• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

of casinos and the regular blokes...

watchman8

I think there are more jackpot machines in all the NTUC, safra, country clubs than in both casinos. These mini casinos are situated in heartlands, easily accessible and have destroyed many middle class families in the past decades while richer folks tend not to play at these mini casinos.

The two big casinos are now screwing up high net worth families. I think this can't be a bad thing. Maybe some of ministers' wives and kids will get addicted to gambling too. Karma.

ray_of_hope

The two big casinos are now screwing up high net worth families. I think this can't be a bad thing. Maybe some of ministers' wives and kids will get addicted to gambling too. Karma.

Too wishful as none of them would ever be spotted in such dens of iniquity.

Logisex

Australia also got casinos but how come its not a political or social issue there? Why are most of the high rollers Asian and not Aussies?

ray_of_hope

Australia also got casinos but how come its not a political or social issue there? Why are most of the high rollers Asian and not Aussies?

Depending on what you consider a "political issue", it is not a political issue here (i.e., Spore); it is a social issue.
In Australia, it is a massive social issue, and only a political issue at state, and not national, level.

Depending on what you consider a "political issue", it is not a political issue here (i.e., Spore); it is a social issue.
In Australia, it is a massive social issue, and only a political issue at state, and not national, level.

Only pappies and their dumbfuck supporters claim that casinos got no social impact.
Just check out any country with casinos.

Singapore

The 2 casinos are bad for Singapore in generations to come. It has actually make me my rethink to support the PAP. Look at the social issue and crime.

Loanshark harassment cases of 10000 cases a year, more snatch theives, more robberies, more frauds in civil service and private companies.

Only stupidity prevails amongst these short sightness PAP ministers.

My suggestion - SHUT THE 2 CASINOS DOWN to preserve our future generations.

I think this can't be a bad thing. Maybe some of ministers' wives and kids will get addicted to gambling too. Karma.

hello... for the top dog, their kind of gambling is not gambling... is called long term investment :eek::eek::eek:

Agoraphobic

I personally see gambling as a shallow activity, but this view is not shared by the majority around me who are drawn to it by its glitz and glitter. Perhaps card games and related activities like mahjong are not only allowed in this society, but encouraged, that is why people are attracted to participate and feel good doing it. The casinos are already here and there is no way to close them - it is a perfectly legal activity, and above all, a personal adult choice to participate. The authorities will be worse off if they were to ban it. It does not bother me, I prefer time alone reading a book, those who wish to gamble, they can legally do so.

was chatting with my kopi kais recently and we were looking at the types of gamblers at both RWS and MBS. as me hadn't part with any 100 bucks, me could only be a passive listener.

over the conversation, me heard of stories where the gamblers would be immersing themselves at the tables, apparently wearing the same outfit over some period of time, some munching on the breadtalk loaves, some having a beer or two, some of the super rich, and of the regular blokes...

a sad scene when you see those regular blokes staring blankly into the space, stoned, occasionally asking for a $5 chip from other gamblers to recoup their loses, only having to lose the bet all over again...

much as the old man didn't like the idea of a casino, and now that there's the exclusion list and entry fees, me do suspect that this social ill will sink its roots deeper and the repercussion will hit back within the next generation... :(:(:(

The authorities will be worse off if they were to ban it.

no, don't think they could ban gambling but was looking more at the safety nets required.
much as it's an individual choice to make a trip down to the gambling den, the implications are far and wide. sure it wouldn't bother you much until the implications affected you.

Since allowing wider medisave usage is considered social safety net, the same logic can be applied to allow cpf use for casino as helping sinkies to manage gambling debt.

NTUC should run the 3rd casino.
Then all the cpf will flow back info leegime's pockets...
Pap will salivate at this proposal.

spotter542

Will PAPzis shut down the 2 necessary evil ? :(
Not in a thousand years :rolleyes:
The end result for punters going to casino :

Male = Drug mule / Loanshark runner
Female = Prostitution

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

Will PAPzis shut down the 2 necessary evil ? :(
Not in a thousand years :rolleyes:
The end result for punters going to casino :

Male = Drug mule / Loanshark runner
Female = Prostitution

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:
Why would pappies shut down the casinos? Because of the social ills?
Dun be naive...all the collateral damage that has happened or going to happen well within pappies expectations in the various studies when they planned for the casinos. To them everything is manageable and the benefits (money) outweighs the 'problems'.

Agoraphobic

As working adults, we have responsibilities, mostly to our families, those dependant on us. Whatever activities they be, we only have ourselves to hold responsible for decision made by ourselves. Many of us have to subject ourselves to regular unpleasantories of "work" to bring in an income and accept it as part of life. To gamble these away, well, I can't speak for those who chose to do so. I have an uncle who did exactly that, gambled away his job, and then his family. Lucky his wife was still good looking and was able to hitch a wealthy man that paid for her children's education and relatively comfortable lives, but that was plain luck, doesn't happen to everybody. Her ex-husband had a good career-job and was an active sportsman as well, too bad for him he was a weak person who succumbed to the game of poker and lost everything. But that's life. Win some, lose some, screw up some. Safety-nets are not a government's responsibility, their job is to govern.

no, don't think they could ban gambling but was looking more at the safety nets required.
much as it's an individual choice to make a trip down to the gambling den, the implications are far and wide. sure it wouldn't bother you much until the implications affected you.