• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi drivers are the lowest of low life

besotted

nowadays can choose taxis becayse when there is a long queue, there will always be a mercedes cab

meredes cab driver slightly better than average cab driver, but if they talk cock can always tell them off

besotted

with the recession getting worse, there wont be so many people taking taxis and there will be retrenched people driving taxis

hopefully with the improved demand-supply balance, taxi drivers will have better attitude

Summerbee

Taxi and civil servants are the 2 professions where only singaporeans are allow. You know the quality of both. Trouble is people do not dare to voice out against one, but find it easy to thrash the other group.

Porfirio Rubirosa

You forgot to include womanising:biggrin:
if they just do the job and sop they can make easily $2,500 a month net

but they make life difficult for themselves by excessive gambling, inconsiderate driving and look down on other people when it is they themselves who are the lowlife

Porfirio Rubirosa

Interestingly enough some old taxi drivers use to proudly tell me of their ability to put their children through university some even claim to have sent two children to university overseas. In those days, there were less taxis, diesel was cheap, there were less cars on the road and taxi drivers could earn a relatively good decent wage after driving around for 6 hours a day. Better still for those who owned their taxis - the yellow/black cabs.

Well I guess times have changed.

The overall verdict- bad bad bad.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Personally I think the % of bad apple taxi drivers has been on the increase over the last few years because some in the newer groups go into this line possibly under the misconception that it is quite an easy job with the bonus of flexibility. They appear to lack the discipline required in such a job. Also tougher competition, high cab rentals, rise in the cost of living etc make matters worse for such characters.

Try talking to the nice Taxi drivers next time for an insight into their working lives. I know. I was one for ten years.............

besotted

i hope in the new year the government will allow taxi employment to be liberalised so that people who really want to drive can drive, including PRs and foreigners, who will provide better service and wake up the complacent locals, who spend all their time at bukit merah race centre and complain, look down on others when they themselves are the worst of the lot and terrorrise other road users as if they own the road

techiedick

Individually there may be a few good ones

But on the whole, they are the lowest of low life, even worst than real estate agents and used car salesman

Taxi drivers cannot make it anywhere else and as a last resort they hide underneath the government's skirt because you must have pink IC before you can apply for an LTA licence

They cannot make it anywhere and have no skills other than drive Class 3. That's it.

Then they like to judge other people. Any PRC woman automatically is a Geylang hooker to them. Any PRC man is uncouth and trouble

But they don't look at themselves in the mirror and consider if not for government protection, can they survive

Then they drive like they own the road, threaten pedestrian, cyclist safety and don't give way to bus until LTA got to come out with all these rules to keep them in check

Then they like to talk cock sing song and criticise everything under the sun and the moment I say I live in Singapore like you, live under the same law, under the same government, why I can you cannot, they angry lose temper when they brought the subject up in the first place

Taxi drivers ---- 26,000 cabs in the road times two shift = 50,000 low lives, excepting the 2,000 that may be alright

you are destined to be a taxi driver one day

i hope in the new year the government will allow taxi employment to be liberalised so that people who really want to drive can drive, including PRs and foreigners, who will provide better service and wake up the complacent locals, who spend all their time at bukit merah race centre and complain, look down on others when they themselves are the worst of the lot and terrorrise other road users as if they own the road

Your hatred to local cab drivers seem to be very deep. I for one dun agree to opening taxi licence for PRC or any other foreigners. I am both a road user and commuter. I seen how PRC bus drivers behave on the road, freaking dangerous to other road users. Many a time i had to brake suddenly when they just come out of the bus bay without looking and "eat" into the middle lane before getting back into the bus lane. Dun even let me get started on Bangla who drive trucks and lorries. At the same time, whenever i travel on local buses, find their service are just comparable to local bus drivers.

Just imagine, local cab drivers already incur wrath for their driving ethics, and add in this bunch of foreign drivers ( made me suspect the give kopi money for their licence in their own country) , then out roads will become more dangerous.

As for cab drivers who gamble, it none of your business as it their own life they are running. Just give it a thought, with their job that got no bonus, incentives, no OT, no benefits and certaintly no job advancements, why can't they buy a hope to struck it rich.

allanlee

Taxi and civil servants are the 2 professions where only singaporeans are allow.

I beg to differ..... civil servants dun need to be singkapoleans....... i know a certain gahmen dept whose staff strength resembles a mini United Nations :rolleyes:

tchinkoo

Most of the jobs like factorys,shipyard N even bus= drivers are now taken up by Prcs N indians FT, so i think our neighbour FTs are feeling the pinch now so i guess they are now eyeing on driving taxis if u think that by letting PR to drive taxis u will have another job offer,very sad to say u will be very disspointed.

we noe there are many Prcs N indians in SG now.but i believe there are even
more waiting for the chance to come over here.It will still end up with all Prcs N indians PRs driving taxis. Sorry NO chance for u liao

Our taxis = drivers cannot be that bad lah, i believe ppl trying to bad mouth onli, at least i feel safe taking them

Singaporeans are competing with FTs for most of the jobs now we must at least keep this one lah who noe one day u ur retrenched, retired or need a part=time job.

If what i says is really what is on ur mind , then i say it's a good try by u
but don,t make it a habit

too many crooks out there BE CAREFUL!!!! singaporeans

besotted

Another example. Collect $5 surcharge still behave like hooligan.

If kena me, I will slam the door so hard when I get out to express my displeasure if these hooligans kwai lan.

Bloody losers, That s why I say OPEN THE INDUSTRY TO PR AND FOREIGNERS to improve standards. Standards can only improve. The people who fear competition are those who cannot make it

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Online+Story/STIStory_321202.html

Home > ST Forum > Online Story

Passengers who live near airport must endure grouchy cabbies

RECENTLY, on my return from a holiday with my family, all the pleasant memories were marred by the unpleasantness of the taxi driver who took us home.
I live near the airport, close to the Singapore Expo, and often, the moment I tell taxi drivers my destination, their smiles disappear immediately. On this occasion, the driver refused to acknowledge whenever I told him to turn left or right. He just kept quiet, as if I did not exist. On reaching my home, he sat glued to his seat while we retrieved our bags from the boot.

On other occasions, some taxi drivers will speed, some drive recklessly by weaving in and out and changing lanes and stopping abruptly, some by blasting the volume of the radio intentionally to show their unhappiness. But most will not speak to you and will sit glued to their seat and not help you with your luggage.

I can understand they may have waited some time in the queue at the airport. That is why I always pay them at least 50 to 100 per cent more than the metered fare, despite their bad service. Imagine the shock on their faces when they get what they do not deserve.

I hope the taxi companies will teach their drivers not to react in such a way and perhaps impose a minimum charge on all taxis taking passengers from the airport. This will save people a lot of unpleasantness. I am sure I am not the only one living near the airport and not the only victim of such unruly and unacceptable behaviour.

James Wong

besotted

Lots of taxi drivers tonight despite run up to New Year

Damn shiok get to pick Mercedes cab, the other 10 or so infront of the queue lan lan

eeoror88

I beg to differ..... civil servants dun need to be singkapoleans....... i know a certain gahmen dept whose staff strength resembles a mini United Nations :rolleyes:

You do not need rocket science to deduce the reason as to why so many foreigners will be "encouraged" to work and settle here as citizens and PRs.

The paramount reason is the extremely low birth rate and the increase in the number of aged Singaporeans coupled with the increase in the number of singles and divorced here.

These younger foreigners will be replacement and will form a significant backbone to "support" the aged through taxes, etc etc.

As it is, there are only 2.3 million citizens here and are rapidly aging.:eek:

silverspoon

you should try driving 12 hours on our "best in class" road....jam here jam there. so many traffic lights and on manual gear....see how long you can tahan

Individually there may be a few good ones

But on the whole, they are the lowest of low life, even worst than real estate agents and used car salesman

Taxi drivers cannot make it anywhere else and as a last resort they hide underneath the government's skirt because you must have pink IC before you can apply for an LTA licence

They cannot make it anywhere and have no skills other than drive Class 3. That's it.

Then they like to judge other people. Any PRC woman automatically is a Geylang hooker to them. Any PRC man is uncouth and trouble

But they don't look at themselves in the mirror and consider if not for government protection, can they survive

Then they drive like they own the road, threaten pedestrian, cyclist safety and don't give way to bus until LTA got to come out with all these rules to keep them in check

Then they like to talk cock sing song and criticise everything under the sun and the moment I say I live in Singapore like you, live under the same law, under the same government, why I can you cannot, they angry lose temper when they brought the subject up in the first place

Taxi drivers ---- 26,000 cabs in the road times two shift = 50,000 low lives, excepting the 2,000 that may be alright

besotted

There is hope for the future

Today outside OG the numbers of taxis queueing for passengers so long until ran around the corner to the bus stop

When business is bad then they will understand that good service will allow them to survive. Bad attitude cannot make it in this recession environment

mudskipper.

To all the postings, please accept that I'm not being sarcastic or rude. All of you have valid point concluded by observations and personal experiences.

But your views are not an accurate reflection of the reasons why is it that in Singapore this seem to be a perennial grouse and no solutions implemented had effected any change in the system. I will use the analogy of blind men feeling up an elephant to describe it's make up, as a reflection of your conclusions and statements of facts.

It will take more than a single posting to offer my take on this issue but let me give you a clue.

If men are treated like dogs, they will resign themselves to acting like dogs to save themselves the hurt!

If a cab driver feels that he is being pimped by the government, he'll act like a PRC mei mei in Geylang. Those who had the experiences of their service will understand. It is like 'look you pay to Fxxx me , well go ahead but don't expect oooh and aahs or any extras. I have a pimp who expects to be paid. Whether I'm sick or if I have any customers or not is not his concern. My cut of this transaction is only enough to keep me on this side of survival!'

Until the whore can be a true independent business person, this will remain so. Count yourself lucky if you get a cabdriver who serves you well because you deserve to be treated as a fellow human being and that should be reciprocated!

blah blah blah blah blah......li kong xi mi lan cheow!!:confused: