• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Not owning a car is better quality living? White Paper Busted!

[h=1]Not owning a car is better quality living[/h]
car.png
One of the measures introduced in the 2013 Budget that will come down hard on the people is the control of car ownership. It hits the people in two ways, higher ARF, lower loan allowed and lesser time to repay. On face value many Sinkies aspiring to own a car as a convenient mode of transport will have red faces and veins protruding from their necks. Those that really need a car for business, for ferrying little ones or ancient ones, or physically difficult ones, will be less forgiving. I am expecting a public outcry on this alone.
But putting the anger and disappointment aside, not buying a car is really a good thing. Really, trust me. Look, this is a depreciating asset that will run out of value in 10 years. It runs out faster than the 99 year HDB flats. Why pay so much for it? Further, public transportation is so cheap, convenient and efficient. There is no need for a private car.
And with the prices of cars getting only more expensive, taxi fares, even if they go up, will still be so much cheaper. There are plenty of rooms to raise taxi fares as there is a big gap between the fares here and the big cities. So enjoy the cheap taxi fares when you can before someone claims so hard to get a cab.
Actually the Govt is doing the people a big favour by discouraging those that cannot afford to buy cars not to buy one. Too expensive lah. But if you can afford it, can pay for higher ARF and put up bigger cash payments, ok lah, go for it.
Many people will be saving a lot of money for not buying cars. It is like people saving money by not going to eat in restaurant. It would be different if people don’t eat or can’t afford to eat in order to save some money. Eat they must, just like some people cannot move without cars. For such desperate cases, just too bad. Sure the Govt will empathise with them, hand over heart. No, cannot say if cannot afford cars take public transport lah. This is a cruel thing to say. Politically incorrect. By the way, with another 1.6m talented foreigners coming in, they too will need cars. Let them pay the COEs and ARF and the Govt can redistribute to the needy citizens. Good huh.
The quality of life sure will not be affected, just like living in smaller flats will not affect the quality of life as well. Think quality of life will be better as promise in the White Paper.
Chua Chin Leng aka RedBean

Don't be distracted by cars or no cars.

Overpopulation means a lowered quality of life. No exceptions.

If you still don't get it now, you will when Singapore becomes the undisputed world champion in population density.

Don't be distracted by cars or no cars.

Overpopulation means a lowered quality of life. No exceptions.

If you still don't get it now, you will when Singapore becomes the undisputed world champion in population density.

Overpopulation doesn't mean a lowered quality of life if your lifestyle doesn't require you to move around in public places or take public transport, i.e. places with crowds.

There are PLENTY of exceptions. Do you think any of the ministar's family members will be adversely affected by overpopulation?

Overpopulation doesn't mean a lowered quality of life if your lifestyle doesn't require you to move around in public places or take public transport, i.e. places with crowds.

There are PLENTY of exceptions. Do you think any of the ministar's family members will be adversely affected by overpopulation?

Higher human population = higher vehicle population. Doesn't matter if you avoid public transport, the roads will become more congested.

Yes, the elites' quality of life is also adversely affected by overpopulation, although their obscene wealth makes them turn a blind eye towards it. The quality of life I'm talking about cannot be quantified by material wealth.

Everybody will be affected by overpopulation, even the Pope, because we interact with the enviroment we live in. Just think about it.

Higher human population = higher vehicle population. Doesn't matter if you avoid public transport, the roads will become more congested.

Yes, the elites' quality of life is also adversely affected by overpopulation, although their obscene wealth makes them turn a blind eye towards it. The quality of life I'm talking about cannot be quantified by material wealth.

The way life is for them, they won't even bat an eyelid to being on a congested road because there won't be any penalties for being late.
If necessary, they may even arrange a convoy or change the traffic lights until the path is cleared for them.
If you are referring to a rich salaryman who drives his BMW to work every day, then maybe he is slightly affected.
But not the REAL elites and their family members.

Everybody will be affected by overpopulation, even the Pope, because we interact with the enviroment we live in. Just think about it.

I think you are kinana's clone, new moderator.

whoever wants to buy a car with a high loan in spore is stupid.

car is not an asset, dont be stupid.

dont buy it.

What's the pope got to do with issues in SG?
You mean he's going to come to SG to retire?

Give up your German citizenship.. and also remember that you are in SEA.. not still in Europe.
Sheesh.. your comments sound so dellusional.

What's the pope got to do with issues in SG?
You mean he's going to come to SG to retire?

I mentioned the pope to emphasize that overpopulation affects EVERYBODY. Feel free to insert your favourite celebrity instead, it really does not matter who.

To some car owners, the joy of driving and car ownership is priceless...so die die must have!

Not living in Singapore is better quality living.

You spend $$$ knowing you get back $99 from $100 spend, and not see $60 from that 100 sucked into LKY and his maggots.

You buy house and property at market value and not the langjiao subsidised price set by LKY
You buy car without having to pay the langjiao COE
You get maid without having to pay the fucking levy

The food is tasty and good and cheap, not the crap you have to eat after the shop keepers pay the rent to LKY

For those who follow Red Bean's postings, quite a few of his blogs are actually satirical.

With the new regulations, one is not sure what the intentions are but whatever, Singaporeans are screwed again....

The focus on car prices have been on the high COEs - so govt devises a scheme to lower COEs but that doesn't make cars more affordable; the complementary rules on financing terms and quantums take care of that. If making Singaporeans prudent are the intentions, why liberalise in the first place to 100% financing a few years back. That sure opened the floodgates for the young that things get only get better.

One reason for this sudden u-turn on car ownership could be due to the recognition (finally) that property prices are indeed too high and to minimise potentially high default rates when the interest rates go up in 12 - 18 months' time, a brake needs to be applied on cars.

The missing link at the moment - where is the infrastructure to support commuters who are now unable to get a car, for whatever reason?

Oh, I forget. The govt has admitted that they had no foresight in the past and asked for time to put that right.

Those young punks earning $3-4k are thoroughly screwed. No money to buy car to impress gals.

I thought Swiss Cheese Std GCT said you want buy more we build more carparks?

No car, no worry of high loan, parking, petrol, fines, maintenance, accident, insurance, tax etc.
In many ways true