• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

F&B Owners. Are you sure no manpower???? Whats yr Big Bullshit????

TracyTan866

No... the problem with the F&B industry is that the wages are artificially depressed. Low wages, combined with really long hours... why work in such ghastly jobs when there are better alternatives?

The government and the landlords are squeezing blood from a stone. That is the fundamental problem.

You need to implement a minimum wage law (no Wage Credit or CPF top-up bullshit), and while you're at it, abolish all the REITs.

Excellent!!! I fully agree...the pap knows it is the cause of the problem and unless it admits to it and take the actions you suggested, the problem will persist

Bigfuck

Excellent!!! I fully agree...the pap knows it is the cause of the problem and unless it admits to it and take the actions you suggested, the problem will persist

Look, do you think MNCs will seriously hire any of the shit of Leegime? Do you think any serious MNC will hire keep and give high pay to LBW LBW, Amy Khor, Sim, Bala, Lawrence Wong? You must be joking. I asked everyone at a gathering and they laughed. One foreigner almost choked when he saw our MPs and the way they talked. He was saying with that standard I can be your MMM.

TracyTan866

Look, do you think MNCs will seriously hire any of the shit of Leegime? Do you think any serious MNC will hire keep and give high pay to LBW LBW, Amy Khor, Sim, Bala, Lawrence Wong? You must be joking. I asked everyone at a gathering and they laughed. One foreigner almost choked when he saw our MPs and the way they talked. He was saying with that standard I can be your MMM.

true..WKS was making abt $6k at Hewlett Packard before he joined pap

what is LSS worth in the private sector?

I_Hate_Pappies

I said before, if these idiots were to step into MNCs they will kena left right centre with their standard.
Try presenting shits and give lame excuses to the big bosses in private sectors.

iluvgst

Employers should just take the business out of Singapore and teach some of your fuckers a lesson.

Please do... and see how much more profit they can make out of F&B in places where there is a minimum wage or where the unions are empowered.

TracyTan866

Please do... and see how much more profit they can make out of F&B in places where there is a minimum wage or where the unions are empowered.

well said...we shd call the businesses bluffs and challenge them to leave SG and relocate to India or China. I am against businesses who keep harping that they need cheap labour. They shd go to India or China or Vietnam. Why shd they come to SG?

Bigfuck

you are getting wise:smile:

we shd challenge these businesses to relocate

If they do leave, no worries - scorched Earth policy. By exposing them as shameless slavedrivers on the media, there is no place these MNCs can go in the world. These MNC factories either will have to pay higher premiums in other developing countries or risk being burned down. That is what they fear more. When there is leverage, it becomes less easy for MNCs to bribe and cheat at a lower rate. And when their products become more expensive, there is no need to buy their crap products and services.

TracyTan866

If they do leave, no worries - scorched Earth policy. By exposing them as shameless slavedrivers on the media, there is no place these MNCs can go in the world. These MNC factories either will have to pay higher premiums in other developing countries or risk being burned down. That is what they fear more. When there is leverage, it becomes less easy for MNCs to bribe and cheat at a lower rate. And when their products become more expensive, there is no need to buy their crap products and services.

true......

aurvandil

The wages in F&B are NOT artificially depressed.

Assuming a person works 4 hours a day during the weekday evenings and 8 hours on the weekends, that person can earn $1728 to $2160 per month as a waiter. This is a relatively attractive wage. The problem is that few Singaporeans are keen to work these hours which are the peak periods if you run a F&B business. They would all rather work office hours which is why the pay during the office hours is so low. Implementing a minimum wage (e.g. $8 an hour) won't solve the problem since the issue is not low wages during office hours but that no one wants to work the weekday evenings and weekends.

The only way you can get Singaporeans to work weekday evenings and weekends is if they own the business. This was the case when mom and pop operations dominated the F&B industry. The PAP messed the whole industry up by opening up to FT and killing off most of the mom and pop operations. With these gone, we are now stuck with the chains with their lousy overpriced food served by armies of lowly paid "FT".

No... the problem with the F&B industry is that the wages are artificially depressed. Low wages, combined with really long hours... why work in such ghastly jobs when there are better alternatives?

The government and the landlords are squeezing blood from a stone. That is the fundamental problem.

You need to implement a minimum wage law (no Wage Credit or CPF top-up bullshit), and while you're at it, abolish all the REITs.

chilakak

Employers should just take the business out of Singapore and teach some of your fuckers a lesson.

Simply put, the departures of many of the F&B outlets in Singapore will be no big loss for the nation. How many over-priced coffee joints, bakeries, bistros and restaurants does this small country need anyway? As many of the other posters have said, these outlets largely sell over-priced and shitty products. Many new outlets have sprung up over the past 10 years because of the big jump in population, especially ethnic-specific outlets that appeared to cater to the large inflow of foreigners. Many of these outlets do not even generate jobs for locals and much of their earnings are repatriated out of our local economy anyway. If the population is tightened up properly, how many of these shitty F&B joints can survive anyway?

Tend to disagree on the first point but agree on the second point. The wage figures quoted seem rather high for a waiter and reminiscent of the past. Acknowledge the split shift and the weekend stint but this characteristic of the F&B industry the world over. You seldom see a waiter past the age of 30 let alone 40 or 50 which is a local. Not so in the West and they too face the same working regime.

There is a well known Deli couple of blocks north of Times Square known for their good breakfast, not pricey but packed. 90% of waitresses are well over 45 and they have been there for ages. They seemed to handle the split shifts and weekends and they are not latinos or recent migrants.

Until Hans went FT, there are no restaurants or Deli that I know that has this in Singapore. I am sure the minimum wage plays a huge part. i used to admire Hans for holding the fort on this. But they alone can't fight the competition with their hands tied behind their banks.

Assuming a person works 4 hours a day during the weekday evenings and 8 hours on the weekends, that person can earn $1728 to $2160 per month as a waiter. This is a relatively attractive wage. The problem is that few Singaporeans are keen to work these hours which are the peak periods if you run a F&B business. They would all rather work office hours which is why the pay during the office hours is so low. Implementing a minimum wage (e.g. $8 an hour) won't solve the problem since the issue is not low wages during office hours but that no one wants to work the weekday evenings and weekends.

The only way you can get Singaporeans to work weekday evenings and weekends is if they own the business. This was the case when mom and pop operations dominated the F&B industry. The PAP messed the whole industry up by opening up to FT and killing off most of the mom and pop operations. With these gone, we are now stuck with the chains with their lousy overpriced food served by armies of lowly paid "FT".

Bigfuck

Assuming a person works 4 hours a day during the weekday evenings and 8 hours on the weekends, that person can earn $1728 to $2160 per month as a waiter. This is a relatively attractive wage. "FT".

That is only S$14K/mth or S$470 a day. If they sell a S$1200/day they can get by if rentals are less than 20% of revenues. But in Singapore, bloodsuckers of Leegime charge as much as 40% of revenues if not higher and then ask for as much as 10-20% cuts of gross profits or even revenues. You cheebye landlord can cook and run an F&B come do lah chao cheebye. Cannot even wash a cup or cut a fish, talk what cheebye? Look at LKY? Can he do anything? Chao cheebye. Even have to cheat Indian classmates by ripping them off with soaps they made by selling off them at high margins while as a high school student. You can see the diseases and genetic defect LKY is as a disgrace to mankind.

Too bad. The Country can be built on Reits which you see in both new and old buildings now. Mapletree collects a fat fee, reduce their risk exposure and still has extensive management rights while the holders of Reits have no clue.

The biggest loser will be the REITs.

Too bad. The Country can be built on Reits which you see in both new and old buildings now. Mapletree collects a fat fee, reduce their risk exposure and still has extensive management rights while the holders of Reits have no clue.

Too bad, stating the obvious is now your forte, same style as the ministars which you tried to be but could not.
Too bad.