• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Loan sharks vandalise 3 vehicles in Hougang

csi88

Malaysia is having gunmen shooting here and there whereas in Singapore, loan shark runners is causing unrest to resident's in every corner of Singapore.Despite several arrest of loan sharks runners advertised in papers,looks like this meance cannot be STOP at all thus letting resident's living in fear when their neighbours took loan fron loan sharks and default their payment.
Singapore is such a small country compare to our neighbouring countries where u can hide any where. I really hope the police or CID spring into action and quickly apprehend the culprits. Weekend is a day to relaxed after a hetic week of working, and the affected car owners must be frustrated when the police came knocking on their dooe when told of the incident.

For some reason, I feel the borrower is the cause of this behaviour. The bank can't loan money, relatives won't lend money, friends make themselves scarce, then Ah Loong comes and help out a stranger, who DOES NOT honour the loan. What else is the loanshark to do? The only way to stop these acts are to end the borrowing.

Good luck!

For some reason, I feel the borrower is the cause of this behaviour. The bank can't loan money, relatives won't lend money, friends make themselves scarce, then Ah Loong comes and help out a stranger, who DOES NOT honour the loan. What else is the loanshark to do? The only way to stop these acts are to end the borrowing.

Good luck!

Borrowers partly responsible cannot be pitied.
But pap cannot resolve matter is the root of the problem....in fact pap hugely contributed to the hardship of these borrowers.
From FTs taking away jobs to rising cost of living to casinos.
Can fix opposition, protect the elites, terrorists also can be caught....clueless when dealing with petty criminals like loan sharks?
Pap should be sacked!
Could this be another political cheap shot from pappies since case happened in hougang so the SPF dragging their feet?

Good luck!

You are right but people here will blame it on the PAP anyway. It serves their agendas better.

For this loanshark issue, I won't point at the PAP. The root cause of this problem is that people who borrow can't (or don't want to) live within their means. Everybody has hard times and to the things we can't afford, just live without them - lots of people have to grit their teeth and do without some nicer things in life. For really hardship cases, there are organisations out there who are willing to reach out and help. But for those who yearn for the branded stuff, overseas vacations, and being seen at fancy places, they have to earn the bucks or make the connections.

As for change of government, Singapore has elections - the democratic way to choose one's government. The tools are there to enact that.

You are right but people here will blame it on the PAP anyway. It serves their agendas better.

Casinos, FTs replacing sinkies, rising cost of living, criminals like loansharking running amok...,
Whose fault? Your grandfather's fault?

Yes. The gahmen will take the blame (and credit) in many things that are not their doing. I don't like government too - but they are for reasons only I bother and nothing to do with politics anyway.

For this loanshark issue, I won't point at the PAP. The root cause of this problem is that people who borrow can't (or don't want to) live within their means. Everybody has hard times and to the things we can't afford, just live without them - lots of people have to grit their teeth and do without some nicer things in life. For really hardship cases, there are organisations out there who are willing to reach out and help. But for those who yearn for the branded stuff, overseas vacations, and being seen at fancy places, they have to earn the bucks or make the connections.

As for change of government, Singapore has elections - the democratic way to choose one's government. The tools are there to enact that.

You think people borrow from loansharks to go on overseas holidays and buy branded goods?
Borrowers are likely gamblers and those super hardship cases.
Even 3rd world countries have micro loan schemes to help their needy....here leegime just leegalised loansharks so that they can collect taxes.

As for changing govt thru fair elections....read my sig.

The pap has failed in providing basic security for its people despite earning multi million salaries!

All PAP catrs about is its tax revenue for the 2 casinos and ignoring the day to day security problems for citizens.

This will become an election issue!!!! These are the bread and butter issues. If PAP CANNOT TACKLE THIS ISSUE COMPLETELY,THEY DONT DESERVE OUR VOTES.

You think people borrow from loansharks to go on overseas holidays and buy branded goods?
Borrowers are likely gamblers and those super hardship cases.
Even 3rd world countries have micro loan schemes to help their needy....here leegime just leegalised loansharks so that they can collect taxes.

As for changing govt thru fair elections....read my sig.

Whatever reason(s) people borrow money for, they should have thought of a payback plan. Too bad if the loansharks do not have the law on their side to acquire back the sum loan (plus interest), so they resort to what they think will work. I had a school friend many years back, salary was 1.8k a month, and he went to buy a BMW320i which costs that much in monthly instalments! How the finance company approved his package, I just don't understand, but he was suave enough to get a bargirl to pay for his expenses, and ended up conning her of much of her savings too, this world is full of such people. Unfortunately, the Leegime is able to do things the Leegal way - via the courts and the parliament. If Sg's citizens wanted things changed, they would've have done that long ago - during the Jeyaratnam days - but instead they went for more good years! I'm just an observer and that's what I witnessed.

I agree the 2 casinos and all online gambling sites must be shut down.

Whatever reason(s) people borrow money for, they should have thought of a payback plan. Too bad if the loansharks do not have the law on their side to acquire back the sum loan (plus interest), so they resort to what they think will work. I had a school friend many years back, salary was 1.8k a month, and he went to buy a BMW320i which costs that much in monthly instalments! How the finance company approved his package, I just don't understand, but he was suave enough to get a bargirl to pay for his expenses, and ended up conning her of much of her savings too, this world is full of such people. Unfortunately, the Leegime is able to do things the Leegal way - via the courts and the parliament. If Sg's citizens wanted things changed, they would've have done that long ago - during the Jeyaratnam days - but instead they went for more good years! I'm just an observer and that's what I witnessed.

Ok even if we leave the borrowers to rot...
The situation now is that innocent parties are being terrorized...solely for being the borrower's neighbors....or happened to park their cars in the vincinty of the borrower's flat.
Whoever we want to lay the blame on for the root cause the loanshark problem.....the govt must go hard and solve the problem first for the rest of the citizens who are innocent.
Are they not concerned as loanshark is seen as a non elite problem only affecting those who stay in hdb? Why no political will to crackdown on this menace of society?

Could this be another political cheap shot from pappies since case happened in hougang so the SPF dragging their feet?

this blk 651 hougang not the same hougang as WP hougang. blk 651 under 60+ directorship porlumpar yeo's hougang which in turn connect to pinkie amk grc. somemore only 200m from mata station, mata all sleeping inside station.

Whoever we want to lay the blame on for the root cause the loanshark problem.....the govt must go hard and solve the problem first for the rest of the citizens who are innocent.
Are they not concerned as loanshark is seen as a non elite problem only affecting those who stay in hdb?.................................

I believe the runners committing the act if caught will be charge with vandalism. Puinshment for this crime in Singapore is severe. It is a police duty, government should be concerned with governance. Let the police do police work. HDB residents, if concerned about the safety of their own backyard can form vigilante groups if they need more bite. If I were involved, I'd even conduct the trial myself instead of relying on the "authorities" who most of the time are thinking of playing golf and overseas vacations. I've always believed in if you want it done right, do it yourself, don't depend on others to do it.

Hope the Home Team will carry out a operation and flush this menace out once and for all.Those arrested for harassing,the court to impose heavy fines and longer jail sentences and maximum rotan.

PAP does NOT care for peasants. They will only act if their elites complain. A useless bunch of jokers voted in and only want high salaries and do not want to provide BASIC peace and security for its citizens.

VOTE THESE PAPPIES OUT IN 2016!