion unforgetable espescially during cny..the burning of firecrackers..at night we cant wait to watch movie from shaw brothers david chang,ti lung at the open air cinema call leelee at joo chiat...sweet memories indeed those days...now 2010..zzzzzzz.....

Just one note. LASALLE is now LASALLE College of the Arts. They had the SIA tag because SIA paid for the refurbishment of their Goodman Road Campus. When they moved from there to their black building in town, they removed the SIA tag.

Yes, I know about Bro. McNally. Did not know he became a S'pore citizen. he had to have given up his Irish citizenship than. Yes, we need more FTs of this calibre.

Just one note. LASALLE is now LASALLE College of the Arts. They had the SIA tag because SIA paid for the refurbishment of their Goodman Road Campus. When they moved from there to their black building in town, they removed the SIA tag.

Thanks for the update, LaSalle has many notable graduates ... i believe Kit Chan one of them ....

hi there i really miss the mobile food of yesteryear,in the 60s till late 70s i used to stay in the kampong somewhere along jln alsagoff..where the post office bulding is now..i remember these hawkers are always very puntual when plying their trade on bicycle or tricycle..the morning kueh or chee cheong fun..the afternoon fried mee bee hoon and desert..and at night the mamak who sell bread bread,,the smell and taste of kaya and butter so delicious...i will also never forget the rojak man in the afternoon,yes for 30cts i can get pineapple,turnips,cucumber and taupok wrap in fresh rojak leaf very tasty indeed..i remember one day a childhood friend of mine ask the rojak man a legitimate and innocent question..ah pek when you go and pun sai in the bush do you also also use the the rojak leaf to clean yourself up..he got a good scolding..we really laugh like mad..diseases are unheard because we are resillent due to the hardship condition we live in my time kampong..hen and chickens running about in my house,sound of cockerel waking you up in the morning..dogs barking at night...the music from my redifusion unforgetable espescially during cny..the burning of firecrackers..at night we cant wait to watch movie from shaw brothers david chang,ti lung at the open air cinema call leelee at joo chiat...sweet memories indeed those days...now 2010..zzzzzzz.....

Did you draw water from a well, and did you have an outhouse? I remember staying in the kampung. The chilli sauce that came with the bee hoon was shiok.:)

last time gov help you save money! if your car got 4 passengers no need to pay CBD! gov even build some stands to let people queue to hitch a ride into CBD! car owner can save some money also! anyone remember?

I remember those lining up atthe stands were so picky. If you don't drive a Mercs, u have hard time picking up 4 passengers. I remember there was stands near the Kallang Stadium, just before nicholl highway.

Did you draw water from a well, and did you have an outhouse? I remember staying in the kampung. The chilli sauce that came with the bee hoon was shiok.:)

yes,bro there is a well in which we draw water from it,its quite deep actually,are you from that kampong too? have you bee to the open air cinema at joo chiat where the joo chiat hotel is now?

yes,bro there is a well in the back of my house in which we draw water from it,its quite deep actually,are you from that kampong too? have you bee to the open air cinema at joo chiat where the joo chiat hotel is now?

getImage.jsp

1963 : Policeman directing ttaffic at Joo Chiat Road.

Back when Spore had locals involved in auto racing I remember there was a female driver. Can't remember her name but she also contributed to the Sunday Times on the racing scenes.

Anyone remember her name & what ever happened to her:confused:

>> ASIAONE / MOTORING / MOTORWORLD / OTHERS / STORY <!-- start story details --> <!--tr> <td colspan="3"> </td> </tr--> <!-- ~RENDER PAGE MARKER~ --> <!-- Story With Image Start --> <!-- Story With Image End --> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="560"><tbody><tr> <td colspan="3" height="7">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr> <td width="350" valign="top">
20070512_004a.jpg
</td> <td width="5">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="left" width="200" valign="top"> <table> <tbody><tr> <td class="content_subtitle">Jeanette Wang</td> </tr> <tr><td class="content_subtitle" align="left"> Sat, May 12, 2007
The Straits Times </td> </tr> <tr> <td height="15">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td align="left" valign="top"> </td> <td height="15">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="right" valign="top"> <form action="emailToFriend.jsp" method="POST" name="emailToFriendForm"> <input name="emailToFriendPageURL" value="/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=3eb8308d7e013110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=367a934410422110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD" type="hidden"> <input name="emailToFriendStoryLink" value="http://a1test.asia1.com.sg/Motoring/Motorworld/Others/Story/A1Story20070609-13685.html" type="hidden"> </form> <script> function openEmailWindow(emailToFriendForm) { var emailToFriendPageURL = emailToFriendForm.emailToFriendPageURL.value; emailToFriendForm.action = emailToFriendPageURL; emailToFriendForm.target="_blank"; emailToFriendForm.submit(); } </script> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3"> <!-- TITLE : start --> 'Great it's here!' <!-- TITLE : end--> </td></tr> <tr><td colspan="3" height="15">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3" class="bodytext"> <!-- CONTENT : start --> Most local fans are glad that Singapore is finally getting to host the F1 race
FORMULA one is coming to town, much to the delight of racing fans here.
"Finally," said Anne Wong Holloway, who was one of the few women racers in the Singapore Grand Prix in the 1970s.
"
</td></tr></tbody></table>

getImage.jsp

1963 : Policeman directing ttaffic at Joo Chiat Road.

hi postnew,i really appreciate your posting,i show it to my bro n sis and they enjoy watching it,wonder whether you have any old pics of palace cinema,odeon katong or the old yaohan at sea view hotel..the hawkers that ply their food there was delicious especially the hawker selling popiah on the tricycle thanks once again.

getImage.jsp

PARADISE CINEMA AT THE JUNCTION OF EAST COAST ROAD AND BROOKE ROAD IS ALSO KNOWN AS PALACE THEATRE AND PALACE CENTRE DURING DIFFERNET YEARS.

Since we are all on the topic of 'yesteryears' & 'joo chiat', for those interested in reliving a rare recording of LKY's HOKKIEN speech recorded in Joo Chiat in 1966.

I used to have a CD of LKY released by ZaoBao around 1996 that has short multimedia clips of LKY speaking hokkien but I have lost it. Listening to this Joo Chiat Hokkien Speech, I must say LKY is a bloody 'cunning-linguist' - his hookien is bloody good even for a hakka who learned by rote & probably reading from script - but still quite 'cheem' & powderful.

http://misas.nhb.gov.sg/avs//data/clips/1998002416/1998002416.mp3

Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew speaks at Joo Chiat in Hokkien. He updates the people on the nation's progress, and emphasizes that Singaporeans must treat the country as "our home". He urges Singaporeans to work hard and sacrifice for a better future for Singapore. He stresses that the nation has to be tough-minded to ride through the trying times. PM Lee also touches on the issue of the sale of water from Malaysia. He calls on the nation to conserve water and criticized the Bt Batok grassroot leaders for organizing the 'Water Splashing' Festival on 18th April 2010.