• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: I'm an NSman officer, I regret it and I'm sick of serving

During my sec 4, we were brought to Mindef for some stupid NS pre-enlistment talk. We were shown a video and the intro had this bloke being asked about what he thinks of NS. His reply was - "NS? Wasting my time lah!" Those words became my motto throughout my NS days and right till this very day.

The motto of our time : mai keng buay choot peng. 555

Never had such thing during my time, secondary school only organized trips to ITE to experience what ITE is like, best part I'm not even from the old EM3 Normal Tech stream but Normal Academic but all arranged by fucking MOE

Brainwashing start in schools where u are drilled mentally about : patriotism,loyalty to the country, die for your country,sacrifice for your country, respect for superiors , ....etc 555

I learned nothing of value from NS.

The only stuff I learned that are useful are:

1. Foul Hokkien language and their different varieties and improving my Hokkien exponentially

2. How to take cover and skive

3. How to talk like an Ah Beng and behave like one

4. How to smoke and drink

5. How to go to Health Centres and experience the "goodness" of happy ending massage

I learned nothing of value from NS.

The only stuff I learned that are useful are:

1. Foul Hokkien language and their different varieties and improving my Hokkien exponentially

2. How to take cover and skive

3. How to talk like an Ah Beng and behave like one

4. How to smoke and drink

5. How to go to Health Centres and experience the "goodness" of happy ending massage
Heard one encik book out with his other ranks to sin poh poh bar for drink and sat in the high cubicles with ladies in the dark.555

Brainwashing start in schools where u are drilled mentally about : patriotism,loyalty to the country, die for your country,sacrifice for your country, respect for superiors , ....etc 555

Sorry, but not for me. My whole family (both paternal and maternal side) have been anti-Pappies since my grandparents' time. In school, I like to challenge and question the system and my teachers had no answers to my queries. Needless to say my NS days were spent keng-ing and dodging shit and playing politics just to escape from rubbish trainings. In fact, I was so good at it that I am considering writing a book or instruction manual on it to help future generations of NS enlistees to survive their two years of shit.

Every single scholar genital become MP, or minister has never completed example. This is so call PAP lead by example. If they don't need to do it, singaporeans shouldnt either.

There are indeed A-level and poly guys who served their NS as stay-out personnel like clerks, etc and they wisely used their 2 and half years of NS to study for a degree through night classes at SIM, UOL, MDIS, Informatics, etc

By the time they ROD, they had also earned a degree. Looking back, you realise that they did the smart thing, thinking for themselves and planning ahead for their future.

How's that for lateral thinking and planning ahead? They went on to become successful corporate leaders in the private sector, leading teams which include guys who served NS as officers.

Not trying to diss off guys who were officers during NS. Anyone who aspires to go to OCS certainly should go for it. Just pointing out that (1) being an officer or sergeant or commando or even being combat-fit simply isn't high on everyone's priority list in the context of national service (2) what you served as during NS and your rank do not define you both as a person and how bright your future can be.

ns fucking waste time. This time can study in Uni and many have lost interest in studies after stupid 2 yrs ns. Come out and ceca jhk tiongs get credit. Empower sinkie girls make them yaya. Kns.

Every single scholar genital become MP, or minister has never completed example. This is so call PAP lead by example. If they don't need to do it, singaporeans shouldnt either.
Patrick tan was exempted for 12 years to study overseas in soil science.555