i stay at home during CNY. no place to go. :o
oh dear. sorry to haer that
if you in SB's bad books, then you will be told you are asking others to pity you..
me too
i stay at home during CNY. no place to go. :o
It's the time of the year again for relatives and in-laws to compare their wealth and success.![]()
Eating out becomes so much more expensive on CNY. Where can I eat cheap on first two days of CNY?
Some of my friends wiLL sureLy take the annuaL 'safe' route out; of fLying to somewhere to avoid the CNY ceLebrations tiLL it's aLL over & done..
They are not wrong, but somehow i dont understand their mentaLity..are they so afraid of the
dins & noises; or are they simpLy so kiam-siap about giving Ang-pows to their counterparts who have chiLdrens ?...:*:
Some of my friends wiLL sureLy take the annuaL 'safe' route out; of fLying to somewhere to avoid the CNY ceLebrations tiLL it's aLL over & done..
They are not wrong, but somehow i dont understand their mentaLity..are they so afraid of the
dins & noises; or are they simpLy so kiam-siap about giving Ang-pows to their counterparts who have chiLdrens ?...:*:
many of my friends have already booked their escape routes liao...they will disappear for the first six days - those who are singles, those who are married but with no kids, those who are not keen to give angpows...those who want to have a quiet and peaceful time...LNY's reunions are now big headaches,esp for the elderly who have to cook for the children and grandchildren..
and children now don't even lift a finger to help and also many reunions have lost their traditional meanings....LNY is just another holiday ...not much celebration now..'
no fire crackers no fun...so quiet like a ghost town.....slowly but surely the celebration and significance will die off...sad hor
That's right uncle , cny without fire crackers are indeed strange . Singapore government should lift the ban on fire crackers ...treat Singaporean as responsibility adult instead of controlling everything . they can make fire crackers available only during cny .
Actually it's not about giving angpow that ppl hate . To me it's the noise and same silly questions that relative ask over and over again every year . I used to hate cny but in the recent years I think it's cool to celebrate cny .. It's Chinese culture that we have to maintain . My mentality change when I see Japanese celebrate their new year .. They are so happy and proud of their culture . We as Chinese should do the same too .
Two words "Annoying Relatives". Fortunately for me we did away with relations which we do not like. So CNY is a enjoyable time with relatives whose company we enjoy.![]()
I'm trembling everyday at the thoughts of CNY eve.
Wife not working
PRC gf also not working
Both wanted to eat reunion dinner with me. Prc gf said she will borrow her friend's kitchen to cook a meal for me.
Now jialat, don't know what to do...
Eating out becomes so much more expensive on CNY. Where can I eat cheap on first two days of CNY?
you ever heard of this concept called cooking?