• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Migrants that return.

Aussie Prick

The Main Reason is the "WIFE' factor. Typical Singapore women are the most spoilt, need MUMMY around or a foreign maid to clean, cook, wash and look after babies. Emigration is the SG woman's worst nightmare when the baby comes along and her MUMMY doesn't take the first flight to come and help with the domestic work.

Want to emigrate successfully, make sure your wife is not the home sick kind, or eats only SG hawker food only, must be able to cook, sew, wash, clean, iron and look after babies. IF NOT, life as an emigrant would be one living hell the moment you disembark from the airplane and your wife would be calling and talking for hours long distance everyday to her parents in Singapore and burning a big hole in your budget flying to and fro from your new country to Singapore several times in a year to see her parents, brothers/sisters etc and buying many foreign goodies/souvenirs as presents for them.

Those Singaporeans who need to be spoonfed and instructed or told what to do would suffer greatly anywhere outside of SINGAPORE. The PAP govt is most suitable for these types of braindead, zombie Singaporeans including keeping their CPF permanently for them.

I would disagree that housing costs is a factor that drives S'poreans back to Singapore. Compared to overpriced HDB pigeonholes where there are no other alternatives, properties in Australia/NZ are cheap and value for money and there are always cheaper alternatives in less crowded cities. I believe the reason would be loss of self esteem in doing jobs which are regarded as 'low class' or menial even if the wages are good. They want to be "HOW LIAN" and work in premium jobs (white collar office work as managers) and if they can't get them, they will crawl back to Singapore.

Your NZ housing prices might still be lower than Singapore - but you might want to update yourself on Australian housing prices - which has recently been labelled "most unaffordable in the world"

I dont see much difference between Singapore housing prices and Australia - especially in the major city areas.

Rule no.1 don't find a Sporean as wife. Rule no.2 don't find a Sporean as a wife when you are oversea. rule no.3 don't find a Sporean wife when you are anywhere. I got divorced partly because I got a 'spoiled' Sporean wife. If there's a world ranking of worse wives, I believe Sporean is up there in the top.5.
Most Singaporean wives are spoilt.
The reason why some marriages are sustained is either because the sacrifice for the children outweighs her spoiltness or everything is still smooth sailing, for example, there are no worries with sickness, jobs, money, in-laws, affairs, etc.
If there are any signs of trouble, the singaporean wife will bail out.
I'm not speaking on your behalf or saying that yours is one of the example I stated, you should know your own situation best.

neddy

These are my thoughts ..................

I agree mostly. I think this is how they compared Sydney and SG.

1. Sydney's nanny cost is so much higher hiring a phillipino maid to look after baby.
:smile: this is a sticky issue.

2. Everything must DIY, in Sg they can depend on maid, in-law, parent to look after their kid, cooking or sometimes do labour job.
:smile: you can look for asian home-cooked meals delivery service. Of course, if they happen to be cheaper popular ones who cooked very well, hardly repeat the dishes - you will be put on waiting list.
:smile: get a trustable baby sitter to give you people a break once a week.

3. High income tax in Australia.
:smile: this is relative.

4. Housing - cheaper to buy HDB then a private apartment in Sydney. Eg. $300k+ for a 4 bedroom flat vs a $500k+ 2 bedroom apartment in a average suburb.
:smile: how can you compare singapore with sydney? try comparing hk with sydney.

5. Availability of affordable Asian food. $3 char kway teow in Sg vs a $9 equivalent in Sydney.
:smile: look at the portion. these days, one plate in singapore not enough.

neddy

Your NZ housing prices might still be lower than Singapore - but you might want to update yourself on Australian housing prices - which has recently been labelled "most unaffordable in the world"

I dont see much difference between Singapore housing prices and Australia - especially in the major city areas.

I think the only Aussie capital cities with lower house prices are Adelaide and Hobart. Even Darwin has take off with the territory economic boom.

By comparison, the old public flats above bras baseh complex is cheap at $650,000. And the lift does not stop at every floor.

fishbuff

Eh, out of curiosity, how you found out they were doing that when you are in Sg? I wasn't into the whole church going, religious thingy back in Sg, but from what I see in the forum there seem to some "hatred" between the xtian crowd and the tua pek kong crowd in here.

it didnt really occur to me and neither there was an awareness of "different" lifestyle overseas. while i dont complain about overseas students that came back to discuss about this topic since they are gen Y and we are gen x, i am still quite upset that these religious leaders are pretty narrow minded and selfish. They would talk about "obedience to the authority since they are appointed by GOD". plus keeping the flock in check, no heresy, no alternate views. With the kind of SG education, i am not surprised that they have such easy hold on their will, exploiting their faith to control the masses.

it is not about xtian and tua peh kong crowds, but people lack the abilities to appreciate the differences. segregation and stratification of society give a person his "advantages" over others and that is power in his own mind, a sort of comfort to his ego.

it is like a north korean that went to the south, enjoyed for 5 years, brought their children over and stayed there, then return back to the north since he is a leader of some sort in a group, and then keep quiet about the difference of life in the south.

fishbuff

walao eh.. again on house prices.. what kind of profession are u holding? are u on dole that u dont have the earning capability to finance a house? come to brisbane then, a house at goodna/Gailes set u back only like $250k but dont expect to have a fantastic neighbourhood.

if u want to living in bukit timah 6th avenue but complain about the million dollar house, that is illogical.

IWC2006

Hmmm anything but a Singaporean wife sounds like the advice I've been given. How about going to china and get a nice chio PRC mei mei ah ? You guys think its feasible?

U sure? I recommend you to stay away from PRC as well. They are very sneazy and being the only child in the family, they want the best of everything and are extremely competitive. Some may do very 'feminine' and nice things in front of you but you don't know what they do behind the back. I'm not trying to generalise them but if you understand their background and their upbringing in society you'll get to understand them better. Also, avoid Shanghainese at all costs. If u want to meet one, go to Ashfield. Don't know, maybe I'm bias, I can't stand the way they dress up, talk or behaviour in public.

Try Viet, Indo, taiwanese, Malaysians(KL girls are quite similiar to Sporeans but a lot better), Thai, Laos. Japs usually go for Angmos, koreans go for Ang mo or their own ethnic. Esp for Viets, a couple of my workmates here have viet wives and they have high successful marriage retention rate.

IWC2006

Most Singaporean wives are spoilt.
The reason why some marriages are sustained is either because the sacrifice for the children outweighs her spoiltness or everything is still smooth sailing, for example, there are no worries with sickness, jobs, money, in-laws, affairs, etc.
If there are any signs of trouble, the singaporean wife will bail out.
I'm not speaking on your behalf or saying that yours is one of the example I stated, you should know your own situation best.

i guess I learnt my lesson. what can I say? :-)

Aussie Prick

walao eh.. again on house prices.. what kind of profession are u holding? are u on dole that u dont have the earning capability to finance a house? come to brisbane then, a house at goodna/Gailes set u back only like $250k but dont expect to have a fantastic neighbourhood.

if u want to living in bukit timah 6th avenue but complain about the million dollar house, that is illogical.

You said it not me. High costs has affected Singapore. Now look at what the high costs in Australia has done. In Singapore, land is scarce. But in Australia, with a land mass comparable to that of the USA, with only 22 Million people vs 330 million people there is NO EXCUSE for your pathetic planning system that perpetuates artifically high property prices. No wonder Australians visiting America have thier eyes popping out in disbelief when they see American property prices.

You want to improve Australia? Just get your planning councils to release land for development 3X faster and your property prices will crash down 50%- then Australia might actually have some draw for a prospective migrant.

neddy

You want to improve Australia? Just get your planning councils to release land for development 3X faster and your property prices will crash down 50%- then Australia might actually have some draw for a prospective migrant.

Hey, let not get too carried away with all these house prices.
I still have houses being built for sale. :biggrin:

Actually, I don't believe all the BS about planning councils not releasing land for development.

In Perth, there are so much land to release, BUT No takers. Who wants to live in "Sengkang" when they can rent in "Toa Payoh"

By the way, a lot of us think that Australia is full. Unless it is able to attract migrants to regional centres, it is best to keep them out and reduce traffic on the road. :biggrin:

The best way to let property prices fall 50% is to ask PAP to come to govern Australia. Are they willing?

Hmmm anything but a Singaporean wife sounds like the advice I've been given. How about going to china and get a nice chio PRC mei mei ah ? You guys think its feasible?

Marry an Aussie chick. They go screw around and have many affairs and you raisse a bastard that is not from your dickhead. She wants a divorce if you found out and she will apply for a DAVO (restrain order) to piss you off and you become homeless. She biring back her darling to sleep on your house, you maybe still paying the mortgage.

She tempts you to come home and reported to the police and she send you to jail. Then she commences divorce proceeding.

She took half, if not all your properties and leave you shit.

So better find a Singapore girl yeah!

axe168

I agree with you.. our Councils will never change their ways of handling the development plans.. this is why our property prices are heading north ! We have an unstoppable economy, this leads to abundance jobs opportunity... i'm sure this is a basic need for prospective migrants.

Instead of complaining about Australia, I would like to invite you to my backyard for barbie & beer.. look at my land & tell me why it is so high...

neddy

Marry an Aussie chick. They go screw around and have many affairs and you raisse a bastard that is not from your dickhead. She wants a divorce if you found out and she will apply for a DAVO (restrain order) to piss you off and you become homeless. She biring back her darling to sleep on your house, you maybe still paying the mortgage.

She tempts you to come home and reported to the police and she send you to jail. Then she commences divorce proceeding.

She took half, if not all your properties and leave you shit.

So better find a Singapore girl yeah!

I have a nice Jap chick, nice country girl, not the Osaka/Tokyo type.
Into ballroom dancing for leisure.

ManBearPig62

In Perth, there are so much land to release, BUT No takers. Who wants to live in "Sengkang" when they can rent in "Toa Payoh"

The problem is infrastructure. Public transport, essential services, transport network. The governments are incompetent and don't take rural areas seriously... the Black Saturday fires show that the Victorian government can't even provide critical emergency services to outlying towns.

Sydney is another fine example.

By the way, a lot of us think that Australia is full. Unless it is able to attract migrants to regional centres, it is best to keep them out and reduce traffic on the road. :biggrin:

I agree with you that Rudd's "Big Australia" is not what this country needs. He needs the stimulus from immigration to cover up his economic mismanagement. In the rush to attract talent, not enough policing was being done to ensure PRs were of the proper quality. It's a good thing that is being addressed now. In 20 years time, I believe Australia will resemble the US or Singapore... and that's not a good thing.

Again, infrastructure. Hard to attract migrants to live in a place without amenities. Those who migrated under the regional sponsor scheme usually leave after their 3 years are up.

neddy

I have a nice Jap chick, nice country girl, not the Osaka/Tokyo type.
Into ballroom dancing for leisure.

forgot to add, she is just my staff. But if no takers, she will be back in Japan after visa expires.

wrcboi

The problem is infrastructure. Public transport, essential services, transport network. The governments are incompetent and don't take rural areas seriously... the Black Saturday fires show that the Victorian government can't even provide critical emergency services to outlying towns.

I agree with you that Rudd's "Big Australia" is not what this country needs. He needs the stimulus from immigration to cover up his economic mismanagement. In the rush to attract talent, not enough policing was being done to ensure PRs were of the proper quality. It's a good thing that is being addressed now. In 20 years time, I believe Australia will resemble the US or Singapore... and that's not a good thing.

Again, infrastructure. Hard to attract migrants to live in a place without amenities. Those who migrated under the regional sponsor scheme usually leave after their 3 years are up.

infrastructure is important but they take years to do one simple damn thing...aust with that size need about 35-40 million population to sustain growth...but the govt is doing too slowly to improve infrastructure...any building is more than 10storeys high is consider too much and etc......train sys...internet and lots more...only full of complains and less work done

axe168

infrastructure is important but they take years to do one simple damn thing...aust with that size need about 35-40 million population to sustain growth...but the govt is doing too slowly to improve infrastructure...any building is more than 10storeys high is consider too much and etc......train sys...internet and lots more...only full of complains and less work done

Ah.... I see opportunity when there's chaos. As long as Australia keeps doing the same, my family will retire with ease..

fishbuff

You said it not me. High costs has affected Singapore. Now look at what the high costs in Australia has done. In Singapore, land is scarce. But in Australia, with a land mass comparable to that of the USA, with only 22 Million people vs 330 million people there is NO EXCUSE for your pathetic planning system that perpetuates artifically high property prices. No wonder Australians visiting America have thier eyes popping out in disbelief when they see American property prices.

tsktsk.. still think like an ah xia kai. i know u are from eurasian/baba background so u had a good life with everythings laid out for u back in sg. i know you dont have a good career coz having too good a life in the beginning had not prepare you for tougher challenge and u lack the drive to succeed. no need to talk about australia vs america. both of these places are out of your leagues. if u have the drive, u can make it anywhere.. but alas, u chose to stay in sg and be an arm-chair critic.

my tenants from india told me that his whole village of young 18-25 people just came over to australia via student visa and take up all sort of cleaning jobs. they have their own abn, go to gumtree and start looking for jobs and live in 2-3 couples per houses. They are determined to make it here; one of the bangladeshi IT guy that i had helped to find a job, bought a land in goodna (not a really good suburb), and prepare to get loan to build a house. the land costed him $150k.. the 3bedroom house should cost him $80-$110k to build, flat print from Dixon home. Plus the suburb has a train station that takes 35-40min to the city.

im impressed with these people ternacity and resilient. like thise harold rose' version of samleong, he too went thru the shits and made it well today.

really, i salute these people.

fishbuff

good insight. i think it is the social culture here that everyone wait for the government to support them hands and legs. who was that drug addic girl that had to be flown to sg for the liver operation and the perth govt loan them $250k for it? i have high doubt that the family wont pay a single cent back at all.

Now this tony abbott is going to rip out more tax from the companies to support 6 months paid maternity/paternity leave for parents! this is vote buying and will drive more businesses out. Peter Costello has spoken out against such plan, he is probably one good leader that Oz never have.

there arent any good leaders that will put their feet down and be brave enough to draw up a bigger master plan to revamp Oz. the health cost is taking too much from the govt coffer and there are massive wastage among the government agencies. e.g. duplication of services with 3-4x of headcounts that do similar jobs. basically it is all about little empire building in the govt agencies. i worked with them before; goodness, most of them cant make the mark, unmotivated and very protective about their privileges.

in 20 years time, i think oz will move in a different direction other than sg and us. with the mines producing enough $$$ for the next 400 years for china and everywhere else, that will be easy money in the pockets and the govt here will still squander more $$ on welfare and unnecessary green (like this stupid insulation and solar plan).. absolute waste of good taxpayer money. it will be very heavy on social focus and very bad toward business entities. They should clam down immigrations and cut back social benefits.. way too many free loafing men loitering around the shopping centres during weekdays.