Serving my country faithfully for 2 years has cost me my dream job

knn, this occifer still young, scared what...:oIo:

http://therealsingapore.com/content/serving-my-country-faithfully-2-years-has-cost-me-my-dream-job

Dear TRS,

I never expected that serving my country faithfully for 2 years as an officer would cost me my dream job because my prospective employer deemed that I was too old to be a fresh graduate at 26.

After my ORD in 2010, I went on to pursue a degree in finance at Columbia University. Not only was I active as a sportsman, I was also continuously on the Dean's list and did several top-tier internships.

After graduation, I managed to secure an assessment center and panel interview with a top investment bank for the position of sales and trading associate. One of the happiest moments of my undergraduate life was when I was shortlisted to have a group interview with a Senior Vice-President.

However, one thing that struck me at the group interview was that I was the oldest in the room and some 21 and 22 year-old kids who were as accomplished as I was even though they were 4 years younger mainly because of the time wasted during my NS stint.

Naturally, they seemed like a better bet with more energy and malleability as new employees on an accelerated scheme. This was indeed confirmed by a friend from the banking industry as well.
As the world gets more globalised, I have seen more and more of my classmates go overseas to work. But the very irony is that we do not feel how much NS has robbed us of even though the effects are seen in the very many foreigners Singapore has adopted.

We have been told that NS is a sacrifice necessary to protect our country for how it has provided for us. But why is is that the immigrants who benefit the most are not required to serve in exchange for the benefits they get?
I still managed to find a job at the end, but it's quite disturbing to see the effects of that 2 years on your career on the global stage. Looking back, that false sense of patriotism that NS gave me really has no place in the globallised world.

XP Lim
TRS contributor

Probably his grades are worse and the others willing to accept lower pay? He was called up for interview, hardly have anything to do with age, one would think.

bullshit lah, my GF at the age of 54 still can secure new VP job at an investment bank

can intro to me...? once i make her change name for her property, i will let you have her back...:D:p

bullshit lah, my GF at the age of 54 still can secure new VP job at an investment bank

We have been told that NS is a sacrifice necessary to protect our country for how it has provided for us. But why is is that the immigrants who benefit the most are not required to serve in exchange for the benefits they get?....Looking back, that false sense of patriotism that NS gave me really has no place in the globallised world.

Naturally it is the duty of every citizen of sinkapoo to protect the country. Question is: Who do we protect? Do we protect sinkies or foreigners/PRs? We protect sinkies only or do we die for foreigners/PRs too? Many PRs do not perform NS and yet sinkies have to protect them.

this is why a sinkie will forever be a sinkie,slave mentality mindset of a coolie/farmer.....instead of thinking they have the talent to make it to such great heights in life no matter the age....they are there worrying they cant get a job cause they miss the age cutoff?seriously the financial world and many other world who would remember that u became a investment banker at the age of 22?its the people who reached the top of mount everest that gets remembered,people like warren buffet and george soros and the founder of

I was the oldest in the room and some 21 and 22 year-old kids who were as accomplished as I was even though they were 4 years younger mainly because of the time wasted during my NS stint.

XP Lim
TRS contributor

you mean those 21 and 22 didn't have their time wasted during their NS ah?

That's because she can still suck a cock. Her boss angmo or some other FT? U still getting any or not?

NSF is a waste of youth life and is outdated. Migrate and take your kids out of Singapore

Sinkies must get out of this shit PAP entrapment. PAP cronies and prolumpars have ways getting pass NSF and stay ahead of the pack but not the commoners.

Time to VTO PAP to change the government.

this is why a sinkie will forever be a sinkie,slave mentality mindset of a coolie/farmer.....instead of thinking they have the talent to make it to such great heights in life no matter the age....they are there worrying they cant get a job cause they miss the age cutoff?seriously the financial world and many other world who would remember that u became a investment banker at the age of 22?its the people who reached the top of mount everest that gets remembered,people like warren buffet and george soros and the founder of

can intro to me...? once i make her change name for her property, i will let you have her back...:D:p

boy; you may be krafty....but people also not dumb you know.:D
also the 54 yo aunty may do the same to you... :p

Bullshit lah! Older Workers can get job in Angmo Countries much better than in Singapore.

What a load of crap. With a Columbia University Degree can find other dream jobs lah!

There is more than one bank in Angmo Countries you know?

Why he so free? Got time to post such articles?

All jobs suck. That's why they have to compensate you with a salary.

can you all see what kind of mentality this occifer has? knn, during war, the platoon who follow him sure kanna fire by enemy fire cos'he so kiasu, he sure run for his life...:kma:

at 26 I have more energy than at 21.... This guy will be fcuked when he reaches 30

Be demoralizing as he gets called up for ICT for longer duration due to rank more frequently, if he is in between job.....SAF be paying him in-service daily rate...

With govt. full backing...MNC will have more leeway ....