Is the younger generation getting too spoiled?

micromachine

Lieutenant General
I'm sure all of us, as parents, do not mean to spoil and coddle our children. Especially in today's day and age, where technology is so prevalent in today's society, within the premises of any Kopitiam or coffee shop we can easily spot children being more obsessed with their cartoons or games on their iPad or smartphone rather than engaging in conversation with their family members.

I'm sure as parents we would all shake our heads in dismay at the state of our child's generation, lamenting that we would never make that same mistake of giving the child a device which would shorten their attention spans, or distract them from family bonding time. Also I'm sure that there are times where we feel obligated to use the device as a means to buy some "quiet time" for ourselves but in actual fact are we really doing our children a favour? or merely finding the easy way out as parents?

See more at Is the younger generation getting too spoiled?

I'm sure all of us, as parents, do not mean to spoil and coddle our children. Especially in today's day and age, where technology is so prevalent in today's society, within the premises of any Kopitiam or coffee shop we can easily spot children being more obsessed with their cartoons or games on their iPad or smartphone rather than engaging in conversation with their family members.

I'm sure as parents we would all shake our heads in dismay at the state of our child's generation, lamenting that we would never make that same mistake of giving the child a device which would shorten their attention spans, or distract them from family bonding time. Also I'm sure that there are times where we feel obligated to use the device as a means to buy some "quiet time" for ourselves but in actual fact are we really doing our children a favour? or merely finding the easy way out as parents?

See more at Is the younger generation getting too spoiled?

Technology means instant gratification, and a short attention span.

Even within the context of video games, I can witness a general dumbing down since the 1990s. No one really cares about turn-based strategy games anyone.

No one is stopping you from teaching your kids to catch spiders or play marbles.

If one really wants to (although the kid will be bored to death), can find spiders in any wooded area. Just will look kind of dumb looking into the bushes, under the leaves, etc. Marbles can be bought from aquarium shops, but will definitely attract curious onlookers when starts to place them in the sand in playground. I would feel shy for sure. Better let the kids play with their ipads and nintendos, it is the current thing for them to do!;)

where to catch spiders ... where to find marbles

I think also if you put bettas (Siamese fighting fish) to duel each other, SPCA could get you arrested and fined for cruelty to animals! Back in the seventies when I was in secondary school, there were gelangangs (spl?) for cock-fighting in geylang and loyang. Nowadays bo liao.

Cannot lah, later AVA or National Parks not happy and you may need a permit to do those activities.