• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Questions On Singapore Laws - Arrest, Remand, State Courts

Short sentence ie any sentence below a year not entitled to work. Even some above 1 year sentence never get to work. Unless a few months sentence ie above 6 months can request for work and I’ve seen those given jobs.

Backdating sentence not a given.

Ok thanks...but from what I understood from the call to the prison hotline...the length of jail time, seems to be kess 14 days too...I will confirm. Is it not fair, that one spend 14 days in remand prison & that does not count towards the sentencing??

When you visit him the ask him when is his EDR earliest date of release.
He should know ask him to look at his own cell docket outside his cell

shittypore

KNN last time my uncle was offered a composition fine of $4600 vs stay hilton for 5 weeks KNN it was a difficult decision to make $4600/35 days =$131 KNN will you pay fine or stay hilton KNN

Stay lah, free food and lodging. Likely after 35 days he mighty even like it and ask for extension.

KNN the IO said for retiree he strongly recommend stay but for employees he said take your time to decide whether to be in criminal record or get free food KNN not easy to decide between free lodging instead of paying 4.6k for near retiree becas the opportunity cost is 4.6k + about $20x35 =$5.3k considering lodging and food cost $20/day KNN

KNN last time my uncle was offered a composition fine of $4600 vs stay hilton for 5 weeks KNN it was a difficult decision to make $4600/35 days =$131 KNN will you pay fine or stay hilton KNN
This is too cheap. Meaning not worth it. He must be a hardcore case. Usually default fines market is $500 per day. Some huge fine amount ones like Cigs or Ah Long can be worth $1k per day when you break it down. Some got money also won’t pay up coz not easy to make $1k per day.
Anyway 5 weeks you dun sit full 5 weeks you get out after 3 weeks. It’s very good to stay short stint like go for detox

This is too cheap. Meaning not worth it. He must be a hardcore case. Usually default fines market is $500 per day. Some huge fine amount ones like Cigs or Ah Long can be worth $1k per day when you break it down. Some got money also won’t pay up coz not easy to make $1k per day.
Anyway 5 weeks you dun sit full 5 weeks you get out after 3 weeks. It’s very good to stay short stint like go for detox
KNN paiseh can explain clearer KNN
1. when you say too cheap not worth it do you mean the fine 4.6k is cheap and not worth to stay changi
2. default fine mkt $500 per day do you mean for 4.6k fine it should be 4600/500 about 9 days jail ?
KNN my uncle just feel that 5wks is too long for a 4.6k fine KNN

KNN paiseh can explain clearer KNN
1. when you say too cheap not worth it do you mean the fine 4.6k is cheap and not worth to stay changi
2. default fine mkt $500 per day do you mean for 4.6k fine it should be 4600/500 about 9 days jail ?
KNN my uncle just feel that 5wks is too long for a 4.6k fine KNN

1. Yes you can Google for default sentence for fines.
2. I know of a 7k fine default only 14 days jail.

Your Uncle got the short end of the stick.

Many sit out the default deem it as money earned

1. Yes you can Google for default sentence for fines.
2. I know of a 7k fine default only 14 days jail.

Your Uncle got the short end of the stick.

Many sit out the default deem it as money earned
KNN that means the asshole IO tried to short change my uncle verbally KNN who is the party that will issue or decide the jail sentence before the charges KNN as paying composite fine is to escape court sentence KNN

KNN that means the asshole IO tried to short change my uncle verbally KNN who is the party that will issue or decide the jail sentence as paying composite fine is to escape court sentence KNN
It’s the judge. IO got no say.
Actually the fine is also a court sentence so it’s still a criminal record it’s only never go jail

It’s the judge. IO got no say.
Actually the fine is also a court sentence so it’s still a criminal record it’s only never go jail
KNN that means IO has accessed to communicate with judge during off office hours KNN he was arrested late like 8pm and by midnight the IO returned to tell him about the fine amounts vs estimated jail sentence but also say need to punish him in lockup for at least close to 24 hours then by 1 to 2 am the IO look more keen to receive fine and kept asking he got credit card etc or else he will need to deport him to cantonment for family member to go there bail KNN luckily he got cards and don't need any family involvement only lock until next day about 2pm then release as a free man with 4.6k debt to cc company KNN

When you visit him the ask him when is his EDR earliest date of release.
He should know ask him to look at his own cell docket outside his cell

I know..before I go prison to see him. I just want to know, the estimate release date. From you its 47 days, the judge was mumbling to run concurrently, for he was out on bail. But, he had spent 14 days in remand prison before he was bailed out, for they kept going to court for mentions..

When he was sentenced to 10 weeks, that, will be 70 days...2/3 = 47 days must less 14 days right...I think the justice system is fair, for person had already sat in jail for 14 days before sentencing....so 47-14 = 33 days jail time, right?

I know..before I go prison to see him. I just want to know, the estimate release date. From you its 47 days, the judge was mumbling to run concurrently, for he was out on bail. But, he had spent 14 days in remand prison before he was bailed out, for they kept going to court for mentions..

When he was sentenced to 10 weeks, that, will be 70 days...2/3 = 47 days must less 14 days right...I think the justice system is fair, for person had already sat in jail for 14 days before sentencing....so 47-14 = 33 days jail time, right?
Out on bail?
If he was out on bail then remand period no count already unless remanded for more than 2 months but even that is not a 100% given.

Out on bail?
If he was out on bail then remand period no count already unless remanded for more than 2 months but even that is not a 100% given.

I believe the system should be fair, after all, we tout to be corruption free ? He spent 14 days in remand prison, I bailed him out, they started the ding dong court mentions before finally went to court sentence. I feel that the legal system should be fair....70 days..approximately 47 days...then should less 14 days for being in remand..

I have asked around....nobody seems to know, what is the jail time here...some say should deduct the 14 days, some say would not...etc.

But I feel that the 14 days spend in remand should be considered, then the person jailed for 14 days before sentencing is not fair right? after all you are in JAIL already for that time...some say yes...some say no...I feel if not included...not fair.

I believe the system should be fair, after all, we tout to be corruption free ? He spent 14 days in remand prison, I bailed him out, they started the ding dong court mentions before finally went to court sentence. I feel that the legal system should be fair....70 days..approximately 47 days...then should less 14 days for being in remand..

I have asked around....nobody seems to know, what is the jail time here...some say should deduct the 14 days, some say would not...etc.

But I feel that the 14 days spend in remand should be considered, then the person jailed for 14 days before sentencing is not fair right? after all you are in JAIL already for that time...some say yes...some say no...I feel if not included...not fair.

I believe this is in the law. Maybe under some fine print.
Less than 2 months in remand and you choose to bail out before that then no backdate.
If you argue with them then they will tell you bail was offered. The fact your chap got can’t raise bail then it’s not their fault.
And backdate of sentence although usually the norm also depends on the type of sentence. For CT and PD sentences there are no backdate.
And sole discretion is always with the judge.
So any backdate judge would already have mentioned during sentencing.
You guy was bailed out so confirm the 14 days Sit for free

Less than 2 months in remand and you choose to bail out before that then no backdate.
If you argue with them then they will tell you bail was offered. The fact your chap got can’t raise bail then it’s not their fault.
And backdate of sentence although usually the norm also depends on the type of sentence. For CT and PD sentences there are no backdate.

Then why offer bail in the first place? might as well sit in jail till sentencing...which may take more than a month...say 11 weeks & then sentenced to ten weeks..1 week sit for free...I really don't think the system is that unfair..

The person was remanded for 14 days...then they delayed the mentions in court, I bailed the person out, the next mention was a week later & then delay to another 3 weeks. In total from date of remand to sentencing was one month. That means if that person had spent all that time in remand it would be 10 weeks..if judge says, no backdating..sentences to 10 weeks...then the person would have been JAILED FOR 20 WEEKS...FOR LIKE YOU SAY..THE REMAND TIME NOT COUNTED?

I believe that the system is fair...I spoke to the hotline...and ask for 'opinion' of time spent in jail, mentioning the sentencing of 10 weeks & judge did not mention of 14 days spent in remand..was given a figure close to what I have estimated after deducting from 47 days...but they say cant tell...when released I have to go ask inmate..

I believe the system have to be fair..ok less than a week or maybe a week..no deduction..sit 2 months to get a deduction ..is not equitable...I think...it is still the prison authority will decide on the 14 days spent in REMAND prison, gets same treatment, eat same food...no haircut only..different clothing...the punishment, should be fair.

Getting to visit a person in remand prison was a momentous task, I have to go through loops, for I was not related to the person, doesn't have any one here. I have to call, email, fax & BEGGED...& leave a record in their system I called etc. Then when sentenced I called in again..told to email...fax..etc & finally through email I got the time & date. Like I am visiting some prisoner in Gulag...

From all these, it was a learning experience from being arrested...going to courts..being sentenced...visiting someone in prison & through all these, like the saying goes..it pays to be rich. It makes a whole difference...one engages a lawyer..free one...that takes time & processes...so, one will end up more time in remand prison & spend time in remand & may not get the time spent in jail backdated...

But with money & lawyer...it makes a world of difference..the lawyer can poke holes in the system...whereas one is poor...the entire book is thrown at you with full force.....justice is blind & a law is a law....right!

nightsafari

KNN that means IO has accessed to communicate with judge during off office hours KNN he was arrested late like 8pm and by midnight the IO returned to tell him about the fine amounts vs estimated jail sentence but also say need to punish him in lockup for at least close to 24 hours then by 1 to 2 am the IO look more keen to receive fine and kept asking he got credit card etc or else he will need to deport him to cantonment for family member to go there bail KNN luckily he got cards and don't need any family involvement only lock until next day about 2pm then release as a free man with 4.6k debt to cc company KNN
wah looks like that IO a bit luan lai.

The concluding part to this thread. I have already visited my friend in prison face to face, twice already, getting the approval was darn difficult, after obtaining it was easy, all I need is to call & request for visit, they will give a day & time slot & receive another call confirming that day & time slot. But getting is...was a tremendous task.

As for the 14 days remand...I obtained the release date from my friend, in which I calculated from people here who so helpful with the information. It was X ( sentencing) date less 1/3 & less the 14 days in remand. It was not backdated, for there was a gap between out of remand & sentencing date. So, the 14 days was included in the deduction. Friend, will out soon, for it was a short jail time of only 30 days.

Thank you, one & all for the invaluable information & I learnt so much.