• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Swing-votes in the next General Election

Charlie99

Hyflux Investors
The recent collapse in Hyflux affected 3x more investors than lehman minibond saga. Over 50000 are affected and including their dependents, which represents about 5-7% of voting population. Despite engaging their members of parliament, none voiced the grievance for the affected, except NMP Associate Professor Daniel Goh.

Observers are sufficiently puzzled about the lack of state-bailout despite Hyflux being a patriotic and symbolic local enterprise that was drowned in refinancing woes, while state-investment vehicles opted to support questionable investments overseas.

dependent versus dependant ( a noun )

Surely a step in the right direction. But why have an alliance? Why not disband all the opposition parties (minus WP) and have TCB as Sec-Gen? Hahaha! Lots of current S-Gs won’t want that I am sure. Power crazy chaps plus saboteurs always around.

Bonut

Surely a step in the right direction. But why have an alliance? Why not disband all the opposition parties (minus WP) and have TCB as Sec-Gen? Hahaha! Lots of current S-Gs won’t want that I am sure. Power crazy chaps plus saboteurs always around.
They can follow SPF rank and file hierarchy.

TCB = Sec General
CSJ = Deputy Sec General
GMS = Senior Asst Sec General
TJS = Asst Sec General
Lena = Deputy Asst Sec General

maxsanic

Performance appraisals whether in the public or private sector have never been and will never be "fair". Anyone who believes that your appraisal is all about your job output is dumb beyond redemption and it will be the same regardless of PAP or WP. This is nothing new, so I don't see how this has anything to do with voting against PAP.

As for Hyflux, this makes even less sense as the underlying rationale seems to be when investors lose money the PAP will lose votes. If that were the case the PAP would have collapsed in 1987, 1997, 2000, 2008. Ironically going by this logic - we are currently in an extended bull market, so whatever the ill effects from Hyflux are dwarfed by gigantic gains in the general financial market, this should in fact lead to big swings towards the PAP.

As for HDB resale prices, I don't see any connection at all. My understanding was elevated HDB prices was one of the main factors together with loose immigration policies responsible for a relatively poor performance for the PAP in GE2011. Suddenly now the drop in HDB resale price is supposed to swing votes against PAP? Makes no sense either.

Taxi drivers is one of the most virulently anti-PAP populace, so they will be overwhelmingly voting opposition regardless of the PHV situation.

You started the thread supposedly to analyze trends surrounding middle-ground swing votes in the next general election, all I see so far are one sided wishful thinking typical of a hardcore anti-PAP voter. You are of course entitled to your political views, but if you continue to think in such a narrow fashion and inappropriately extending such sentiments to large swathes of moderate voters, all you will end up with on voting day is shock and disappointment over the overwhelmingly pro-PAP results again. I hope a serious opposition party like the WP isn't operating at this level.

hofmann

Investors went in with their eyes opened. We had to explain this again and again during our Meet-the-People's sessions. Our grassroots leaders and advisor were very patient with the sinkies. But remember, investors went in with their eyes opened.

Hyflux was selling unrated junk bonds. I doubt many investors were aware of that fact or even knowledgeable about this.

MAS should mandate these bonds be sold with the label "unrated junk bonds" and explain the significance of this to investors. Or come up with their own rating system to protect investors.

It is irresponsible of MAS not to act in light of the hyflux debacle.

JustLikeThis

Performance appraisals whether in the public or private sector have never been and will never be "fair". Anyone who believes that your appraisal is all about your job output is dumb beyond redemption and it will be the same regardless of PAP or WP. This is nothing new, so I don't see how this has anything to do with voting against PAP.

As for Hyflux, this makes even less sense as the underlying rationale seems to be when investors lose money the PAP will lose votes. If that were the case the PAP would have collapsed in 1987, 1997, 2000, 2008. Ironically going by this logic - we are currently in an extended bull market, so whatever the ill effects from Hyflux are dwarfed by gigantic gains in the general financial market, this should in fact lead to big swings towards the PAP.

As for HDB resale prices, I don't see any connection at all. My understanding was elevated HDB prices was one of the main factors together with loose immigration policies responsible for a relatively poor performance for the PAP in GE2011. Suddenly now the drop in HDB resale price is supposed to swing votes against PAP? Makes no sense either.

Taxi drivers is one of the most virulently anti-PAP populace, so they will be overwhelmingly voting opposition regardless of the PHV situation.

You started the thread supposedly to analyze trends surrounding middle-ground swing votes in the next general election, all I see so far are one sided wishful thinking typical of a hardcore anti-PAP voter. You are of course entitled to your political views, but if you continue to think in such a narrow fashion and inappropriately extending such sentiments to large swathes of moderate voters, all you will end up with on voting day is shock and disappointment over the overwhelmingly pro-PAP results again. I hope a serious opposition party like the WP isn't operating at this level.

To begin with, these groups are eunuchs right?

JustLikeThis

Hyflux was selling unrated junk bonds. I doubt many investors were aware of that fact or even knowledgeable about this.

MAS should mandate these bonds be sold with the label "unrated junk bonds" and explain the significance of this to investors. Or come up with their own rating system to protect investors.

It is irresponsible of MAS not to act in light of the hyflux debacle.

They truly deserve it for keeping silent even when shit hits the fan for many months.

JustLikeThis

Buyers of Resale HDB
The recent decline in HDB prices is a sharp contrast to leasehold private-properties. While there is a good chance for leasehold private properties to recycle their assets through enbloc, new owners of Resale HDBs realized that HDB will not retain value over an extended period of time without SERS.

Policymakers can only buy time by launching 50 or 60-years leasehold new HDBs which makes the older HDB looks young on paper, and leave the job of defusing this time-bomb to the next generation's leadership.

VERS Scheme announced on NDP Rally last night, applicable for HDB with 39 years remaining lease.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...about-acrimony-among-residents-warns-10632016

Hypocrite-The

They can follow SPF rank and file hierarchy.

TCB = Sec General
CSJ = Deputy Sec General
GMS = Senior Asst Sec General
TJS = Asst Sec General
Lena = Deputy Asst Sec General
Anything with GMS (Got More Shit) will die before it takes off. Better to keep him out from any legitimate Opposition Alliance. GMS and Sebestian Tan must go,,they are nothing but PAP strawmen

JustLikeThis

Merdeka Generation Package to be launched in 2019, Elections likely a year from now

https://www.straitstimes.com/politics/merdeka-generation-to-get-healthcare-help

will we see Mark Lee dancing on TV again to promote the package?

bt7w_riiyai0zhg-jpg-large.jpeg

Bonut

Merdeka Generation Package to be launched in 2019, Elections likely a year from now

https://www.straitstimes.com/politics/merdeka-generation-to-get-healthcare-help

will we see Mark Lee dancing on TV again to promote the package?

bt7w_riiyai0zhg-jpg-large.jpeg
Why is the government dividing its citizens into Pioneer, Merdeka and the rest in no man's land ? The worst part is the 3 different groups get different treatments. How can you call yourself One Singapore One People when you deliberately divide them, preferring one group and discriminating another. Why can't the medical benefits be shared across citizens of all ages ?

Hypocrite-The

What is the government dividing its citizens into Pioneer, Merdeka and the rest in no man's land ? The worst part is the 3 different groups get different treatments. How can you call yourself One Singapore One People when you deliberately divide them, preferring one group and discriminating another. Why can't the medical benefits be shared across citizens of all ages ?
The idea is so that there will be no permanent benefits for the whole country. By dividing it..it can be cancelled anytime.

Kopi0Kosong

Yes, Singaporeans wants opposition but not in their wards.

We have to salute the people of Aljunied GRC and Hougang for giving the deserving a chance, despite AHTC being witch-hunted.

Arrogant, complacent and incompetent LEEders - Singaporeans have had enough. Singaporeans want to have better LEADERS and are ready TO CHANGE and FOR CHANGE. There is no such thing as OPPOSITION. Everyone does it for the GOOD of the country. HOWEVER, the alternative has to be CREDITABLE and EXCELLENT. Singaporeans want capable, competent and caring LEADERS who can truly represent them. Give us that REASSURING PRESENCE and you WILL HAVE OUR SUPPORT.

The PAP is just a political party and the PAP LEEders have always acted with the interest of the PARTY FIRST. Follow or I shall WHIP. Take the money and ENJOY with me. I am smart and they STUPID. I LEEad and the people have to LISTEN and ACCEPT. They don't have a CHOICE.

Food for Thought:

Singapore is progressing because it has a very dependable and competent CIVIL SERVICE. It's the capable and passionate PEOPLE who are maintaining and running the country. It's really a shame that the egoistic and self-serving PAP LEEders are continually stealing and claiming the good work and sacrifices of the CIVIL SERVICE and the PEOPLE of Singapore. Do Singaporeans have a CHOICE?

Stop talking about HOW GOOD YOU ARE! When you do that, you are no different from the egoistic and self-serving LEEders.
WALK the TALK. WALK and WE shall WALK WITH YOU. Give Singaporeans the REASSURING PRESENCE.