• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chomp Chomp - something extra....

Serangoon Gardens during my primary school days had a ah-neh 2nd-hand bookshop (next to old Paramount cinema) where I indulge in my comics collection.

Why are you so sua ku ? Reach chomp chomp and you get all hysterical ? Never go hawker centre before ? Do you live inside a mountain cave ?

very poor lah...once a blue moon , go to a hawker centre....waulau go hysterical loh!!!...so much to eat!!!!

hi dracula if you wan try super nice hokkien mee you can have a go at the punggol nasi lemak coffee shop along upp serangoon rd.
The stall is right inside and the bak chor mee is good as well.they serve till late n bak chor mee is 24hrs.

Hi bro Mega I tried before that stall. So so only. I do understand there is a stall using charcoal at geylang lor 29

http://singaporeactually.com/2012/04/07/geylang-lorong-29-fried-hokkien-mee/

never been there before but heard it is nice and many people during the night time.

I remember the bookshop and the Malay barber beside it.

Serangoon Gardens during my primary school days had a ah-neh 2nd-hand bookshop (next to old Paramount cinema) where I indulge in my comics collection.

Bro ChewCheng, I like the Pig's Organ Soup besides the Braised Duck. I once ordered quarter duck and what I got was mainly fat.It was a rip off! And I never wanted to patronise the stall again.Always long queue! The gravy is very nice...just eat with white rice shiok!

The pig's organ soup is still very good!You can always return for a second helping of the soup. Price has also gone up! The Teochew auntie always smiles and gives me a little extra!

The famous Newton CKT stall is no longer there now. I think the uncle has retired. I still prefer the old Newton stall. But when he shifted here, some home, the CKT very different leh! I think the uncle also old liao...so maybe he gave up already!

Some of the nasi padang stores not too bad. The Rolina curry puff not bad lah...but also disappointing lah.

TS, your cam sucks reaL time !..prease La; either you change to a better hp, or use a dedicated camera..:cool:

LOL, ur taunting skills damn sucky, hahaha.... No need for me to take care of you, you are already targetted by someone, lol

You think more points you big shot already right? LOL

LOL, ur taunting skills damn sucky, hahaha.... No need for me to take care of you, you are already targetted by someone, lol

You think more points you big shot already right? LOL
AK, one thing i reaLised about you; you are forever hiding behind some Laujiaos' apron string.Once the sky's cLear
you come out and Post Like nothings' happened..who ever have supported you is reaLLy anOther Knansai ! !
:eek:

AK, why must you aLways take so LOng to repLy ?..consuLt that Laujiau Moderator uncLe 1st is it ?..:eek:

the satay stall owned by a malay family serves excellent halal satay. freshly squeezed sugar cane juice is also bagus!

I tried the satay from the Malay stall. It tasted horrible. The meat was tough. maybe refrigerated many times.

The gravy was very sweet. Dangerous for people with diabetes.

Those running it are also very arrogant.

Better for Ah Tiongs to take over.

We may get better satay............

used to be very good...one corner stall behind....now everything changed and anyhow fried...standard drops. the new one nearer the entrance is the competitor, i think this one is better.

i remember the lady with the golden bangles serving fried hokkien mee..i think now she has retired...all very rich hawkers....even the standard of the malay satay drops like mad.

I agree with you. The satay stall stinks....................

I still remember and recall those days, especially Paramount Theatre and the stall selling 2nd hand books at the end of the shophouses.

They had a good collection of books and comics, especially CLASSICS Comics. The books and comics were cheap. The Indian vendors were a friendly lot too.

Many students (boys and girls in full uniform, including MYSELF) used to "ponteng" (play truant from school) and patronize these theatre. Remember the film "Hatari" starring the late John Wayne.... The Pearl & Dean Screen adverts on Pathe Newsreels and Benson & Hedges cigarettes...........

After the shows, we would go to the SPUTNIK Restaurant for Kolo mee or the coffeeshop opposite for Char-Kway teow.

Chomp Chomp was then an empty space. The original "hawker centre" was then located close to the old bus bays.

Singapore Traction Bus No 18B (the old GUY Model) and Paya Lebar Bus Service Number 72 used to service these area. The STC bus will end at the Terminus, whereas the Paya Lebar Bus will go round Burghley Drive, Chartwell drive, berwick Drive and then on the return journey.

Bus tickets were then 10 cents. The STC bus conductors were polite, whereas the Paya Lebar Bus ones were thuggish. A few of them got bashed up by gangs of students.

I remember both the Serangoon Garden North and South primary Schools close to the Jalan Hwi Yoh kampong.

After we left school we used to patronize the "Hawaii Five-O Coffee House" close to the Serangoon Garden cafe. A tall beautiful dame used to serve beer at Hawaii Five O. To our dismay, she got married to a drug-addict.

These are memories bro. Memories deeply-etched in our mind.

Btw, I till have all the books and comics (including the small War comics in black and white).

AK, one thing i reaLised about you; you are forever hiding behind some Laujiaos' apron string.Once the sky's cLear
you come out and Post Like nothings' happened..who ever have supported you is reaLLy anOther Knansai ! !
:eek:
Hiding? hahaha, who's the one when I come in chatroom, the coward immediately log off? Anyway, off topic liao, you want to quarrel with me, create 1 thread and we spar there, LOL

AK, why must you aLways take so LOng to repLy ?..consuLt that Laujiau Moderator uncLe 1st is it ?..:eek:

Sorry hor, i got a life, i dun wait for you to reply and answer immediately, pls kindly wait when Im free, LOL

Btw, Im at chatroom, come get me, you can kick me there you know? lol

i feel sorry for the malay satay stall.. last time business very good. now really bad...it seems to me most of the stalls in chomp chomp slowly become seafood stalls - i think more lucrative. the several drinks stall esp the sugarcane juice fight like mad! overall, chomp chomp ok lah....not too bad ...got history like the old carpark in orchard...

renovated,cleaner and more seats...but food standard has dropped lah...even my favourite satay beehoon also not so good anymore...don't know what happened. maybe the water?

Is the goreng pisang stall still around? Used to stay in Gardens the two storey houses directly opposite Chomp Chomp in the 70s and used to patronize the pisang stall.

i think gone liao....yes, i remember the goreng pisang ( the rajah banana )...always end my dinner with one big rajah!!!:)

There're 2 stalls selling ham jim peng, oyster cake, prawn fritters.....