• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious It's Official! Sinkies Own Their HDB Flat! Oppies, Pls Stop Spreading Lies That HDB Is A Long-term Tenancy!

bobby

LKY was a great man...but along the way of being great, he destroyed many opponents along with their families.

He would have been greater and more respected if he handled his opponents with more dignity and worth.

His achievements are definitely at the expense of others....that is the part that makes it tyrannical.

Kopi0Kosong

LKY was a great man...but along the way of being great, he destroyed many opponents along with their families.
He would have been greater and more respected if he handled his opponents with more dignity and worth.
His achievements are definitely at the expense of others....that is the part that makes it tyrannical.

This part of Hi-STORY cannot be changed. One can try to distort or misinform ... but THERE IS NO HIDING THE TRUTH. Not paying now doesn't mean it will not be paid!

I am from the pioneer generation. I do not remember growing up in a fishing village.
Perhaps you just returned from Mars recently.
i remember growing up in a fishing village at potong pasir by kallang river. every morning groups of fishermen would be pulling in the nets.
1777494fb852519d2d76d8f203de1050.jpg

right across from the kampong where i grew up, toa payoh flats were being built. i remember shitting through a shithole directly into the water below at an outhouse separated from the attap house 6.9 feet away. they were all on stilts.
kampong-at-sungei-kallang-near-braddell-1968.jpg

Kopi0Kosong

i remember growing up in a fishing village at potong pasir by the river. every morning groups of fishermen would be pulling in the nets.
1777494fb852519d2d76d8f203de1050.jpg

The picture is a pond at Potong Pasir then. Businessman rearing fishes does not imply that the country is a fishing village.
1535342736702.jpeg
This is in Singapore today. Based on similar reasoning, Singapore is a fishing viilage today.

I am from the pioneer generation. I do not remember growing up in a fishing village.
Perhaps you just returned from Mars recently.

You probably have memory loss due to your advancing years. It is quite common for old farts to become lost in their own imaginary world.

I am from the Merdeka generation and I can remember fishing villages all over the place.

There is also photographic evidence.

img0037.jpg

fec070957fb1a69db7a3bbc40a5517d1--singapura-fishing-villages.jpg

maxresdefault.jpg
source_2_taken-from-online-mage.png

The picture is a pond at Potong Pasir then. Businessman rearing fishes does not imply that the country is a fishing village.
View attachment 46695 This is in Singapore today. Based on similar reasoning, Singapore is a fishing viilage today.
there were so many fishing villages then surrounding the island. one of them that i fondly remember is at tanah merah.

View attachment 46695 This is in Singapore today. Based on similar reasoning, Singapore is a fishing viilage today.

It's all about what was the predominant activity of the time. Of course even way back in 19th century there were bustling areas where trading took place and there was not a fish in sight.

However the fact remains that before LKY much of the Island was nothing more than fishing villages or farmland.

LKY took charge and within 20 years fishing was pushed to the sidelines and Singapore became an economic powerhouse driven by manufacturing and industry. For that I will be forever grateful to him and the PAP.

You probably have memory loss due to your advancing years. It is quite common for old farts to become lost in their own imaginary world.

I am from the Merdeka generation and I can remember fishing villages all over the place.

View attachment 46696

View attachment 46697
View attachment 46698View attachment 46699
even in the 80s, there were still fishing villages in jurong and tuas. i remember picking durians and rambutans from my uncle's farm in jurong in 1969 and going to the fishing villages in tuas to buy fish.
tuas-village6-1980s.jpg

fishing was the main past time and livelihood of low ses sinkies in the 50s and 60s. even ang mohs from the uk (including raf personnel and their families) go to the many changi ponds for fishing. i remember the ponds were still there in the 70s.
Singapore23.jpg

Kopi0Kosong

Fishing was a primary source of livelihood in many countries in the yesteryears. Coastal fishing communities are part of the history of many countries, not just Singapore. There is no denying this fact. Development and progress can be witnessed all over the world, and NOT JUST IN SINGAPORE.

Kopi0Kosong

fishing was the main past time and livelihood of low ses sinkies in the 50s and 60s. even ang mohs from the uk (including raf personnel and their families) go to the many changi ponds for fishing. i remember the ponds were still there in the 70s.
Singapore23.jpg

OF LOW SES??? Fishing ponds and fishing as a pastime, livelihood and business venture are still very evident in today's Singapore.

which goes to prove that sinkies are still fishermen living their fishing village fantasies at heart. you can remove sinkies from their fishing villages but you can never take the fishing village psyche out of sinkies.
anglersfishing.jpg

hairylee

View attachment 46696

View attachment 46697
View attachment 46698View attachment 46699
even in the 80s, there were still fishing villages in jurong and tuas. i remember picking durians and rambutans from my uncle's farm in jurong in 1969 and going to the fishing villages in tuas to buy fish.
tuas-village6-1980s.jpg
These are villages spotted around a few locations. Not the whole of Singapore was a fishing village like what you were brainwashed by LKY to think so. Singapore was already a thriving trading port even before LKY. Now the son is trying to brainwash you again.

Kopi0Kosong

It's all about what was the predominant activity of the time. Of course even way back in 19th century there were bustling areas where trading took place and there was not a fish in sight.
However the fact remains that before LKY much of the Island was nothing more than fishing villages or farmland.
LKY took charge and within 20 years fishing was pushed to the sidelines and Singapore became an economic powerhouse driven by manufacturing and industry. For that I will be forever grateful to him and the PAP.

I agree with your statements. They are indeed reasonably and/or factually true.
However, transformation did not only begin with LKY. This part of history cannot be denied. No amount of propaganda can change this fact. One person, no matter how great, cannot and SHOULD claim all encompassing credit.

It's the same for the Punggol Story. With or without PAP or LHL, the transformation of Punggol will still take place. It doesn't matter much which political party is the ruling party, as long as the competent and ever-performing creative URA and its talents are in place. It is unscrupulous and unbecoming of the PAP and its LEEders to claim complete credit and ownership.

Kopi0Kosong

which goes to prove that sinkies are still fishermen living their fishing village fantasies at heart. you can remove sinkies from their fishing villages but you can never take the fishing village psyche out of sinkies.
anglersfishing.jpg
Is your claim 'you cannot take the fishing village psyche out of sinkies' reliable and valid?
Is 'fishing' representative of the Singaporean majority?
Is fishing as a pastime very much alive and kicking in many other countries or is it just Singaporeans and Singapore?

These are villages spotted around a few locations. Not the whole of Singapore was a fishing village like what you were brainwashed by LKY to think so. Singapore was already a thriving trading port even before LKY.
don't know where you're really from and whether you truly know sg at all in the 50s and 60s. you must be an old time jiuhukia spreading fake news about sg. i remember there were fishing villages all the way from tuas to pasir panjang, from kallang river mouth to changi, from tuas to gedong, from punggol to pasir ris. the only coastal areas that are built up by the british are sembawang shipyard/naval base and woodlands causeway point in the north, keppel shipyard, harbor, sg river mouth in the south. there was an raf changi airbase but changi coast was not even developed by the british. only a sampan jetty stood there at the tip. british developed airbases inland at tengah, sembawang, seletar, paya lebar, changi. vast majority of sg coastal and river mouth areas were swamps, m&d, sand and fishing villages. from the map of 1960 it looked more like 69%.
SingaporeMap1.jpg

Is your claim 'you cannot take the fishing village psyche out of sinkies' reliable and valid?
Is 'fishing' representative of the Singaporean majority?
Is fishing as a pastime very much alive and kicking in many other countries or is it just Singaporeans and Singapore?
Screen-Shot-2018-08-11-at-4.39.41-PM-1024x567.png

nuff said.