ITE really = it's the end!!!! dude becomes fishmonger after graduating from ITE

TerrexLee

1561985539475.png

SINGAPORE — At 4.30am, when most of his millennial peers are probably sleeping, Mr Liew Rhui Heng, 23, gets out of bed and drives his truck to the Jurong Fishery Port to get the freshest seafood for his customers.

After an hour or so, he heads to the wet market at Jurong West Blk 497 — about a 10-minute drive from the port — where he unloads at least one tonne (1,000kg) of seafood.

By about 7am, he has set up his stall and is ready for the day’s first customers. By 2pm, it is time to clean up the stall and call it a day.

This is a typical day’s work for Mr Liew, one of the youngest fishmongers in an ageing wet market culture, far from what might be expected of an Institute of Technical Education (ITE) electronics, computer networking and communications graduate.

His is a path rarely travelled by millennials, a job many might see, in his own words, as “dirty, smelly and unpleasant”.

“After graduation, I realised that I didn’t have much interest in what I studied in ITE and wanted to try something new,” he said.

PARENTS TOLD HIM TO FURTHER HIS STUDIES

It all started when a relative introduced him to the job while Mr Liew was still in National Service.

His first stint as a fishmonger on weekends was “simply to earn some cash”. After completing NS in 2017, he realised he had developed a passion for the trade and decided to do it full-time.

But when Mr Liew first told his parents about the decision, they were rather reluctant and told him to further his studies instead.

Like most parents, they would have preferred that he went for a “comfortable, high-paying” job.

“They told me to do something else, because they feel that this is a job with no future,” Mr Liew said. “They wanted me to work in an air-conditioned environment, not like the wet market.”

Two years into the job, his parents finally gave him their blessing.

“Because they saw that I am doing something I like, I feel less stressed and have more free time. They even come and buy seafood from me sometimes,” Mr Liew said.

More at https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/millennial-turns-his-back-office-job-opts-life-wet-market

1000 kg of fish sold a day is not small change... I think he's making quite a bit.
He will become more successful than those who work for others all their life. Never laff at such people.
hanor, having the capital to purchase that amount worth of fish amounts to something and is something to be reckoned with.
assuming he's single, he can be a successful fishpreneur - rolling his cash well, unless he lands a kind of "sucker' fish and gets his life fucked over :unsure:

hanor, having the capital to purchase that amount worth of fish amounts to something and is something to be reckoned with.
assuming he's single, he can be a successful fishpreneur - rolling his cash well, unless he lands a kind of "sucker' fish and gets his life fucked over :unsure:
Agree. With increasing population and demand for fish consumption, he will succeed. I go Tekka buy red garoupa from a fish seller. That guy is more successful than Uni grads who become yes men and women to rubbish senior management. End up, no more passion.

According to narong.
U go tekka market poh u tekka siao.
Free 1kg la la and 300 grams sea prawn for every whole garoupa purchased.

This guy is the boss ... he has been trying to train his son in this business. I hope his son is interested and has passion.

Lee Yit Huat Trading, stall #01-53 Tekka Market

maxresdefault.jpg

One of the largest and most famous seafood sellers in the market, these guys have a tremendous variety of prawns (some really giant ones), squid and fish- including salmon fillets, whole snapper and dozens of other local fish which they will prepare and cut/clean to order. They have a wide variety of fish and also sell fresh Salmon.

This stall is where the real fish lovers come to shop…watch and learn how they pick out the freshest fish!

I wish this dude all the best in his fish selling endeavours.. At least he is not like those irritating insurance agents or charity sellers, who stop strangers on the streets and claim that they are not selling anything. :biggrin:

This guy is the boss ... he has been trying to train his son in this business. I hope his son is interested and has passion.

Lee Yit Huat Trading, stall #01-53 Tekka Market

maxresdefault.jpg

One of the largest and most famous seafood sellers in the market, these guys have a tremendous variety of prawns (some really giant ones), squid and fish- including salmon fillets, whole snapper and dozens of other local fish which they will prepare and cut/clean to order. They have a wide variety of fish and also sell fresh Salmon.

This stall is where the real fish lovers come to shop…watch and learn how they pick out the freshest fish!
Nothing in tekka is cheap.
Or rather they are more expensive than other markets.

True that... while many PMETs in their 50s and 40s moan and groan about being laid off, this chap will not have this problem.

Don't be too sure about that. It's Sinkieland after all. 'Safe' jobs across the spectrum are all under threat by foreign invaders.

I read the title of this thread it’s all about young people must work hard study hard if not end up in VI with a smelly job

It’s like me I young that time mai-tak-cheh lazy ended up a lowly screw salesman going door to door in a 3rd world country begging people to buy my wares. At least this Mr. Liew is doing his job close to his family members in a First World Swiss Standard country. Being lonely and far from my kins took a heavy toll on me having to go for regular therapy.

Please study hard young people.

silver lining is (no pun intended) as a fish seller he will get used to many chaocheebye aunties in sg. one whiff of rotten sushi still can stand and deal.