• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What a fish !

Yes remembered flower crabs at Sembawang park.
Another good spot of old was at the foot of the bridge supports when they were building the sheares bridge. Remembered hauling in gigantic prawns then.

Now still have ? Recently been there ?

MeMyselfoIo

My dad took me fishing one Saturday - or rather poaching. We fished at Seletar Reservoir and caught a bucket full of Soon Hock (earth worms as bait). I tell you, the place is fucking teeming with Soon Hock, kept pulling up one after another until we got tired of it. I can`t remember the exact spot but he parked his car at some kampong and we walked quite a distance throught the undergrowth and forested areas. I remember he told me to prepare to run should the wardens show up.

I think I know where you are referring to bro. Last time my sec school mate use to stay in seletar kampong where he brought us to some illegal fishing spot. Many grouper and really is once cast one fish:smile:

roadrunner

My dad took me fishing one Saturday - or rather poaching..... I remember he told me to prepare to run should the wardens show up.Cheers!

back in those days it was a lot easier to go poaching as there less people around, more likely to bump into another poacher too :biggrin:, i don't think it's that easy these days. I had some of my best poaching days during NS, use to sign out the night vision googles & go look for durians!

Fishypie

freshwater & river fish ALWAYS tastes muddy becos of where they live, thats why you need to tank them in running water for a few days before eating just like in those good cantonese restaurants!

..but i remembered tasting the Patin riverfish caught fresh from Sungi Pahang..brought them straight to some roadside restaurant to steam it our preferred styLe, it was heavenLy without any m&d stench.How come ah ?..:confused:

MeMyselfoIo

I use to go to old Tampines there for pond fishing, KNN bluff money one
Sometimes can chao deh gu (run ground cow) so must do it, if not bo hua cos they seldom release fish. Best timing is after midnight where the duty person too lazy to go patrol so we park many many rod.

Fishypie

The crabs we got were m&d crabs - the same as what is called Sri Lankan crabs here. We steamed them and the flesh was no different than the crabs at seafood restaurants in Singapore. The difference is that we did not get any female crabs and hence no crab roe - maybe that could explain the less than desirable Ozzie crab, also, no one present was able to cook them Chilli or Pepper crab style. But I prefer them steamed anyway, just dipped into soy sauce with sliced red chillies.

Bro, nextime try your crabs beer-steamed..shiok !.Recommended by my isLand boy buddy Ah Yeo..:smile:

..but i remembered tasting the Patin riverfish caught fresh from Sungi Pahang..brought them straight to some roadside restaurant to steam it our preferred styLe, it was heavenLy without any m&d stench.How come ah ?..:confused:

sungei=river=not stagnated water.

fish rear in pond really taste bad.

roadrunner

maybe that type of fish lives in faster flowing river? i think it all comes down to what the fish eats & the environment it lives in, all those bottom feeders & in slow or stagnant water normally tastes muddy. my mother use to remove & scrap out the darker meat around the stomach areas of muddy fish, she also taught me to wash the fish with salt to remove the slimey & of course ginger if it's muddy. the other method is to fry with kunyit/turmeric & ginger.

Fishypie

TaLikng about fishes, here comes my dinner:

steamedfish-2.jpg

Steamed garoupa with bLack beans, diced chiLLies, spring onions, finished with shao shing wine.
:wink:

roadrunner

That was my after-thoughts too..pLus i was toLd these fishes actuaLLy feed on fLowers' & berries' outcrops by the
banks of the river as weLL; and hence.

i don't think i've eaten this fish before, but if it's a vegetarian fish & lives at the top of the river where water flows faster & feeding fruits & flowers & not at the bottom, i think that kinda explains it.

Fishypie

Some restaurants serve them though.This Patin resembLes something Like a reguLar catfish, with whiskers and aLL;
but the the skin tone is rather Light greyish..

roadrunner

TaLikng about fishes, here comes my dinner: Steamed garoupa with bLack beans, diced chiLLies, spring onions, finished with shao shing wine. :wink:

WOAH... pls stop it, my tongue's just dragging on the keyboards :eek: Bro you should open fish restaurant liao, 1 question.. got pour very very hot oil on top & got sizzling sound or not? if you got gas cooker, set fire to the hot oil & pour over the fish, that one smell kena one time sure cannot forget one :smile:

TaLikng about fishes, here comes my dinner:

steamedfish-2.jpg

Steamed garoupa with bLack beans, diced chiLLies, spring onions, finished with shao shing wine.
:wink:
This looks good. Shao Xing cannot be missing. How about adding some ginger slices?

Fishypie

i did bro, but i stuffed the ginger sLices into the stomach.You know how kids are often put off by the sight & smeLL of gingers..:smile:

You are the pro liaoz. Anyway, there's a fish I like very much here in LOS. It's call Pla Sam Ri or Cotton fish. Very hard to get it in restaurants. Only few restaurants have this fish. You know anything about this fish?

roadrunner

Yup.Just a LittLe hot garLic oiL over it after you have steamed them..:wink:

next time use 1 ladle of hot oil & set fire to it as soon as the fish comes out of the steamer, pour it over the fish still on fire, if you're lucky the fish will also be alight for a second & you'll get this very shiok smell & taste! makes all the difference!

Fishypie

next time use 1 ladle of hot oil & set fire to it as soon as the fish comes out of the steamer, pour it over the fish still on fire, if you're lucky the fish will also be alight for a second & you'll get this very shiok smell & taste! makes all the difference!
Knn bro, you think i am running a restaurant ah ?..my mini kitchen can't afford me aLL these know-hows La..:smile:

roadrunner

You are the pro liaoz. Anyway, there's a fish I like very much here in LOS. It's call Pla Sam Ri or Cotton fish. Very hard to get it in restaurants. Only few restaurants have this fish. You know anything about this fish?

makan before in BKK in Thai, Vietnamese restaurants, very nice i think it's a freshwater or river fish, looks a bit like a catfish i think? i tried it one time it was deep fried & garnished very beautifully like a salad, didn't expect much from it as it was deep fried but was pleasantly surprised.