• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forum points revamp?

Fook Seng

In this case it isn't an issue of tolerance. I told him/her not to post with large fonts. It was an order with no leeway offered. He/she defied my order. This leaves me no leeway either.

She is a tough nut, very stubborn.

AK, can you spot my clone?

I used to think you were Ramseth's clone, obviously wrong, paiseh....................

Your style quite similar to his, bother to write long proper sentences to explain something, quite thoughtful, but without the boasting and bullshit stories.
Although have to admit some of the bullshit stories were quite entertaining.

Thick Face Black Heart

I used to think you were Ramseth's clone, obviously wrong, paiseh....................

Your style quite similar to his, bother to write long proper sentences to explain something, quite thoughtful, but without the boasting and bullshit stories.

Yah I thought Fook Seng was Ramseth's clone too.

rusty

In this case it isn't an issue of tolerance. I told him/her not to post with large fonts. It was an order with no leeway offered. He/she defied my order. This leaves me no leeway either.

Sam give me some face can or not?
She was not drafted into the army hence her inability to take order
Maybe I ask her to fly to NZ and have breakfast in bed with you once....only once hor
When you are fully satisfied, that I guarantee...please release her, OK?

Sam give me some face can or not?
She was not drafted into the army hence her inability to take order
Maybe I ask her to fly to NZ and have breakfast in bed with you once....only once hor
When you are fully satisfied, that I guarantee...please release her, OK?

Moderated members can still post. The only difference is that there will be a delay before their messages appear.

AlphaLover

Homely old nerd wants to sue I mean beg for peace.

I wonder if the points system can be revamped to reflect the ability to stick to one nick and nothing else. I am aware elements of this exist but it should be confined to this. Here are 2 suggested models

Model A
After moderation - Nick picks up x points for each year of "service"
bonus points - threads started that do not end up in the trivial pile
Minus points for threads started that end up in trivial pile (double impact)
Bonus points for posting x number each month
Minus points for bad behaviour, intentionally and maliciously going off topic.
I am sure genuine donors understand this and do not expect anything in return except our gratitude for supporting a what was once a lone and pioneering voice of meaningful dissent and to continue to fulfill that role.

Model B
If it is hard to administer bonus points for threads and minimum threashold posts as in Model A, then restrict this to the minus points.

Mods given infraction powers to trigger minus points

As no member can award points to his clones and to his mates, the current hard-on for points woulld likely dissipate. There is also no incentive to create additional nicks but there is strong incentive to build the existing nick persona.

There would be members who are like to have a second or third nick for genuine fun and like hearted banter and may create these nicksfor such purposes.

Concern:

I am not sure if I am the only only one that senses this but we have had a perceptible drop in informative and light hearted current materials - what is happening in HDB land (not stomp rubbish), world affairs, the experiences from the man in the street, down memory lane, food, etc . They seem to have given way to baiting, personal feuds, serial infractions, hijacking, etc.

We have helped rescue the political folder in the past but the coffeeshop folder is now the playground of same few nicks who are either being chased or chasing some other nick.

Impact
- no incentive to have clones ( but you can't help some)
- incentive to retain and use one nick
- points accummulation and abuse is not top of mind
- easier to pick out the Brendans and the Wendys that wait for the next naive and gullible guy or girl and provide them with ready help and hospitality while the rest of us send cryptic hints and in some cases outright alerts.

Mods's Role

We should support all mods. There will always be a transitional period to learn the ropes. I have no issues with ideology, sexual inclination, and any other leanings as long as they can help with content and conduct.

The points may not reflect it but we silently enjoy posts from people like Chon and Joe (with pictures some more) however drunk, experiences shares by many while on their daily pursuit of life, travels, etc.

Conqueror

Bold

The bold text is part of the functions in this bulletin engine. What's the point of providing these functions but NOT able to use them. :*:

C'mon lah. It wasn't that big anyway.

whoami

Re: Bold

The bold text is part of the functions in this bulletin engine. What's the point of providing these functions but NOT able to use them. :*:

C'mon lah. It wasn't that big anyway.

She can always highlighted those words in Red. Not necessary to have big fonts most of the time.

Fook Seng

My bullshit stories are quite obvious ones to spot.