• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frodo

Ummm... You do have 2 houses in JB so u can't be a peasant. I am a real peasant with no house not much money.

Just my bona fide advice after being in jb 7.5 years. You need a plan because you committed to 2 properties. Condos are very likely to depreciate(never mind the devaluation of the currency) in value because locals do not buy or rent luxury condos and they can impose new restrictions or raise property tax and even selling would be difficult. I know what I am talking about because I spent most of my 30s in JB.

Believe me when I say I am peasant and cannot afford a cash deposit of 500k. If I have this kind of money I would not be worrying over the customs officer questioning. Anyway I just applied MACS for my family members and hope this interim measure would stave off questions for the time being.

RafflesTiger

Believe me when I say I am peasant and cannot afford a cash deposit of 500k. If I have this kind of money I would not be worrying over the customs officer questioning. Anyway I just applied MACS for my family members and hope this interim measure would stave off questions for the time being.

You stay JB full time or you only stay on weekends when you go JB?

Do you rent out your hdb or sold liao?

kcwx35

Hi everyone, I am going to apply for MACS. In the form, under section B, what shall I fill for Corespondent Address? Is it Singapore address or Malaysia properly address ? And also under MACS categories, i should check MACS-IRDA or MACS?

Thanks in advance for the help

• macs_application_form.pdf
    37.4 KB · Views: 301

Frodo

Hi everyone, I am going to apply for MACS. In the form, under section B, what shall I fill for Corespondent Address? Is it Singapore address or Malaysia properly address ? And also under MACS categories, i should check MACS-IRDA or MACS?

I put my JB address because my IC also JB address, though I think the counter staff won't really bother with that. The rest not sure just leave it. I did not fill in everything in the form either. If they ask then just fill in.

sunriver

Your form slightly different from 3rd Link office which i renewed there last week. Dun hv macs category, although i think u should tick MACS for this form.

PS: the 3rd link staff ever told me that normally macs card will be approved as long as u dun hv any criminal records.

checkers

Singaporeans (the same cannot be said for PR ) are in the end ,sojourners in JB. While we are here for a season of our lives, we aim to enjoy the place and the friendships we have built.

We enjoy the space here and the delicious food. But when it comes to the need for a serious root canal treatment or medical consultation, I feel more at ease doing back home where the equipment are advanced and regularly maintained.

Always keep your SG house. Plans do change. Situations may not be what they use to be. We need to be flexible and do not put our hopes in one basket.

RafflesTiger

Your form slightly different from 3rd Link office which i renewed there last week. Dun hv macs category, although i think u should tick MACS for this form.

PS: the 3rd link staff ever told me that normally macs card will be approved as long as u dun hv any criminal records.

Macs can only be done in singapore now right? What is the procedure? You leave your passport with them? Do they give you an acknowledgement form? Are they reliable? What must you bring for the application?

sunriver

Macs can only be done in singapore now right? What is the procedure? You leave your passport with them? Do they give you an acknowledgement form? Are they reliable? What must you bring for the application?
I understand those who own JB property can do their MACS at IRDA office @Danga Bay, but the rest of us have to do in SG. You need to leave your passport with them overnight basis. They are reliable in the sense they are officially appointed to do this and they pass the passports to M'sian embassy in SG to process. You need to bring IC, passport, passport photo and $35 fee. The application form is available at their office. See link here for more details:

http://www.thirdlink.com.sg/macs.html

AHGS14

I understand those who own JB property can do their MACS at IRDA office @Danga Bay, but the rest of us have to do in SG. You need to leave your passport with them overnight basis. They are reliable in the sense they are officially appointed to do this and they pass the passports to M'sian embassy in SG to process. You need to bring IC, passport, passport photo and $35 fee. The application form is available at their office. See link here for more details:

http://www.thirdlink.com.sg/macs.html

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/?p=113716 While 3rd-link may be a Sg entity,wonder if they are similar to those mentioned in the article.

sunriver

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/?p=113716 While 3rd-link may be a Sg entity,wonder if they are similar to those mentioned in the article.
Most likely 3rd-link is another crony of the previous administration. Modus operandi is very similar: set up a middle-man company between the public and the govt service. And then the public has to pay the middleman company certain fees just to get public service from the govt. Something similar also happens with the many runners at govt depts that help to "facilitate" applications/transactions by the public.

shctaw

Most of the posts I read are from people whom do not own JB property, no money in JB bank and asking for long stay in JB.

Seriously which country want burden from foreigners.

menghuii

wads the pt macs pass when these days the scan machines are all down at jb .

kcwx35

wads the pt macs pass when these days the scan machines are all down at jb .

For me, I always drive into JB. By having MACS, at least I do not need to chop stamps.
Btw, I have gotten my MACS at IRDA in Johor. Very fast and no queue. Got it on the spot within 15 minutes..

sunriver

I repost from other thread. This is from Thirdlink website:

NOTICE OF SUSPENSION

We regret to inform that the Immigration Department of Malaysia has instructed the applications for Malaysia Automated Clearance System (MACS) Pass shall be suspended with immediate effect until further notice.

The current MACS pass holder shall be able to continue to peruse the pass until the expiry of the pass.

Regards
Third Link Pte Ltd
12th June 2018.

Frodo

I repost from other thread. This is from Thirdlink website:

NOTICE OF SUSPENSION

We regret to inform that the Immigration Department of Malaysia has instructed the applications for Malaysia Automated Clearance System (MACS) Pass shall be suspended with immediate effect until further notice.

The current MACS pass holder shall be able to continue to peruse the pass until the expiry of the pass.

Regards
Third Link Pte Ltd
12th June 2018.

Is this ban extended to renewal at IRDA at Danga? Or just shutting down Thirdlink operations in Singapore?

sunriver

Is this ban extended to renewal at IRDA at Danga? Or just shutting down Thirdlink operations in Singapore?

I think they are suspending Macs applications altogether, for the time being anyway. I see Tun's hands behind all this. But u may want to contact IRDA to confirm this.

Status
Not open for further replies.