• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Electrical problem can u help?

Hiya was wondering if any of you bros out there know anything about home electrical lighting? You see usually at home when the lights spoil usually I would change the starter or the tube and once in a blue moon the choke. However this time I am in a jam when my bathroom light won't work. I tried changing the starter and the tube but still it did not work. So I changed the choke and it worked but after I switched off and on again I smell something burnt and did not work again. After changing another new choke it worked again but after I switched off and on again it burnt again :( Was wondering if any of you chaps can help me out and advice me what to do next?

Thanks

You mean to tell me you changed the choke when the power is on?

Fishypie

Seems Like the probLem Lies in the choke itseLf.You must have gotten them at those cheapo outLets which retaiL a choke for 30cts' type..:cool:
Change your source of purchase and try again.

lianbeng

Hiya was wondering if any of you bros out there know anything about home electrical lighting? You see usually at home when the lights spoil usually I would change the starter or the tube and once in a blue moon the choke. However this time I am in a jam when my bathroom light won't work. I tried changing the starter and the tube but still it did not work. So I changed the choke and it worked but after I switched off and on again I smell something burnt and did not work again. After changing another new choke it worked again but after I switched off and on again it burnt again :( Was wondering if any of you chaps can help me out and advice me what to do next?

Thanks

lianbeng advised (not adviced) u to call in the electrician to check on wiring - dun get electrocuted urself lah! :biggrin:

soIsee

Disconnect the 2 incoming wires and extend them to connect to a normal incandescent bulb. If it works normally, then your fluorescent lighting set is short circuited somewhere. It could probably be the wiring between the choke and the terminals of the tube. That's why your new choke will burn off almost immediately. Also, if you are substituting with an electronic choke, the starter is no longer needed and wiring connection will be different.

So long winded and cheem.

In short all you are saying is ..to

Buy an entire new set of the lamp starting where it connects to the supply. LOL

Yup this electrician taught me how to do it safely with a insulated long nose pliers. did it a few times so far ok.

After you've succeeded in replacing your choke, can you come to my home?
I've a light which needs a choke replacement. It is making alot of noise and I'm afraid of heights.

Thanks

Choke ??? Fluorescent tube Light have choke???
Is it what called BALLAST.
If ballast maybe u buy the wrong one DC12 volt or 24 volt.
Buy AC240.

looneytan

Why don't you let me change your pipe and I'll charge you half price :wink:

Baszzket, got 60,000 and kiam on 600 ..

why don't you tell that guy you are project architect for the Capital development contract sum 800 million, if he come repair your pipe for 50 bucks you will give him Capital plumbing job!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/R06CHh1KyTE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/MW1d7TUfrgw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7PruDkbGT44" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

p9QQvhd.jpg

upblouse.. *hee*hee*

Raiders

Baszzket, got 60,000 and kiam on 600 ..

why don't you tell that guy you are project architect for the Capital development contract sum 800 million, if he come repair your pipe for 50 bucks you will give him Capital plumbing job!

Got money does not means I have to be a carrot right? I know obviously i am being chop, still let him chop meh? :biggrin: