• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singapore for Singaporean!

People have poor memory. They probably thought the British built it for us.

Singaporeans are not complaining about construction workers, maids etc who fill a necessary void. They are complaining about open gate policy to any foreigner from right across the various vocations including management positions who either undercut their salary expectations to get jobs or who produce false and fraudulent when it comes to qualifications.

We had Venezuelan Prof for 8 years in A*Star and NUS who had tampered with his research work. The only reason he got caught was because he was foolish enough to apply for a job in the UK and his peers realised he had no clue what he was doing within weeks of employing him. We also had a PRC who was barred by the Medical Board but came to Singapore and rose thru the ranks and became a full professor in NUS.

I have no sympathy for Singaporeans anymore, the feeling died decades ago. We certainly have short memory & amnesia when money is being dangled in front of them, every election. We forgot who the Finance Minister in 1980+ when CPF rates was at its zenith, thus pushing us into recession, where many lost their jobs. Later came the Gulf Wars of 1991/1992, & then Asian Financial Crisis.

Back in the mid eighties, I had warned my colleagues working with me about voting for a government that does not put SINGAPOREAN FIRST & at that time started to 'open the gates' for foreigners to come in to work, depressing the locals wages & edging them out of their employment & careers. Back then, it was the Malaysians...employers could employ a Malaysian Office Clerk ( for example) for $800-$900 whereas a local ones would command a salary of $1200 at least. They tried to enticed the Hongkongers to work here, but many did not take the bite. Then came, the Filipino, Indians....etc & much later, the open all the doors, where we have an UN here. working cheaper than the locals. It was not the lower Income Blur Collared workers that were threatened with job losses, though, may did too, as time went on; it was the PMET.

Many of my colleagues way back then had good life, for the "government to them was good"...but they fail to see the fire behind the smoke & when the fire came many of them were burnt. I met one who was a manager of a department of 1,000 staff, when management took in a trainee from INDIA, getting half his salary & Management told him " help train the trainee, so that, when he go on leave, he can relief him"...GUESS WHAT?...the sneaky Management, promoted the TRAINEE to MANAGER & showed him the door, giving a package no doubt...but he lost a career, that he had built for 15 years..

His comment aloud, when he told me this in public....F$#$^$^^ the _________ ( name of company), a louder F$%%$#$ THE PAP!.

Had many listened after the 1984 recession.....but no, they didn't...the 'fisherman' with the 'hook, lure, line & sinker"..snagged the gullible 'fishes'...

Now they muttering...F$%$% the ....... but, it is too late...we are decades late in declaring SINGAPORE for SINGAPOREANS...might as well, face the truth....& live with what it is...unless, they are strong willed enough to change the ruling party...

SINGAPOREANS are pariah in their own country....looked down by third world countries citizens...:rolleyes:

They are complaining about open gate policy to any foreigner from right across the various vocations including management positions who either undercut their salary expectations to get jobs or who produce false and fraudulent when it comes to qualifications.

70% sinkies are gainfully employed with cushion jobs and huge house. Sometimes, it is good for economy to plunge and make these jobless, huge house sinkies realise that all their jobs are taken by foreigners through PAP open door policies. They eventually lose their jobs, sell their house and file a divorce, became taxi driver or cardboard collector. Only then, they will vote with open eyes.

Cardboard collector, in their definition, is not a job, career to have an income, it is a leisure activities conducted by a few energetic well to do elderly. Taxi driver, is now casual work too, reserved for the privileged Singaporeans.

They should aspire to be Member of Parliament, Ministers or even President...where you have a solid titanium rice bowl & make millions.

The 70% are mindless lemmings, it was mentioned somewhere that ZIKA Virus had been around here since the 60's...maybe the 70% were bitten back then..thus producing generations of degraded mental capability people. You think, they lose their jobs, etc..will jolt them out of their stupor?

You do have a strong and valid point. If one goes to the UK, Australia and much of Europe, you would see Caucasian locals doing the hard labour road and construction works. You can even see female Caucasians. The wages are fair and there is also more use of tools and machineries.

If the govt had a sunset policy built in the early years to wean the country of cheap foreign labour we would not be in the mess we are in.

Void? I would argue there is no void. It is supply and demand and price of services.

If the solution to the demand for a particular service that is deemed too expensive by society is to import dirt cheap almost slave labor from neighboring third world countries, then you open up Pandora's box.

Just insert any job/profession into the above "Particular service" and you have basically the attitude and culture of Singapore and Singaporeans.

It is precisely because no one complained about construction workers and maids being imported for dirt cheap prices that it spread to plumbers, carpenters, welders, car mechanics, electricians, handymen, general laborers, cleaners, security guards, porters, window cleaners, IT professionals, Administrative staff, librarians, teachers, nurses, clerks, legal assistants, engineers, doctors and lawyers.

You cannot have your cake and eat it.

Cardboard collector, in their definition, is not a job, career to have an income, it is a leisure activities conducted by a few energetic well to do elderly. Taxi driver, is now casual work too, reserved for the privileged Singaporeans.

They should aspire to be Member of Parliament, Ministers or even President...where you have a solid titanium rice bowl & make millions.

The 70% are mindless lemmings, it was mentioned somewhere that ZIKA Virus had been around here since the 60's...maybe the 70% were bitten back then..thus producing generations of degraded mental capability people. You think, they lose their jobs, etc..will jolt them out of their stupor?

majority of sinkies are considered rich in the global average, thus they live in soixante-neuf pleasure and contentedness. look at americans who are supposed to be among the wealthiest people in the world and their savings accounts. 69% have usd1000 or less in their savings accounts while 49% have zilch or nothing. it's pathetic. only 14% have usd10k or more in their savings accounts.

image.jpg

You do have a strong and valid point. If one goes to the UK, Australia and much of Europe, you would see Caucasian locals doing the hard labour road and construction works. You can even see female Caucasians. The wages are fair and there is also more use of tools and machineries.

If the govt had a sunset policy built in the early years to wean the country of cheap foreign labour we would not be in the mess we are in.

When I was in Hong Kong, I have seen women working as construction workers....

yahoo55

No minimum wage in Singapore and Sinkie peasants get exploited. There's decent minimum wage in Canada for Canadians to do low level jobs like cleaners etc.

minimum-wage-across-canada.jpg

yahoo55

Back in the mid eighties, I had warned my colleagues working with me about voting for a government that does not put SINGAPOREAN FIRST & at that time started to 'open the gates' for foreigners to come in to work, depressing the locals wages & edging them out of their employment & careers. Back then, it was the Malaysians...employers could employ a Malaysian Office Clerk ( for example) for $800-$900 whereas a local ones would command a salary of $1200 at least. They tried to enticed the Hongkongers to work here, but many did not take the bite. Then came, the Filipino, Indians....etc & much later, the open all the doors, where we have an UN here. working cheaper than the locals. It was not the lower Income Blur Collared workers that were threatened with job losses, though, may did too, as time went on; it was the PMET.

Many of my colleagues way back then had good life, for the "government to them was good"...but they fail to see the fire behind the smoke & when the fire came many of them were burnt. I met one who was a manager of a department of 1,000 staff, when management took in a trainee from INDIA, getting half his salary & Management told him " help train the trainee, so that, when he go on leave, he can relief him"...GUESS WHAT?...the sneaky Management, promoted the TRAINEE to MANAGER & showed him the door, giving a package no doubt...but he lost a career, that he had built for 15 years..

His comment aloud, when he told me this in public....F$#$^$^^ the _________ ( name of company), a louder F$%%$#$ THE PAP!.

Back in the 80s, living costs were much lower and bigger housing were much cheaper for Sinkie PMETs, but now living costs and housing prices have skyrocketed as PAP have flooded our tiny island with millions of foreigners, and Singapore became the world's most overpopulated country.

Due to the ridiculous housing prices, I see many young Sinkie families squeezed into small units that are terrible for family development, living costs and the costs of raising kids are very high. The current low Sinkie birth rate is largely due to PAP's fault.

Back in the 80s, living costs were much lower and bigger housing were much cheaper for Sinkie PMETs, but now living costs and housing prices have skyrocketed as PAP have flooded our tiny island with millions of foreigners, and Singapore became the world's most overpopulated country.

Due to the ridiculous housing prices, I see many young Sinkie families squeezed into small units that are terrible for family development, living costs and the costs of raising kids are very high. The current low Sinkie birth rate is largely due to PAP's fault.

The sinkie birth rate is disproportionate , one type of people are producing too many, while "selected class" have produced less or none, that was not the intention of the 'architect' of STOP AT TWO....it bounced back, badly.

It still the people's fault who chose to believe in the PAP....& die they will one day....be extinct.

Void? I would argue there is no void. It is supply and demand and price of services.

If the solution to the demand for a particular service that is deemed too expensive by society is to import dirt cheap almost slave labor from neighboring third world countries, then you open up Pandora's box.

Just insert any job/profession into the above "Particular service" and you have basically the attitude and culture of Singapore and Singaporeans.

It is precisely because no one complained about construction workers and maids being imported for dirt cheap prices that it spread to plumbers, carpenters, welders, car mechanics, electricians, handymen, general laborers, cleaners, security guards, porters, window cleaners, IT professionals, Administrative staff, librarians, teachers, nurses, clerks, legal assistants, engineers, doctors and lawyers.

You cannot have your cake and eat it.

If your thesis is sound, then we shouldn't be buying stuff from China as well.

There is no issue with employing foreigners to do the menial jobs. It is unavoidable. As society progresses, those jobs are no longer in demand.

The big issue is when foreigners are hired to replace sinkees in middle-class jobs. Those are the jobs that keep the economy and society growing. Those are not meant for foreigners but for locals so that they can live decently.

New PAP's housing initiative will be along these lines ....
http://www.scmp.com/comment/insight...flats-are-size-parking-space-something-deeply

majority of sinkies are considered rich in the global average, thus they live in soixante-neuf pleasure and contentedness. look at americans who are supposed to be among the wealthiest people in the world and their savings accounts. 69% have usd1000 or less in their savings accounts while 49% have zilch or nothing. it's pathetic. only 14% have usd10k or more in their savings accounts.

View attachment 28299

That's why a pension system is necessary. Yanks are still better off than sinkees ...at least, they still have social security when they hit 67. Don't tell me that SS is bankrupt ...by hook or by crook, it will live on. No politician will dare to let it go down under his watch.

This protest sign "Singapore for Singaporeans" is against PAP's 6.9M population, which will make Sinkies the minorities in their own country.

But the WP has done little since then. As the Official Opposition, they should continue to harp on this issue forever until sinkees have it in their head.

Many may not see the link: It's starting from the education system right up to the housing system and more.

Our education system is too politicised for its own good, churning out drones to feed our economy right from the start. No doubt the early years, the directions were somewhat correct in terms of elevating the general literacy of the populace, the endless pursuit of inane KPIs have deviated the true purpose of education later in the 90s, I shan't go further as I'll deviate from my main point.

Just look at how each generation of of children gets herded into the channels promoted by the government in accordance to the flavor of the day, ranging from production to engineering, IT to biotech. The over emphasis on EL, Maths and Science resulted in the proliferation of tuition starting from the 90s and growing into a "Monster" today. Who gives a fuck about Arts and/or Commerce in the 90s? Dumping ground they called it back in those days, please correct me if I'm wrong.

It didn't help as wages were skewed and suppressed in certain sectors and the mindless pursuit of economic success made us continued to depress the wages even more so as to maximise profits. Coupled with rising costs of living, certain jobs were slowly shunned as we cannot even come around it to believe that working such jobs can elevate our socio-economic status. Let's be real, can a thousand dollar job really get you a decent lifestyle in today's term?

The housing policies and population policies were forcibly shove down our throats and the herd were made to comply, then what happens? Folks will game the system and try to outwit the system, resulting in what? A 0.9 TFR, shrinking and aging population, bunch of "ai pih ai chihn ai tua liap nee" mentality. The fault of the populace? Quizas, quizas, quizas... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Yes and as usual the easy answer is to BLAME SOMEBODY else.
We can't be held responsible for policies! If we don't blame them, blame who? Ourselves?
Very nice. But it doesn't help the issue.
The very action of blaming is helpful ...it sends the message that we don't like a policy.

Anyway I am glad I left the stupid country and society.
Good for you. Now, show some empathy and support for those who don't have the opportunity that you had to leave. I know your right-wing leaning will tell you that we are all capable of doing what you did, the reality is that it isn't.

The PAP had been talking for decades on foreign cheap labour. No action because the business bodies that support the PAP were dead against eliminating the import of cheap foreign labour. The rich towkays didn't want to give up their big fat profits from building HDB flats with cheap foreign labour.

That's right! As towkays, we want cheap labour. Who wants to overpay for sinkie labour when we can get foreign labour for half the price?

That's why a pension system is necessary. Yanks are still better off than sinkees ...at least, they still have social security when they hit 67. Don't tell me that SS is bankrupt ...by hook or by crook, it will live on. No politician will dare to let it go down under his watch.

pensions are either going bankrupt or untenable for another decade due to dwindling pool, lower contributions by members, higher payouts as more retire and make claims, mismanagement, low yields as most of the funds for retirees are invested in bonds and treasury bills, etc. it's another form of a ponzi scheme as young workers don't sign up for pensions or they are no longer offered but are instead channeled to 401k personal retirement accounts. as new pensioner numbers decrease and contributions die off but old members continue to milk from the system as they live longer, the funds will diminish and disappear over time. same with social security. baby boomers retiring en mass will render ss insolvent sooner or later, and it's just a matter of a few years as mid baby boomers are reaching the magic number 65. overall, sinkies are better off compared to american averages. only less than 1% in america have usd1m in disposable cash with much of their wealth tied up in assets. even with liquid cash of usd1m, it can easily be wiped out with a visit and stay at a hospital due to accident or disease, i.e. if patient is not covered by health insurance comprehensively or 100%. even with a good health insurance, hospitalization coverage is typically 80% by provider. if bill cums to usd2m for icu, surgeries, procedures and recuperation, the covered patient is still usd400k in the hole. that's why a retiree with medicare needs to have both part a and part b plus supplemental insurance to cover 100%. otherwise, i've seen too many rich american retirees with usd1m to usd3m in disposable cash and or savings going bankrupt in their dying years. hospitalization just sucks up their life savings and wealth even with a 90% coverage.

i pick my own fruit, do my own yard, wash my own car, and clean my own house. as i get older, i'm beginning to hire part time house cleaning and yard clearing services. usd100 for 2 hours for a 2-person crew for house cleaning service and usd50 for less than 1 hour for a 1 person yard crew. all well above minimum wage. they are happy with the money, i'm happy with their work. it's about time sinkies consider fairly-compensated part time helpers, instead of full-time live-in pau kar liao supermaid, nanny, carwasher, cook, pet sitter, even though kids are already grown up, potty-trained, and can go to school by themselves. this baby to ns maid-dependence stupidity of sinkies truly destroys all credibility sinkies have when they kpkb about losing their jobs to ft's. they set the stage for their own downfall and demise. should kpkb about themselves first.