Overcrowding MRT

And that CCB Lemon Limp minister can still tell u that it's under-utilized! Say, why do the 66% GOONDUS still want to return such lan cheow ministers to power?

photo.jpg

actaully not tht crowded but because of the influx of foreign trash....the govt now so happy. everyday I see them on mrt i feel like a minority singaporean altho all along i felt that way as im baba. lol

I think even tho I dont like racist cheena fuckers, theres seriously way too many indians...

cultural harmony takes time. ah beng and cheena fuckers now must be the most affected as their majority status quo is threatened.

anyway, alot of cheena fuckers are well to do as they drive cars and dont reall take the train.

To the (66.6% PAP supporter) the overcrowded public transport service is 'BO PIANG"(can't be helped), under opposition will become worse.

To the astute businessmen it is MAXIMISING PROFITS. Smart S'poreans will quickly buy MRT/SBS shares and get a share of the profits in dividends. The % of profits in dividends surely is higher than SG fixed deposits or even the CPF interests rates.

Hmmm.....must quickly load more of SMRT shares! :D

Japan Train has employees to push passengers into the train. Think we ought to have. It is good to be crowded that you can find ladies may pushed against you. Enjoy the journey!

To the astute businessmen it is MAXIMISING PROFITS. Smart S'poreans will quickly buy MRT/SBS shares and get a share of the profits in dividends. The % of profits in dividends surely is higher than SG fixed deposits or even the CPF interests rates.

There must be many talented scholars & friends of the familee employed by SMRT. Don't expect them to be satisfied with just peanuts.

Not forgetting the many VIP directors who are getting $$$.

So even though SMRT is profitable, shareholders might not get full value from their investment.

There must be many talented scholars & friends of the familee employed by SMRT. Don't expect them to be satisfied with just peanuts.

Not forgetting the many VIP directors who are getting $$$.

So even though SMRT is profitable, shareholders might not get full value from their investment.
Someone should start a petition to get the transport ministar to take the mrt everyday for 6 months before the elections.

I have been holding SMRT shares since IPO time. Have loaded several lots fm secondary mkt. Been getting pretty good dividends compared to monkey peanuts interest fm banks. Capital value improved fm her IPO price. So still a good counter to hold....rain or shine...still profitable. :D Unlike CSM! :mad:

Someone should start a petition to get the transport ministar to take the mrt everyday for 6 months before the elections.

good call. and if the the mini star didnt give up his seat to the needy. he should quit "graciously".

I Been getting pretty good dividends compared to monkey peanuts interest fm banks. Capital value improved fm her IPO price. So still a good counter to hold....

How often do they send you a dividen each year, is it every quarter :confused:

I recd twice last year...total 0.075cts per share. Not forgetting the capital gains and definitely better than putting ur funds earning peanut interest fm the banks. :D

SMRT is profitable because they have a monpoly. Don't have to rely on Spore companies to receive dividens.

I'm holding onto my M'sian shares which I bought during the CLOB days because of the regular dividens I'm receiving. Not only do they give me dividens but I'm given extra shares :eek:

However the disadvantage of having them held by a Spore broker is that they charge me a monthly $2 for each counter held by them & when I get dividen they charge gst. Using a broker to buy/sell is also expensive.

Anyone looking for dividens should look at Malaysian shares.

Get a Malaysian trading account from Maybank in JB which allows buying/selling via the internet without the high cost of a broker. No holding charge, no gst, no broker commissions,....

... However the disadvantage of having them held by a Spore broker is that they charge me a monthly $2 for each counter held by them & when I get dividen they charge gst. Using a broker to buy/sell is also expensive. ...
dey waive dat 2 lollar fee if u trade actively ...

... Anyone looking for dividens should look at Malaysian shares. ...
msian coys gif mor dividends ... but dey r mostly taxable 1 ... n 1 mor ting ... beware msian currency drops ...

during ah badawi's time, it dropped badly ... now, @ least iz quite stabilised ...

... Get a Malaysian trading account from Maybank in JB which allows buying/selling via the internet without the high cost of a broker. No holding charge, no gst, no broker commissions,....
actually still got broker commission 1 la ... but very much less ...

dey waive dat 2 lollar fee if u trade actively ...

msian coys gif mor dividends ... but 1 ting ... beware msian currency drops ...

during ah badawi's time, it dropped badly ... now, @ least iz quite stabilised ...

actually still got broker commission 1 la ... but very much less ...

I no longer actively trade Spore shares. Thats why I'm angry that I'm being penalised for holding Malaysian share in Spore. These extra charges were added "after" I had bought the shares, same thing with the CPF investment scheme. The holding fee was added after I had invested.

You're right in that the Malaysian $$ fluctuate. Thats why its better to have a Malaysian trading account. You can keep your Malaysian ringgit in your trading account until the rates are better before converting to Sing$.

Internet trading charges are really cheap. I actively trade US shares & it only costs US$10 per trade. When I was trading US shares using a Spore based broker it would cost me a couple of hundred per trade :eek:
Internet trading allows scalpers to make $$$. :)

So much complains about the overcrowded MRTs, but how about solutions?

solutions? how about running more trains at peak intervals for example. Run it at 2-3 mins intervals. I am sure a lot of forummers will agree with that. Problem is that SMRT wants to maximize their profits, so they run it every 5-6 mins...

running more trains at peak hour and jamming up the end stations?

you are not solving the problems but creating more.

it's a peak hour problem due to geo-demographics. decreasing intervals can alleviate but not solve the problem long term. moreover, the system has an interval lower limit, due to safety, speed, track capacity (space), number of tracks, number of cars per train, number of trains per track, end station holding time, depot capacity, etc.

the root cause of the problem is the large and rapid increase in sg's population, without the necessary timely increase in the system capacity and number of tracks.

traffic 101. star and spoke design. when there is a concentration of traffic in the downtown area due to the concentration of transfer points in the system design, i.e. all routes converging at a few transfer points, there will be congestion and capacity issues at and towards these transfer points.

traffic 102. mesh design. to solve the problem on a long term basis, they need more ring routes in the perimeter and middle of the island in order to distribute end-point to end-point traffic without this traffic contributing to the downtown congestion. this means creating more transfer points in the ring routes outside of the city center. a mesh approach allows passengers to find alternate routes when they perceive their direct or primary routes are congested. it may mean more transfer points in getting to destination, but it's better than getting stuck on the only spoke getting into the city center for transfers.

traffic 103. for major routes going to/fro city center and big towns, parallel routes may have to be created at a distance of 5 miles apart to serve not-yet-served population centers along the way. for example, the long geylang/changi road (parallel to the east-west line to bedok and tampines) where many fellow sammyboys go to every evening for r&r deserves a brand new track of its own. and call that the 'happy ending' line. :D

increase the cost of MRT by factors of 10 will reduced the number of passangers in MRT, directing peasants and cheap FT to SBS bus and thus reduced the number of people using MRT.