• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vincent Wijeysingha's apology to Dr Vasoo

byleftcan

shock by this Wijeysingha defense of FWs...

I mean sure by all means feel sorry for them.... but he is saying if the law is unjust then dun enforce it...

NOW all the monkeys see monkeys do is trying to be funny with strikes....

True - however stupid or rigid the law is whichever way, it is the law. Just because one is poor one cannot get a free pass by robbing a 7-11 for cash. Apple and orange but at the core it is the same. They are making it seem that the workers are victims and victimised by the system. Very ang mor style.

Thick Face Black Heart

Which makes the PAP look very stupid. Don't they know that this low blow doesn't work anymore and actually comes around and bites them back in the ass threefold.

Unfortunately these tactics still work. I have opposition supporters telling me VW just destroyed his own credibility.

Same thing happened when Alex Au apologized. I was quite shocked.

Thick Face Black Heart

True - however stupid or rigid the law is whichever way, it is the law. Just because one is poor one cannot get a free pass by robbing a 7-11 for cash. Apple and orange but at the core it is the same. They are making it seem that the workers are victims and victimised by the system. Very ang mor style.

Understand fully, bro. This time the issues are a bit more complex and divisive. I agree the workers shouldn't have broken the law and frankly, the track record of these transient workers is dismal. TWC2 and HOME have been repeatedly fooled by workers who are gaming the system and trying to work round the rules. The construction crane climbers being the most recent example. These are not exploited workers, just people who think they can get a little more out of the system.

Now problem comes in if we push too hard against these workers because indirectly by doing so we are also shooting oursleves in the foot. The PAP has framed the issue with great finesse. Take the side AGAINST the workers and we fall into their trap likewise. Their goals is to surreptitiously instil in people's minds that the laws are fair and that the status quo should remain. Meanwhile wages will continue to be suppressed and our local workers will face continued discrimination. All these are conveniently swept under the carpet. People are falling for it, not able to discern carefully the complex issues involved.

Bigfuck

Vasoo was the academic whose testimony led to the outing of CSJ and subsequent destruction of both academic and political career. I believe he was with the PAP at that time. This is also not the first time he has used defamation law. In both instances he is what is known as a "straw litigant".

CSJ, I know. Vasoo still donno. Vaseline I know. Uhm how old and how famous is he to get expensive lawyer har? So defame means you have great fame that needs protecting. But you go ask around, most people do not know who or what Vasoo is, seriously. Maria Carey everyone knows. Defame her and she still neber sue. Why har?

Deja Vu

In 1992, Singapore woke up to a clean cut young man with a doctorate, a university academic and everyone without exception sensed a bright star beaming from the great dark yonder beyond. Some felt that there was indeed a god. He spoke very well, articulated his thoughts and was beyond reproach. Chiam made it clear that he had a successor and the means to push the 1991 beachhead further inland.

You could not find a speck of dirt on this man. He hailed from ACS, did his doctorate in the US, secured a prized tenure in NUS Sociology / Social Department and he was reporting to a PAP MP named Vasoo, another sociologist who sounded encouraging. With a Prime Minister in 1990, was this a new dawn.

That hope shattered in massive way within a year.

2010, 2 decades later, a third sociologist came forth and into the body politic of this country. He too had a doctorate, and he too was articulate, determined and he too led a bright new star shine in the dark sky. We had a taste of his worth during GE2011. We tasted caviar. Mary Turnbull, historian, former University of Singapore academic, recalled his father as the most promising student. Father was indeed a renown educator and the fruit does not fall far from the tree.

Early this week, when I read his FB article, I knew we were again at the fork in the road and Vasoo would once again emerge.

3 sociologists, 3 holding doctorates, 3 academics and one is an arsehole.

watchman8

CSJ, I know. Vasoo still donno. Vaseline I know. Uhm how old and how famous is he to get expensive lawyer har? So defame means you have great fame that needs protecting. But you go ask around, most people do not know who or what Vasoo is, seriously. Maria Carey everyone knows. Defame her and she still neber sue. Why har?
CSJ can defame former SM and MM, only got to pay $30,000 to settle. So this vasoo ... $30 can settle lah. Same same as parking fine.

watchman8

Unfortunately these tactics still work. I have opposition supporters telling me VW just destroyed his own credibility.

I continue to admire the WP bunch. They know how to play this game and never lose sight of bigger picture, which is to win the middle ground and therefore more parliament seats.

The middle ground doesn't get too excited about the FW strike issue because it is still too early to tell if the problem is isolated or nationwide. SDP could not keep their cool and shoot themselves. It is not about the apologies, it is about looking cool and steady, and thereby become a viable alternative to PAP in the eyes of the middle ground. The opposition should learn from Obama.

brocoli

I continue to admire the WP bunch. They know how to play this game and never lose sight of bigger picture, which is to win the middle ground and therefore more parliament seats.

The middle ground doesn't get too excited about the FW strike issue because it is still too early to tell if the problem is isolated or nationwide. SDP could not keep their cool and shoot themselves. It is not about the apologies, it is about looking cool and steady, and thereby become a viable alternative to PAP in the eyes of the middle ground. The opposition should learn from Obama.

cool and steady? or cant give a FUck?

Lets face it... every1 know this is a fuckin hot potato... nobody like FW very much... and they broke the fucking law.... disrupting people lives with their stupid action.....

Look at WP... they totally forgot what they are in parliament to

you do bus tours to stay in parliament .... you dun go to parliament just so you can do bus tours ...

Png use to have fire in his belly... I remember his forum letters that he post on his blog...

now he close his blog down...

Asked if it is tough toggling between the nitty-gritty aspects of running the estate and big-picture policy issues, Mr Png said: “You must have a balance. If it's all big things and you don't know the ground, it's not very healthy.”

FUCKING CLUELESS

cheekenpie

Understand fully, bro. This time the issues are a bit more complex and divisive. I agree the workers shouldn't have broken the law and frankly, the track record of these transient workers is dismal. TWC2 and HOME have been repeatedly fooled by workers who are gaming the system and trying to work round the rules. The construction crane climbers being the most recent example. These are not exploited workers, just people who think they can get a little more out of the system.

Now problem comes in if we push too hard against these workers because indirectly by doing so we are also shooting oursleves in the foot. The PAP has framed the issue with great finesse. Take the side AGAINST the workers and we fall into their trap likewise. Their goals is to surreptitiously instil in people's minds that the laws are fair and that the status quo should remain. Meanwhile wages will continue to be suppressed and our local workers will face continued discrimination. All these are conveniently swept under the carpet. People are falling for it, not able to discern carefully the complex issues involved.

This is simple economic principal of demand and supply.

Orgs like TWC2, Home etc are all to eager to fight for any lost cause if it can show how they are being check and balance for the system.

These foreigners are not stupid as many think. They know that a sob story especially with these eager beavers can turn viral very fast.

In the end its all just a big waste of time

cheekenpie

Quite a silly mistake if you ask me. Its not as if he doesnt know CSJ quotes are like land mines. He is from SDP somemore.

VW's ego is getting to big liao.

Thick Face Black Heart

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2012/12/toc-letter-of-apology-to-dr-s-vasoo/

[h=2]TOC Letter of Apology to Dr S Vasoo[/h]

With referrence on Friday 7 December 2012 at 6 pm,
which TOC received a Letter of Demand from Mr Davinder Singh of Drew & Napier LLC acting on behalf of Mr S Vasoo to seek recourse on an article published by TOC, "You can resign and go off to SBS were told… by Vincent Wijeysingha" that certain words in the article were false and baseless.

Hence, TOC complies to the demands in the letter and now publishes the apology as stated.

In any event we apologise unreservedly as well to our readers that you are unable to access the particular article on our site for the time being. Also since this matter may have legal remifications, we have restricted comments on this issue at the moment.

nanana1

See Vincent Wijeysingha's FB posting for what it is, a regretable and foolish link that made him looks outdated. :*:

elephanto

upon reflection, may i share the following:

VB preached himself happy ... The part on Vasoo, purely casual and 'along the way by the way'?
maybe, maybe not.

Good device to test: if no hoo haa from establishment, yes, another small pushing back of OB markers;

But in this instance, the Pavlov reaction from the Estab: cease & decease, do the following or else be sued!

Is anyone seriously surprised?

so, pioneered by alex au accidentally and now lock stock barrel reused by VW : say sorry, take down, retract, tell FB posters to delete comments.... Whatever you say Sir! :-)

Did he lose credibility as some suggest here?

Personally I dun think so, in fact sinkies cannot appreciate impractical martyrs.

But they can understand 'lan lan seow seow bo pian' and instead will reinforce their bitterness at the MIW's legalistic recourse habit.

Now the threat to sue is itself a reflexive bait MIW will bite and have to bite, going by Old Man's 'Not to sue is tacit acquescience' belief.

If they are that damn righteous, no need ask for apology go ahead to sue the pants off the 'slanderer' ! but it is not happening.

So either way, MIW is on the losing end.

The Trophy to win is out there - in the Court of Public Opinion where the tussle is on for the hearts and minds of the electorate ( national conversation as well )

Each side is trying to use all at their disposal : MSM, Reach, PA on one side and social media, blogs, NGOs on the other.

I am bemused witnessing the finesse and nimbleness of the active participants in the field, or the lackof.
ok ok to be fair, in varying degrees, there is something for all to learn

That's the reason why I replied to Tracy that the PAP will continue to dominate the local political landscape. There is NO VIABLE opposition that is capable of taking over from the PAP and run Singapore. It may take many many more years. The opposition is commiting harikiri so very often that Singaporeans are tired and sick of them. So forget about them and let us move on with our own lives. Moles or not, Singaporeans are getting sick and tired of these political debacles - quite often at crucial moments.

captainxerox

That's the reason why I replied to Tracy that the PAP will continue to dominate the local political landscape. There is NO VIABLE opposition that is capable of taking over from the PAP and run Singapore. It may take many many more years. The opposition is commiting harikiri so very often that Singaporeans are tired and sick of them. So forget about them and let us move on with our own lives. Moles or not, Singaporeans are getting sick and tired of these political debacles - quite often at crucial moments.

same can be said of pap - they committing harakiri over the years more than the opposition. there is already a viable opposition poised to take over and they should - wp.

captainxerox

Quite a silly mistake if you ask me. Its not as if he doesnt know CSJ quotes are like land mines. He is from SDP somemore.

VW's ego is getting to big liao.

inexperienced, ego inflated by internet popularity, and egged on by rest into brinkmanship. at least "brinkmanship" to the pap.

SDP full of contradictions.

The REST...in a mess.

A viable Opposition ??? To take over the Government ???

same can be said of pap - they committing harakiri over the years more than the opposition. there is already a viable opposition poised to take over and they should - wp.

let us all wait and see ...more political debacles will follow.....