Sinkies Dilemna! What to do if your co wants to discriminate locals?

enterprise2

What to do if your company wants to discriminate locals , outsource operations and retrench locals, employ unfair hiring and HR practises...etc. if u r unaffected but is asked to implement these practises?? Can u do them with a straight conscience? So far we r hearing about hiring discriminations against Singaporeans, wage suppression of locals or other ways to discriminate against Singaporeans in the name of cost. Your views? Should we just comply? Resist? Report to MOM ? ?? It would be good to have a union to stop all these stuff!!

The owner of a company is free to do as he pleases. That's why he started his own company instead of working for someone else.

Nothing can be done. Maybe just name n shame. But 1 thing can b done is in 2016. Vote oppos hor. Vote pap means u get more of the same.

Vote oppos hor. Vote pap means u get more of the same.

Voting the opposition means you get more of the same too.

When LTK becomes PM and is paid $3 million per year, you think he's going to care two hoots about your problems.

The owner of a company is free to do as he pleases. That's why he started his own company instead of working for someone else.

That depends on whether the Singapore government allows "him to do what he pleases" ! Bias hiring of certain nationalities, suppressing local salaries, flouting MOM guidelines...etc. all these should be stopped and punished. Foreign companies operating in Singapore should be benefitting Singaporeans. If they r allowed to operate here but do nothing for the local economy then what's the point? They reap the benefits of using Singapore to their advantage and we end up being suckers!!

I don't see what the problem is as long as he hires humans. Nationality doesn't mean anything in today's globalised and interconnected economy.

So it's ok by u if some FT open a company employing sweatshop labor (locals) and making their Mgt Team all FTs. Say they become successful in Singapore but the benefits accrue to the FTs and not to the locals. Why the fuck do we want to allow this!! That's why many countries have minimum wage in place.

Nothing can be done. Maybe just name n shame. But 1 thing can b done is in 2016. Vote oppos hor. Vote pap means u get more of the same.

100% PAP will win 2016 election. Not enough sinkies support the opposition. So wait long long.

So it's ok by u if some FT open a company employing sweatshop labor (locals) and making their Mgt Team all FTs. Say they become successful in Singapore but the benefits accrue to the FTs and not to the locals. Why the fuck do we want to allow this!! That's why many countries have minimum wage in place.

You should be thankful. If all such companies moved out of Singapore, the country would be even worse off.

..................... Foreign companies operating in Singapore should be benefitting Singaporeans. If they r allowed to operate here but do nothing for the local economy then what's the point? .........................

That's a decision for the foreign investor. He is going to see only the bottom line for his company/division. Either there is a big market in Singapore for his product, or a lower cost for him. Otherwise the decision will be to go where he can achieve this. In the past decades, Singapore had the advantage - operating infrastructure, easy money exchange policies, low (some cases even free) taxes, skilled workforce, safe residences for their managers. The region is about equal in all these areas now. Our neighbours have caught up. And here we are thinking about ourselves. Good luck!

\It would be good to have a union to stop all these stuff!!

We have National Trade Union Congress, it's a government run sham,
a union that doesn't serve the interest of it's members, a bloody scam,
a leader that serves also as the Minister of PMO, wears a Zorro costumer to no end,
look at the downtrodden union workers, he spouts claims of allegiance.
but then again, he sure loves painting hypothetical horror scenarios to scare em.

If that was true ...millions of Indians, Pinoys and Chinese would rush to work in the US. Sinkapore is never their first choice.

You should be thankful. If all such companies moved out of Singapore, the country would be even worse off.

We won't know until we try it. There is always another way - look at the Korean model, for example.

The hiring policies in singkieland is more liberal than in developed n developing countries. Even pinoyland n indonland workers r more protected. The objective of foreign investment is to create local jobs n develop the local economy. If not its pointless to havd fdi

Ahh...don't spill the same shits! like the MIW's...I have been hearing this since 1977...they move out they move...even SINgapore office or unit is making profit, year after year...

Even pinoyland n indonland workers r more protected. The objective of foreign investment is to create local jobs n develop the local economy. If not its pointless to havd fdi

Foreign investment in Singapore has done an excellent job because the unemployment rate in Singapore is far lower than both Pinoyland and Indo.

Of course you diam diam lah.

You want to get fired because your inefficient company is losing money because of high unit labour costs?

We have National Trade Union Congress, it's a government run sham,
a union that doesn't serve the interest of it's members, a bloody scam,
a leader that serves also as the Minister of PMO, wears a Zorro costumer to no end,
look at the downtrodden union workers, he spouts claims of allegiance.
but then again, he sure loves painting hypothetical horror scenarios to scare em.

The trade unionists that had the heart & dedication for the workers, were all eradicated in the 80's..threatened & many either resigned or retired...from then on, need we say more?