• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

What is the big deal about drinking?
No big deal on drinking (not with khun thais). Just one of the irks of local legislation (and interpretation).
For example, one cannot buy alcohol from supermarkets, 7 and minimarts between daily gazetted hours. But the mom and pop shops, you can get your fix anytime.:wink:

Thai people like to call 7 Eleven as just 7. I wonder if it is that they are not used to the English letters "Eleven".
Has to do with local phonetics. Other than examples quoted here, AIS (telcom operator) is called AI et. And words like beer bars are reversed ie bar beer. Like ah nehs got problems pronouncing R

melzp

[/QUOTE]
One of my favourite food in Thailand is the simple krapow moo sap, Thai holy basils with minced pork

The meal
kenBr6R.jpg

1-2 times daily for me if in LOS. Now, I like khanna namma hoy nam moo sup.(veg n oyster sauce mince pork)

Reason why any Consonant ending with a L sounds like N. The reason is because L is ล (Lor Ling). Consonant ล is pronounce as L if it is used at the beginning of a word. It changes to N sound if it appear at the end of the word. In short, the pronunication of this consonant depends on where it is placed.

As for S ส (Sor Suea), If place at beginning, it sounds like a S, if placed at the end, it will sound like a T.
And many many other rules and exceptions about Thai consonants.
Thais also could not pronounce L at the end of a word cos there is no L sound in their vocabulary. So when forced to pronounce L or le it always end up with N

Football => Footbon
Model => Moden
Chemical => Chemikan but this they also cut short to Chemeen
even Welcome => Wencome

etc etc

rectmobile

Reason why any Consonant ending with a L sounds like N. The reason is because L is ล (Lor Ling). Consonant ล is pronounce as L if it is used at the beginning of a word. It changes to N sound if it appear at the end of the word. In short, the pronunication of this consonant depends on where it is placed.

As for S ส (Sor Suea), If place at beginning, it sounds like a S, if placed at the end, it will sound like a T.
And many many other rules and exceptions about Thai consonants.

I need to sign up for a Thai class.:biggrin:

1-2 times daily for me if in LOS. Now, I like khanna namma hoy nam moo sup.(veg n oyster sauce mince pork)[/QUOTE]
No big deal on drinking (not with khun thais). Just one of the irks of local legislation (and interpretation).
For example, one cannot buy alcohol from supermarkets, 7 and minimarts between daily gazetted hours. But the mom and pop shops, you can get your fix anytime.:wink:

Has to do with local phonetics. Other than examples quoted here, AIS (telcom operator) is called AI et. And words like beer bars are reversed ie bar beer. Like ah nehs got problems pronouncing R

Drinking and drug consumption related crimes very high now.Not just Thai, even foreigners are involved. To make some happy, others will be upset. Cannot please everyone.Just hit and run unsolved cases alone, think mata also sibeh headache. And my understanding is everyone is watching everyone, so the old practice of paying to get off the hook might not work. Even if it works, its going to be very very expensive.

Recently just got one ticket for not wearing helment. Cannot cham siong means cannot. Confiscate my license, ask me go to Downtown Soi 9 to pay summon. Pay is one thing, go there have to wait 2 hours just to pay 400 fine. To be fair, they catch everyone, including locals. Last time is Ang Moh higher priority cos easier to see from far, and more kia see, and more wallet power.

Actually, I also take it as a good wake up lesson. Stay here Lam Nua for too long until think like siam kias that helmet is for protection against mata (the nick name for helmet is call Gan Tam Ruat). Not wearing helmet has become the norm for me until I kenna. Too troublesome to go wait 2 hours to pay summon so now guai guai wear helmet (if travelling to sukumvit or downtown)

Was so hungry on the way to downtown yesterday lucky spotted a roti-prata stall on the roadside outside a 7-Eleven

Operated by an Indian lady
nmoJLl4.jpg

Flipping prata
3VomNCH.jpg

Frying
4AvukUa.jpg

Add condensed sweet milk
TCwvicX.jpg

and on top of the sweet milk is more sugar
nB50VHc.jpg

I bought this with 2 eggs costs only 20 baht or 80 cents
d3HFRbl.jpg

Thais eat roti for fun like a snack. A typical purchase will be a plain roti topped with condensed milk and sugar costing like 10-15 baht or 40-60 cents. For special they will also add banana or egg or cheese inside the roti, sometimes also add Olvatine and colored sprinkles and Nutella. Yes Thais have very sweet tooth.

20 baht roti with 2 egg is really cheap. Was expecting one kai (egg) to be 10 baht.

Was so hungry on the way to downtown yesterday lucky spotted a roti-prata stall on the roadside outside a 7-Eleven

Operated by an Indian lady
nmoJLl4.jpg

Flipping prata
3VomNCH.jpg

Frying
4AvukUa.jpg

Add condensed sweet milk
TCwvicX.jpg

and on top of the sweet milk is more sugar
nB50VHc.jpg

I bought this with 2 eggs costs only 20 baht or 80 cents
d3HFRbl.jpg

Thais eat roti for fun like a snack. A typical purchase will be a plain roti topped with condensed milk and sugar costing like 10-15 baht or 40-60 cents. For special they will also add banana or egg or cheese inside the roti, sometimes also add Olvatine and colored sprinkles and Nutella. Yes Thais have very sweet tooth.

Yup. We call air-con they say air. We say kilometer, they say kilomeet. We call golden retriever, they say golden. And for some strange reason, they can't pronounce "s". So Lotus will be pronounced Lotard.

Angmo also called air-conditioning 'air'

Nice very local type of dinner

2lAWAtN.jpg

5pLOben.jpg

Kailan stirfry with chili and garlic
AcPiTBa.jpg

Pig liver stirfry with Thai spices
k3LD76m.jpg

3 types of mushrooms stir fry with oyster sauce
ceUz0JR.jpg

Seabass in fish sauce
EfiVk9E.jpg

Steamed egg with seafood
3zpzHN9.jpg

Tom saeb with pork ribs
LFh48FN.jpg

The spread
0WZiNNF.jpg

Maid enjoying live music
OEhhuFc.jpg

The meal costs only $40 (whiskey is BYO no charge)

Can't believe this, Starbucks here is really expensive, had 2 cold chocolates and a tuna bread cost 455 baht or almost $20. Will never go again, Cafe Amazon is better yet cheaper.

kpWNO1n.jpg

4D4lb7R.jpg

IejeotN.jpg

9qovGYX.jpg