• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious What are the implications if Singapore reduces her population to 3.5 million?

CharKuayTeow

The pix of Detroit only tell part of the story though... the abandoned houses are being torn down, and parkland is returning to the city. It seems to be gentrifying. Lack of jobs there is made far worse by bad city governments.

Life will be less hectic, no overcrowding in buses and trains. Shopping malls would be less crowded too. And we won't see irritating little bastard Ah Nehs running around playgrounds like headless monkeys.

The pix of Detroit only tell part of the story though... the abandoned houses are being torn down, and parkland is returning to the city. It seems to be gentrifying. Lack of jobs there is made far worse by bad city governments.
lesson learned in america is that wherever there’s a sizable nigger population in the neighborhood, avoid and move as far away to a majority angmoh suburb as possible.

PAP says they are universally talented. They can find a job in the private sector. Doubt those companies that recruit them will last long.
Good example is Ng Yat Chung
Silly man u. He at NOL to doll up the old girl for sale! Found a buyer right away too! :cool:

amransan

That’s about the right number. 1.6 when I was a kid, 2.1 when Singapore was at its peak livability.

Bro 12 years ago me and my dear wife went to Perth to recky and at the same time holidays there.

I not sure what was the population there but it was so comfortable and not crowded at all it reminded me of Singapore in the early 80s!
Immediately I fall in love with Perth!!!
And told my wife we should migrate there.

And when we were on the plane back to Singapore when the plane wheel touched the runway suddenly my tears came out from my eyes! My wife saw it and told me just endure another 2 more years we will move there.
I guess my soul was crying.

Well sadly we didn’t get to migrate to Perth but end up in Melbourne lol

CharKuayTeow

I not sure what was the population there but it was so comfortable and not crowded at all it reminded me of Singapore in the early 80s!

That was the time! In 1980, Singapore’s population was 2.4 million. In 1985, it was 2.7 million. In 1990, it was 3.0 million. So I was a bit off... to me, peak Singapore was in the mid to late 1980s. If our population drops back to 3 million, we would be ok, and would actually be able to sit down in the MRT. By about the early 90’s the writing was on the wall, and my career was overseas. Always thought of Singapore as home, but how to go back now? No space, too expensive, culture diluted by Tiongs and CECAs...

Loofydralb

Silly man u. He at NOL to doll up the old girl for sale! Found a buyer right away too! :cool:
Although you my be right or those people at temasek may think they are clever but pls do not underestimate the people at APL who bought them over, to be dense and not know what is happening in NOL.
Fact is they turned it profitable in 1 year. That still makes NYC a dunce.

amransan

That was the time! In 1980, Singapore’s population was 2.4 million. In 1985, it was 2.7 million. In 1990, it was 3.0 million. So I was a bit off... to me, peak Singapore was in the mid to late 1980s. If our population drops back to 3 million, we would be ok, and would actually be able to sit down in the MRT. By about the early 90’s the writing was on the wall, and my career was overseas. Always thought of Singapore as home, but how to go back now? No space, too expensive, culture diluted by Tiongs and CECAs...

bro those who seen and experienced those days late 80s and before that understand what i trying to say where sg were indeed the best country to lived!
as for my dear wife she is 10 years younger then me (she born in1983) so to her the crowded in sg is normal she can adapt to it because she growing up seeing the crowd but not me i feel so suffocating and gets very stress and get very bad migraine.
i am fortunate that my dear wife agree to migrate out of singapore for good and after 4 years later she experienced what is really life she agree to renounce her singapore citisenship :smile:

sometime i loves to ask her if she want to go back to sg and live there again her answer everytime makes me smile "for what?!"

CPTMiller

Hope so man. Really hope so. See how your property price collapse.

So many empty units!
Those owner stay in property will still ok.
Only property investor aka rich will take a hit.
Stay in property owner will not directly affected by property market price.
But the greatest loser is government income.
So that's why Pap will keep increasing the population.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Those owner stay in property will still ok.
Only property investor aka rich will take a hit.
Stay in property owner will not directly affected by property market price.
But the greatest loser is government income.
So that's why Pap will keep increasing the population.
Really? The value of the home you live in drop 50% doesnt affect you at all?

Wah good lah

CPTMiller

Really? The value of the home you live in drop 50% doesnt affect you at all?

Wah good lah
If I am selling my HDB property then YES.
Also do you think even with population capped at 4.5mil , my HDB property price will drop by 50%??

Majority house owner is HDB but if they are investor obviously they may own a few private property too. So Yes. This group of people are greatly affected if market price drastic drop