$200K for satay beehoon recipe anyone???

Mr-Ng-Siaw-Meng-of-Ming-Kee-satay-beehoon-in-the-2005-Makansutra-Hawker-Legend-brochure.jpg

He was christened a Makansutra Hawker Legend in 2005 and these awards aren’t up for grabs every year. We have not given out this street food accolades since. Legends in any form, don’t grow on trees and fruit. But Mr Ng Siaw Meng , sells satay beehoon, a southeast Asian Silk Road dish of sorts that made its journey from Indonesia, through China and evolved to this version in Singapore that is unique to this nation. It’s a simple dish, by concept – a plate of blanched bee hoon (rice sticks) slathered in a smooth yet nutty spicy peanut satay sauce that’s topped with lean pork, prawns, cuttlefish, blood cockles, tofu and textured with bean sprouts and water spinach (kangkong). But it only sounds easy to do, like sending a rocket to the moon. His rendition is addictive at the least, and it’s a culinary pilgrimage you must do each time you mention his dish and stall. It’s a very rare dish and not easy to find nor learn to cook in Singapore. The queues at his stall each evening at the East Coast Food Lagoon is relentless, fragile with patience, till the last plate is served just before midnight. Technically, Mr Ng serves the world’s best plate of satay beehoon.

Fast forward. He tells me the doctors have now given him less than three months to live when I met him last week. He’s sat through the best chemotherapy available in Singapore and now he’s only hoping for the best, a miracle perhaps, while expecting the worse at the same time. Slaving over his stoves and woks for almost 40 years grooving to the same routine everyday, he woke up one morning earlier this year and noticed he was getting visibly thinner – it was stomach cancer “stage 4”, revealed his doctor.

This staunchly stubborn, proud expert and master of this one dish never once before entertained any request for demo classes nor sale of his recipe. But now he relents somewhat. “I need S$200,000 for my brother’s and my remaining medical fees,” he says. His trusted assistant and brother fell at their home two years back and was incapacitated from the neck down. So the news hit front page of local tabloids. In a country obsessed with local food culture, it’s major news. A few interested parties came a calling and offered to appease his last wish. But his healthy pride was in the way “most wanted to buy my name and later desecrate my recipe and turn them into chemical laden sauce packs” Mr Ng laments, stating clearly “I rather bring my recipe to the coffin”. If that is so. It would be a shame if his legacy went under.

I love this delicious dish - a meal by itself! Singaporeans are great creators of dishes!!!

At least 2 threads already on this.
Are you spamming or just blur?
Please dun act cute

Damn lazy singaporeans.

This kind of recipes can be found on the internet.

Why waste money to buy?

Might as well donate to needy and the poor lah.

sorry sir. just came out from prison. still very blur. sorry.

Kopi Uncle,now I know why you always put up threads like that from 20 years ago,u kena how many years?now WP is shaking up PAP,so do not be a dreamer hor,I am the original one.LPL,BTW,Your hero PM LKY is now an old man waiting for his creator to call,it can happen any day now!

Ok you lucky I support yellow ribbon project.
Please dun do it again if not kena infraction I also cannot help you...

good morning Narong. thank you for being so kind and forgiving. i know you are a good man inside you.
thank you. i am sorry for all that i ve done...pls forgive me. thank you.

Kopi Uncle,now I know why you always put up threads like that from 20 years ago,u kena how many years?now WP is shaking up PAP,so do not be a dreamer hor,I am the original one.LPL,BTW,Your hero PM LKY is now an old man waiting for his creator to call,it can happen any day now!

Mr LKY is my great hero. He has many great fans and supporters. I always wish Mr LKY well. Majulah LKY! Majulah Singapura!!! And this morning I must thank my brother Narong for being Mr Nice! Majulah Narong Wongwan!!!!

Of course I know,I m not blind,your missionary zest to help your uncle and hero LKY and his son is admirable,but you are not getting any support apart from PAP internet brigade,people are super clever these days,it is called the Great awakening,uncle,by the grace of God.

Who are the Interbet Brigade? I love this forum since its foundation. I love the brothers here.Now I old liao, so sorry if I offend anyone.Sometimes think crooked here and crooked there. But I truly enjoy this forum. But died three times already, so the fourth death might be my last....So better hurry to post.

You ok or not? Love the brothers here?? hahaha

Uncle,I look at you,you have 7 times,so three more,no offence hor.
But if u do the right things,that can be shortened,this may be your last time,it is up to you,Kopi Uncle,it is FREE WILL working.

1. yo! kopi!
2. what are you, metro, bi, straight, two-way?
3. so much love & affection suddenly!:cool:

Uncle,I look at you,you have 7 times,so three more,no offence hor.
But if u do the right things,that can be shortened,this may be your last time,it is up to you,Kopi Uncle,it is FREE WILL working.

waulau another warning from the silent killer,the smiling general.....i am damned afraid. please dont kill me okay..pls dont press the button. i have only the brothers here as my friends. please dont. kmsian.

1. yo! kopi!
2. what are you, metro, bi, straight, two-way?
3. so much love & affection suddenly!:cool:

this morning i wake up and got a hard on and i say hallelujah. and i got the message: love everyone!!!

so kind and forgiving. sorry for all that i ve done...pls forgive me. thank you.
Wah, you now laying on the charm with positive strokes:p Better than all the aggro with dagger fights.

His satay bee hoon maybe moh tak teng, but 200k premium of goodwill is a bridge too far for humble dish with basic ingredients. Meaning, not rocket science of receipe

Wah, you now laying on the charm with positive strokes:p Better than all the aggro with dagger fights.

His satay bee hoon maybe moh tak teng, but 200k premium of goodwill is a bridge too far for humble dish with basic ingredients. Meaning, not rocket science of receipe

i am gentle by nature. sometimes i get bad. blame the hormones. but i am really very harmless. so spare me okay. thank you...

waulau another warning from the silent killer,the smiling general.....i am damned afraid. please dont kill me okay..pls dont press the button. i have only the brothers here as my friends. please dont. kmsian.

Sorry uncle,it is no warning,just what I tot,may be u more clever.so do not be afraid,that is the trick of your hero,MM Lee,hope u get more brothers here,all the best.